I’m a turkey

Some of you know I don’t care for poultry at all, and turkey pushes into the “hate” category if I have to eat it more than about three times a year.  So imagine my surprise – and the Knight’s – when I ordered Cracker Barrel’s Roasted Turkey and Cranberry Salad.

Not once, but twice.  The first time, I knew I’d love the other ingredients, so I figured I could eat around the bird.  Last night, I gleefully ordered, knowing I’d love every bite.  My aunt liked the dressing just fine, but I skipped it both times.  Sssshhh… another Chan is strange about food fact:  I don’t use salad dressing much at all.  It’s a texture thing.  It’s too wet and sloppy.  I like crisp, cool veggies!

What’s your most shocking food love?

This entry was posted in food.

13 comments on “I’m a turkey

  1. gMarie says:

    I guess it would have to be what KAM calls ‘disguisting casserole’ and I’m not sharing it with you here. I love me a nice crisp salad – always with dressing on the side, dip the fork in get just a bit of flavor. Perfect. g

  2. Sue says:

    I think either mustard or bleu cheese improves just about anything.

  3. Cat says:

    How fowl of you… (sorry, had to)

  4. Marjie says:

    It looks like a great meal! I always add a good scoop of cottage cheese to my salads, and therefore don’t use much dressing either. We all have food foibles (I don’t like mixed foods, for example, among many things).

  5. Mary says:

    Not shocking: crusty fresh bread from a bakery (preferably in London or Paris). Yum.

  6. Katherine says:

    That salad looks seriously yummy! DH doesn’t use dressing on his salads either, but I confess I drown mine in the stuff.

  7. kathy b says:

    I LOVE TURKEY…
    my most crazy food love: does frosting on a spoon count? (shame shame shame on me)

  8. Nancy says:

    Ooooh, that salad looks yummy! Too bad there isn’t a Cracker Barrel for hundreds of miles.

    I guess sardines in mustard on saltine crackers would be my food love. I just have to eat them when I’m alone since others get grossed out.

  9. Your salad looks loverly to me! I generally am fond of real turkey..not so fond of “turkey roasts” and processed meat things. Weird food love? Does Sushi count as weird? How about Sashimi? With wasabi mixed with soy sauce, please.

  10. Barbara says:

    I hope you had biscuits along with that!
    Confession: Cracker Barrel is a delight. I’ve always thought politicians make a mistake not going there on their stomps.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I LOVE turkey and cranberries! I need to make my own cranberry sauce!

  12. Julie says:

    I had this salad sans blue cheese. Loved it! Especially the apple flavored croutons!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Shocking to my husband, daughter, and son: Pickles. I LOVE pickles. 😀

Leave a Reply

