Focus!

Photo courtesy of Edmunds

So… Thursday night, I headed out of town to a conference.   My trusty, beloved car decided to have issues, so on the outskirts of town, I had to turn around, head home, and then the Knight drove me to the airport to get a rental car.  He selected a Ford Focus for me, since we were operating on the League’s dime.  I admired his fiscal awareness, but was NOT amused.

Mea culpa – both to the Knight and to Ford.  No, I wasn’t so taken with the little red ride that I’m ready to downsize, but I can say it definitely exceeded my expectations.  

  • It was roomier than I thought a “compact” would be.
  • The firm, flat, vinyl seats weren’t too uncomfortable — and were heated! 
  • It handled well.
  • The sound system was greatly appreciated on the ride up – when I was alone.
  • I’m still shocked that ANY fuel tank can be filled (albeit from about 3/4 of a tank?) for $35, and that’s all I used for the whole trip.

I also have to give a shout-out to the local Avis place at the airport.  Both women I spoke with were pleasant, the rates were more than fair, and frankly, I was shocked the Knight found a rental car in podunk, even at the airport, after 9pm.  Customer service is not dead after all!

How was your weekend?  Did you have any pleasant surprises?  I’ll tell you more about the rest of my trip another day…

 

 

14 comments on “Focus!

  1. Nancy says:

    One of my friends has a Focus, and she loves it.

  2. Karen says:

    My Ford technician husband swears by the FOCUS and says they are the best vehicle that Ford makes. Thus, we put Sarah in one when her Jeep started to have issues. Cheap to drive, easy to drive, and whether Sarah like to admit it or not, pretty comfortable ride for the money.

  3. Mary says:

    Glad you made it back safe and sound. How were the seats? Supportive? That is my biggest issue with most rental cars, but not a biggie if I am just driving locally. Long trips (e.g. my daily commute)…I need a seat with side bolsters. Heated seat is a nice thing. We have that feature in our super duty.

    No surprises in my weekend. Dull as dishwater.

  4. gMarie says:

    I’m glad you had such great service and the car wasn’t horrible. 🙂 g

  5. Katherine says:

    Cheers for customer service and good little cars from manufacturers who don’t take bailout money! Glad your trip was safe and comfortable!!

  6. AlisonH says:

    The original Ford Focus had no headrests for the back seat, although the European-sold version did because it was required there; last time we were car shopping, I resented that Ford thought American necks were worth snapping for a few dollars saved. (I have a tall family, even if I’m not.)

    So was yours like that or have they changed that finally? I don’t know if you noticed, since it wouldn’t have been exactly your top priority just then.

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    My mom test drove one that I think had some issues. No one else that has them had the same problem, so I think we may have just gotten in a bad one. Transmission was *very* jerky.

    Glad you were able to find a rental, but what about old faithful? Can the problem be fixed?

  8. Sue says:

    Glad your car made it’s decision to quit before you got too far away and stranded.

  9. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad the car worked out so well and that you had such good service!

  10. Nichole says:

    I’m lucky to get HALF a tank for $35!

  11. Marjie says:

    Good thing your Knight came up with a solution to the problem! I absolutely hated the Cadillacs I rented in May and August, so if I can’t find a Town Car if/when I have to rent again, I see no reason not to save a bucketload of money, if I can find something that doesn’t cripple me to get in and out of.

    My solution would have been to go to my garage and select another car, but, then, I am the idiot who’s down to “only” 6 cars for our own personal use!

  12. kathy b says:

    I got downstaffed for the whole 12 hour shift last night…yahoooooey!

  13. No surprises this weekend, but good (albeit busy) times with friends and family. So glad your car issues popped up before you were far from home!

  14. Amy Darsie says:

    I can usually fuel up for about $40/tank, which for a car that is approaching the ten year mark, isn’t too shabby.

    Heated seats *swoon* !

Leave a Reply

