Knitter’s ADD

I had a great weekend with wonderful girlfriends, but no photos to show for it, so we’ll move right along to my stream of consciousness approach to knitting.  I do have one project on the needles that really speaks to me, so I’m trying to knit fast before I get distracted!

Currently, I’m working on the Cascade Kid Seta Cardigan, in Kid Seta in crimson.  It really is a great, rich, cool red, so don’t let your monitor fool you! 

I like the pattern so well I’m tackling this even though there are seams everywhere.  I love the yarn, the color… everything, so much so that facing all those seams in the end isn’t even upsetting (yet).  I’m already dreaming of wearing it with my green dress for the holidays.  That’s not too much draping, is it?  (For those who didn’t click over, the dress has a draped neckline.)

October 2011 007Oh yeah – and the color… 

It really is deeper/richer/bluer than that.  I’m also about double that deep, and that’s the back unfolding.  The Knight’s crew at the firehouse doubts that I’ll have it done for Christmas.  Hrmph.  Maybe if mojo fails me, that challenge won’t?

Capelet by BabyCocktails

Also on my radar is this darling capelet.  I’m still a little worried about the turtleneck aspect – because I suddenly can’t stand to have anything around my neck – but that neck also gets cold quickly, as do my shoulders.  I’m also liking several other BabyCocktail patterns.  Any of you have any experience with her patterns?

What color should I do the capelet in… you know, on the off chance I actually finish the cardigan and cast on?  I’m seeing it in a heather grey for some reason…

I’m mad for sweater dresses this season too.  We’ll see if that holds as the temperature drops, but I’m sure lusting after lots of them.  The latest is this red number from DressBarn.  Why yes, I do seem to be seeing red.  Ironically, the only red in my wardrobe at this very second is a bright red mock turtleneck…

I also seem to have a thing for cowls.  Yeah, I have several of the knitted neck warmers called cowls, but at the moment, I’m meaning cowl necked tops.  They provide warmth for the back of my neck without that choking feeling.

What’s on your October radar, knitting, fashion or otherwise??

18 comments on “Knitter’s ADD

  1. gMarie says:

    cardigan is lovely – and no it won’t be too much with the tiny draped neckline of the dress. Sew it up as you finish the pieces and it won’t be so overwhelming at the end.

    The cap is lovely and you can block the neck out so it’s much looser than an actual turtleneck. You could also make the neck a size or two bigger than you need, then decrease down to the stitch count for your size. Also if you are getting hot don’t make it a full double neck – if that makes sense.

    Oh – and I have that Vogue. Which pattern were you looking for? g

  2. Nancy says:

    Currently, I’m focused on knitting some things for my sister’s Grandmother Boxes. I have committed to knitting two baby sweaters with socks and hats to match.

    I love the capelet, and I agree that heather gray would be perfect.

    Take on that challenge from the Firehouse guys and finish the cardi AND the capelet. ;oD

  3. Katherine says:

    I love the cardigan and capelet,but the dress is to die for!! Heather grey for the capelet sounds good. I was going to say charcoal. It will go with the red and the green dresses. Great holiday clothes!

  4. AlisonH says:

    I know exactly what kind of red that Kid Seta is; that’s exactly what I used for Holly’s lace scarf that went astray, but she’s got it now!

  5. Marjie says:

    I have a bunch of reds that are asking me to work with them. I wonder if it’s something brought in by the rain. Draped necks on tops and dresses are really in this year, aren’t they? I blame Pippa’s dress in the royal wedding for that, but they are really pretty and feminine.

    I don’t like turtlenecks, because I can’t stand anything around my neck, but your capelet is really adorable. I think you’ll love it around January.

  6. Mary says:

    Why not make the capelet a mock turtleneck? That way it won’t overwhelm you. Of course, you are too young to have the kind of neck that neeeeeeeeds a turtleneck…in a paraphrase of Nora Ephron’s book title which states, “I Feel Bad About My Neck,” I would say, “I Hate My Turkey Bird Neck.”

  7. Amy says:

    I just want the cool weather to stick around long enough for me to wear a sweater every day of the week!

    On that same note, I am dreading Cedar Creek if its this cool out.

  8. Kathy says:

    We have similar fall tastes, I think.

    It looks like the cardigan is made of laceweight yarn. I continue to work in my Featherweight cardigan, made of laceweight.

    I love the Cranberry Capelet too. I ordered yarn, which I suspect will be arriving today, to make it as part of Loopy Ewe’s fourth quarter challenge.

    Fun knitting times ahead!

  9. kathy b says:

    Oh you have to show the firehouse WRONG! It is gorgeous and the color is wonderful
    October knits for me: FInish fireman’s socks. Much much more, but I have no idea what!!! Possibly felted booties…possibly more work on my Reclamation shawl that I have totally lost interest in…..maybe a first for me: a mohair scarf…
    oh and Tricks and treats all month

  10. Ruth says:

    I think your dress and sweater will be fine together. Glad you had a good weekend, in spite of the lack of photos to prove it. Finally done with baby blankets for a while…I hope. Working on a lacy scarf now in my very first Smooshy.

  11. christina says:

    pretty

  12. Barbara says:

    Wow. That looks really hard, Chan! But it sure would look pretty over the green dress.
    Nothing like a challenge from the crew to keep your nose to the knitting grindstone!
    I always stayed away from knit dresses as they tend to show just a bit too many rolls and tummy chub. Aren’t you pleased with yourself that you can wear them??

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I LOVE sweater dresses! It’s finally getting cold here–80 degrees! 🙂

  14. Bridget says:

    I am currently knitting one of BabyCocktails’ patterns, and a) it is well-written, and b) she is more than happy to help with any questions via e-mail. I say go for it!

  15. Sue says:

    I think the capelet in gray would be lovely. I’m very attracted to those cabled capelet’s too. I may make one my mid-winter project.

    I can’t help you with the drapey stuff. Though I’m attracted to them, I find them annoying when I try to wear them. I have to fight my urges to buy or make one because I know I won’t wear it..

  16. gypsyknits says:

    The cardigan is gorgeous. LOVE the color and I think it will look nice with your green dress.
    Capelets have been eye catching here as well and I do believe a nice heather grey is perfect.

  17. Nichole says:

    Can’t wait to see the cardi – LOVE the color!

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    Cowl neck sweaters are the best thing ever. Like you, I can’t stand turtlenecks. Love that red sweater dress! Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

