Winter Already?!

I’m still working on a fall wardrobe and Vera Bradley has gone straight to winter.  I suppose in reality, that’s helpful, because while I strive to not be stuffy and outdated, I’m hardly a fashionista.  I don’t know too much about what’s hot for fall or winter, so Vera’s season-ahead releases give me a hint…

Unlike a lot of yarn companies who don’t seem to get how critical it is to my silly spender mind, Vera seems to have a great team working on the NAMES of the new patterns.  Go, Vera!!  That’s but a small part of why you’re a lasting classic.

Note:  All four color swatch images are from Inside Stitch.

Floral Nightingale.  Vera always takes care of you passionate for purple people – and DIVA dogs, Sissy.   It’s not my favorite, but it’s not objectionable either. 

What say you, bird watchers?  A lot of artistic license with the nightingale, eh?  I think it’s the violet I don’t like, because I love navy and gray.  

Anyway, I’m sure it’ll be a favorite for many…

If that was for Sissy, Tea Garden is for Gretchen.   Love those PANK hues, and yes, this is the new breast cancer color from Vera.  I’m not sure about it…  yet again, I seem to prefer the coordinating pattern over the main one.  Dunno.  One of the fun things about Vera colors is they always look different in person and in the different styles and products.

Suzani is a bit bold for me.   I like most of the colors as individuals, but the combined impact is overwhelming for me.  I’m betting a couple of you love it though…  I’m not going to call anyone out, but I have in mind someone who loves jewel tones and another of you who prefers a lively pattern in a bag…

And note, I didn’t say a darned thing about the orange setting me off.  How ’bout that?! 

Last but definitely not least is Rhythm & Blues.  It has called to me from the first second I saw it.  Okay, okay…  I’ll admit that I’m generally quick to bash Vera for releasing a color too similar to something from the past, and there are probably no fewer than a dozen colorways from the past that are very close kin to R&B. 

Sue me.  I like what I like, and I love me some blue and green.   It says water and woods, two of my favorite places on earth.  Heck, even my own eyes can’t choose to be blue or green, but have a ring of each.  Grass and sky…

Not that I am in the market for more Vera.  I’m not.  Well, unless I get a headwarmer… 

What speaks to you?  Are these colors on trend?

And what’s up for the weekend?  I have a full one ahead, but more on that later!

This entry was posted in Bags.

17 comments on “Winter Already?!

  1. gMarie says:

    Oh my! I love the first and the last patterns. R&B is fabulous – love me some paisley. the headband doesn’t do anything for me at all. Hope your weekend is pleasant. g

  2. Katherine says:

    Vera Bradley headwarmers–I didn’t know they made them! I’ve been bummed since they discontinued my pattern, but I love my Vera Bradley big tote!

  3. Karen says:

    I am loving the Suzani and the R&B. I could go for either (or both). I am thinking the large duffle to use as a carry on for my next business trip in the Suzani pattern???? I will definitely be able to find it on the luggage carrier.

  4. Amy says:

    I really like ‘Suzani’, but I’m drawn to ‘Rhythm & Blues’. Those are fantastic colors!

  5. Marjie says:

    I like Sissy and Gretchen’s patterns. R&B is pretty, too, but I’m not wild about Suzani either. Not that I’m buying, but you asked….hope you have a great and productive weekend, with lots of walk time!

  6. Sue says:

    My pick is Suzani and not just because of the similarities in our names. I’m with you that I prefer the contrast prints on the first two and the last one reminds me of the 1950s for some reason that I’m not going to pursue.

    Actually I like the summer prints better this time around.

  7. StarSpry says:

    I’m not super excited about any of the new colors, but I love the Holiday Cards in Rhythm and Blues & Plum Petals 🙂

  8. Nancy says:

    For Fall and Winter, I would definitely pick Suzani.

  9. kathy b says:

    Perhaps it is the Nurse in me,but Floral nightengale is IT for me!

  10. Tea Garden and R&B say the best things to me…but…feeling doubtful about buying a bag that pricey just now. I don’t need smashed hair, either, so no headwarmer for me. My weekend? Incredibly busy!

  11. Barbara says:

    Purple, plum, lavender or whatever you want to call it is all over the fashion world this fall. NOT my favorite, BTW. So that eliminates #1.
    I don’t mind Suzani or Rhythm and Blues at all.
    Hope all went well this weekend…..

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I just passed Vera Bradley yesterday!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Wow…yeah, that last one is very similar to one of their previous ones. I guess out of all of them, I’d go with the Nightingale, but my lime green and black Vera is still my fave. It got pulled out a couple days ago. : )

  14. Nichole says:

    I think I like #1 and #3, but I *so* don’t need any more bags right now…

  15. Mr. Puffy says:

    Her designs/patterns are so distinctive you know instantly that it’s Vera Bradley ~ I think that is a remarkable gift. I have no idea what color trends will be hot this Fall/Winter but a “fashion” trend I’ve noticed this Summer is how many young people are wearing slouchy berets ~ a 70s look if you ask me.

  16. Bonnie says:

    I saw these in a store last week and I love R&B but I loved Blue Rhapsody, too. And I’m not normally a blue person. Purple is my favorite color but I haven’t liked any of Vera’s purple patterns in the past. This one is ok but I doubt I’ll buy anything in it. I don’t like Tea Garden AT ALL and Suzani is ok but not anything I’ll buy.

  17. Julie says:

    I will most likely buy some Tea Garden and love the birds on Nightingale. And R and B is nice. Like ’em all but Suzani.

Leave a Reply

