May I help you?

October 2011 010

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday to you.  Gretchen did a very sweet post on yesterday’s significance in the Woods.  October is chocked full of dates to remember in our house.  Here’s a list of what I’ve already missed:

  • A 46th wedding anniversary
  • Another anniversary
  • Getting some birthday gifts in the mail so they stood a chance of arriving on time
  • Getting a card in the mail for another friend’s birthday… it was Monday

Impressive list of “missed it” given we’re not even a week into the month, right?!  Hem.  Too bad Gretchen can’t drive, shop, wrap gifts, etc.  I wouldn’t be as scattered and behind as I seem to stay these days.

September 2011 004

Nothing to do with dinner, but it IS Thorsday...

However, I’m really, REALLY thankful for the great meal and service at Made In Asia last night.  It’s a fairly new restaurant not too far from us, and they feature Thai and Chinese cuisine.  I had edamame and Curry Peanut Sauce with chicken, and the Knight had fried wontons and a custom entree, because he was looking for something most similar to the Kung Pao Shrimp he knows he likes.  They didn’t have Kung Pao on the menu, but the server asked a few questions and the chef whipped up something that made the Knight happy.  Bravo!

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “May I help you?

  1. gMarie says:

    I hope they are always so accommodating. I do love a restaurant that is willing to work with you. I have a decent recipe for kung pao – it’s for chicken, but would be easy enough to sub shrimp – I’m guessing. If you’re interested I’ll see if I can find it for you.

    Thankfuls::sewing retreat::a lovely wool plaid::healthy dogs::busy job::loving husband::amazing daughters::Fall weather::Knit girls::

    g

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m thankful for Jack Russell Terriers and their sweet, intelligent faces! Also thankful for their furry friends who come in all coats and sizes–Basset, terrier, sheepdog etc. No doubt Gretchen could do all the Christmas shopping with her usual gusto and a little help from Sissy.

    Glad you discovered the joy of Asian take-out. Our usual Friday night stop is Taste of Asia for shrimp tempura.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good new place to go!

    I’m glad my husband complained about the cold enough this morning that I flipped on the heat for the first time just to humor him rather than telling him to put on a sweater.

    Better to find out now that it’s not working… Yikes.

  4. kathy b says:

    Im thankful for that Sweet Gretchen face…that is JUST what she is saying, May I help you, for a cookie that is???

    That looks like spidery red yarn…..how do you keep track of it? I tried to knit with something similar yesterday and it just went right up my nose…do YOu want mine?

  5. Barbara S. says:

    Right now I am mostly thankful for tea, honey and lemon, as well as tissues with lotion and DVDs. I got the crud Tuesday night and haven’t done much since. I will have a bunch of catching up to do, since I still hadn’t gotten done catching up from our trip.
    Also very thankful for a spouse who keeps checking in on me from far, far away and that I don’t have to worry about stuff while I am sick.

  6. Mary says:

    Thankful is it Thursday and I have a 3 day weekend coming up (Columbus Day). God bless the Italian (and Ferd & Izzie for financing his trip).

  7. Sue says:

    Thanks for the reminder about birthdays. I’ve been so bad this year. I’ve let so many go by.

    I’m thankful that Morgan is starting to accept the new rules, though it’s amazing how fast she is on three legs. I have to race to head her off when she heads for the windowseat or the stairs. She still doesn’t like the idea of being carried on the stairs.

  8. Marjie says:

    I’m always happy to see pictures of your girls. The first one of Gretchen is especially adorable!

  9. Nancy says:

    When I first saw the photo I thought, “Oh no, Gretchen was a bad dog and got into the knitting bag.” However, when I took a closer look, I realized she was just proud of your project. Sorry, I jumped to conclusions, Gretchen. Forgive me.

  10. I’ve giving up on worrying about sending b-day or anniversary cards on time. Apparently I’m not the only one. In fact, I got surprisingly few b-day cards at all this year….and probably sent fewer out, too. I’m thankful for Retreat this weekend. Can’t wait to get up to Mt Hope!

  11. Amy says:

    I’m thankful for the extra sleep that I had today, but didn’t plan for. I guess that’s what happens when you turn off your alarm in your sleep, and have a furry white cat purring against you.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Did you miss your anniversary?

    Have you ever tried roasted edamame? It’s awesome!

  13. Nichole says:

    Great food AND service are sadly, hard to come by these days – esp the service. Go back there… often!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Mmmm….I love edamame. Especially sautéed with onions and a little bit of salt and pepper. /drool/

Leave a Reply

