Friends, Fiber, Food, Fall

… otherwise known as a Friday catch-all post?

The buffetSince Duckie asked so nicely, I’m sharing my cranberry sauce recipe, which also allows this post to serve as an entry in Louise’s contest

Whew!  That’s a lot of links in one sentence, eh?  Oh well…  That’s what friends are for, right?

Amanda & Amy - courtesy of Amy's blog

Speaking of friends…  I stole the next couple of photos from Amy’s blog.   I can’t blog about my Fall Fiber Festival adventure without mentioning Amy and Amanda.   I can’t imagine doing a fiber festival without friends.  It’s much more fun to ooh and ahhh with other knitters, spinners, etc.  Honestly, I’ve learned a lot about fiber and fiber arts from “shopping” with friends of friends. 

You know your friends are special people when you feel an instant connection with their friends…

Dianne & me - also courtesty of Amy's blog

That’s how I got to know Dianne too, through a mutual friend.  I’m especially fond of this photo, because both of us have been on a “transformation journey” the last couple of years.   Here’s a link to a photo we’re both in from two years ago… 

We’re both in coats and layers, but between us, we’ve lost about 100 lbs.  I’ll take that mass in any form of Dianne’s retail products.  😉

Speaking of which, the only loot I’m going to flash is in fact, from Creatively Dyed‘s booth.   I did buy more, but since most of what I got will be leaving as gifts, I don’t want to spoil any surprises!

October 2011 008

Aren’t those polymer buttons awesome?!   Yes, Dianne is a passionate dog owner on top of everything else wonderful about her.

October 2011 006

Creatively Dyed Sydney in the Steep colorway.   It’s going to be another laceweight cardigan, if this red one I’m doing now doesn’t turn me off of them forever.

Oh – and the festival is “always” the first weekend in October.  Mark your calendars for 2012 and I’ll see you there!

Before I wrap this up, happy birthday to my brother inlaw and Nichole!

What’s up for your weekend?

18 comments on “Friends, Fiber, Food, Fall

  1. Katherine says:

    Love the cute buttons!

    I’m amazed by the photo. You both look wonderful and have done such a terrific thing for your health!

    Thanks for the cranberry recipe. I will try it. Maybe you can also post the corn pudding recipe sometime. My whole family would drool over that!

  2. Mary says:

    Congrats to you and Dianne!

    Attending a wedding tomorrow night…other than that, no firm plans. But it is a three-day weekend for those of us who get federal holidays! Thank goodness. I need it.

  3. Sue says:

    What a change in photos from last year to this one. I especially like the highlights in your hair. I hadn’t gotten a good look at them before.

    This weekend is going to be stay at home and chill. I have some decisions to make about Samba’s health situation and I hope to catch up on some reading and some sleep.

  4. SusanB-knits says:

    Cute buttons!
    A lace weight cardigan?! I’m not sure I could do that I’m still struggling to work on my worsted weight one, lol. Other projects keep jumping in the way.

  5. Kathy says:

    Wow, you and Dianne both look great! Congrats on the positive changes you’ve made!

    The buttons are so cute. Do you have specific plans for them or are they just waiting for the right project?

  6. AlisonH says:

    Oh, that yarn is gorgeous. And so are all of you. Wow on those before and after photos!

  7. Marjie says:

    I do the same cranberry sauce, but without the orange zest. I make pounds every Thanksgiving, and sometimes it lasts as much as weeks.

    Your transformation is great, but Dianne’s is astonishing! I wouldn’t have recognized her as the same person. I’m liking your hair a little longer these days, too.

    Happy weekending, and I promise to follow up on the email I just sent you. I’m very excited.

  8. Mr. Puffy says:

    What a fun post! You have lots of fiber friends 🙂 This weekend is Yom Kippur so tonight we feast to prepare for the fast! I smell the brisket roasting now ~

  9. Amy says:

    Like I said in my post, I didn’t even recognize you until you said something to me. I can’t believe the amazing transformation! Dianne, and you, both look great.

    And that missing photo you commented about? You can find it here.

    http://mrsdarsiesmenagerie.com/2011/10/08/i-almost-forgot/

  10. Barbara says:

    That is an amazing photo, Chan. The two of you deserve an award for the 100 pounds! I know how tough it is…kudos to you and Dianne!

  11. That is a wonderful photo of the two of you, I hope someday to be that proud of a photo of me, you have done so well and I am so happy for you!!!

    You and your friends are beautiful!!!!

  12. You and Diane both look amazing! As for the weekend…just got back from a wonderful and refreshing retreat.

  13. gMarie says:

    my weekend is over – I need to go shopping before I can go to work tomorrow. But you know the gist – thank to twitter.

    You girls look amazing! Congrats to you both. g

  14. Blond Duck says:

    You rock! I love you!

  15. kathy b says:

    SO FUN to see you Chan!!!! You are beautiful. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the yarn color…aquas are my favorite .
    Glad the workend is over…..I had an easy time this weekend.

  16. gypsyknits says:

    Kudos to you AND Diane. Gorgeous picture :). Glad you had fun and it’s always more fun with friends.

    Those buttons are adorable so what’s ya gonna put them on???

  17. Nichole says:

    Thank you for the shout out!!! 🙂
    That photo is FAB-ULOUS of the both of you… amazing! You look great!
    Those buttons are adorable… LOVE!

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    HOLY COW! Y’all look awesome!!! I’m glad you posted a picture…you would have really thrown me for a loop this summer otherwise. LOL I didn’t recognize Dianne at first. Big congrats to both of you. 🙂

    Love the dog bone buttons. Those are just too cute.

Leave a Reply

