Social Media Plan?

October 2010 003

October 2010

Some days, I feel I need to hire a social media person.  Seriously.  I blog.  The dogs blog.  I tweet sporadically, I’m on Facebook, and now there’s Pinterest and Scoopit, both of which are new to me and I’ve yet to sign up, although the invites are in my inbox.

I feel like I’m chasing my tail and being pulled in 20 directions.  Devoted readers know I’m trying to move to a single address/identity while still maintaining two blogs AND starting the groundwork for a foundation.  Unfortunately, the more I learn, the less I know. 

Oh — and there’s Google’s thing to compete with Facebook…  If I haven’t put you in a circle yet, it’s because I’m lost, not because I don’t want to be in one of your circles!

Will you share your social media philosophies with me?  I know for some of you, it is purely social.  Others of you have rather crafted social media identities, and only a chosen few know your real name, home address, etc.  Still others of you “do” social media as a business – at least from my perspective… so let’s not quibble over whether it is a second job, or whether you actually MAKE money doing it – and I’d love to hear from each of you, because I’m positive I’m not the only blogger treading water here.

I’m especially interested in hearing how those of you with ties – professionally or otherwise – balance your social media presence.  For instance, I’m not just Chanknits.  I’m President Elect of the Junior League, and I fear people don’t want to friend me on Facebook because I “spam” everyone with Farmville posts, because for me, Farmville is a connection with friends and relations, not just a stoopid game (because it *IS* stooopid).  I’m also a life member of our fire company, where I’m also the chief’s wife and membership chair, and then perhaps most of all, I’m Sissy and Gretchen’s mom and personal assistant.

Oh – and I do have a full-time job, even though I rarely mention it.

See?  Help. Me.

19 comments on “Social Media Plan?

  1. Kari says:

    I feel ya!!

    I run only one blog – that is a pet sitting business and a dog blog.

    I run facebook – a personal account – friends and family and then a fan page for the blog and pet sitting business.

    I have twitter – only one twitter name – I only use twitter cause I have to – not a fan of it and never read what people tweet. I am part of a tribe through triberr that automatically tweets all my rss feeds for me. I sit back and do nothing – love it!

    I just started you tube.

    I dont like stumbled upon and digg which are popular.

    I use pininterest for my personal likes and to find cool stuff but dont allow people other than friends to follow me.

    ok im tired just typing all of that 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    Oh My! I blog – that’s about it. I’m on FB, but don’t really ‘do’ anything there – not like some I know. I tweet occassionally – mostly when I’m away from my computer as a way to keep in touch. Mostly it’s all my gMarie or gMarieSews. As a general rule I don’t use my real name but only because it’s dumb!

    I can’t figure out how pinterest works – although I love what one blogger does with it. But I just don’t have time to spend all of my out of work time on the computer looking for fabulous things – I’d rather be knitting, sewing or catching up on this season of NCIS: LA! g

  3. Mary says:

    Clearly I am one of your anachronistic friends: no blog, no fb, no twit (well, maybe I am sometimes), no pin…no nuttin. Dont even know what somet of the things mentioned are atthe all. I read your blog (and most of your commenter’s blogs, if they have one). I don’t want to connect with old classmates. I commute/work 70 hours a wk, so what little energy I have left over is not spent electronically. Obviously, I am no help to you in this arena.

  4. Sue says:

    I felt myself getting lost so I chose to choose. I’m on Facebook, but I only check it once a month unless I’m looking for someone specific. I chose my blog because it offers the contact I need and it moves at my pace. Facebook goes too fast and you have to be on it constantly to keep up. I don’t tweet, personally think it’s silly, so I can blog when I want and not feel pressured.

    I don’t know exactly how I’m going to deal with selling sweaters, though I did make several sales from the one post I did on my blog. That may be all I want to do.

    Good luck, it’s a busy mess out there.

  5. Katherine says:

    I feel your pain! I have the blog, a Facebook presence and I even have a Twitter account though I haven’t touched it in months. It gets to be too much. I can’t seem to run an accounting business and keep up with all the social stuff too!! I used to play Farmville but my farm is so overgrown that the critters have taken over (and I don’t mean Macy and Max). Oh yes, then there is Macy, and Max five days a week. They keep me busy as your fur-girls do you. They even go to work with me and I’m thinking that if I can just get the time to give them a little computer training they could keep up with Facebook for me.

    I have to say that I feel much better after reading your post today!! You have so much going on your make me feel relaxed. LOL

  6. Kat Sprouse says:

    Sis – as you know, I’m on FB and that is my ONLY social media tool. It seems to be the one most readily used by the majority of folks, and it is one easy way for me to keep in touch with friends, family, co-workers, former classmates, ETC. It meets my needs from a personal, professional and “otherwise” vantage point. I can’t handle any additionaly complexity on my life…

    I “THINK” that you might be able to restrict who receives your Farmville “spam”, so you don’t overwhelm others.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Not to worry on the Farmville: FB gives you an option to automatically not show any Farmville posts, or of any other game as each one pops up, and so I don’t see them. I don’t play them, they’re not my thing, so, poof–gone!

    I signed up for Google Plus but that’s as far as I’ve gone. I just haven’t figured out why I should spend the time learning the system–but I am glad FB has competition: it needed it.

  8. Marjie says:

    I blog, but don’t talk about it. It’s pretty random, and sometimes I’m not feeling the inspiration – I haven’t really been inspired since we lost Thor, truth be told. I don’t facebook. I don’t google plus. I don’t twitter – hell, even Kellie quit that after a while. No one would follow me anyway, because I don’t have much to say, so no big loss there. I don’t even know what pinterest and scoopit are, for pity’s sake! And I quit my photo blog because I ran out of the desire to post a random picture every day, and mine were all the same anyway. I also have a blog for my business, but haven’t posted for a long time, and no one has even noticed. Hmmm. I guess strength of materials just isn’t that popular; it’s the big yawnfest I always knew it to be.

  9. kathy b says:

    Perhaps I am just old and slow to join up, but all I do is Blog. Oh, I lied I have Pinterest boards too. Since i find writing therapeutic and blogging pure fun I enjoy my daily post.
    I dont do facebook. On Pinterest I use a pretend name….

    no advice for you my friend….you’ll figure it out just right for you.

  10. km says:

    I have not good way for it all to work. I feel like I’m failing at much of it lately. I do have a FarmVille group on FB though. Then my posts for that only go to the FV group. It helps from spamming/cluttering up the wall for non players.

  11. Mr. Puffy says:

    I enjoy Rav, Flickr, and blogging, in that order. Right now I have the most fun and am the most active on the Rav forum for German Shepherd Lovers. I don’t read blogs as much as I used to and I just (like last weekend) joined Pinterest but I don’t anticipate spending any time on it. Google+ ; FB; and Twitter are big yawns for me.

  12. Walden121 says:

    I honestly find all of it too overwhelming! Sometimes it is fun, but then it just feels like too much of an obligation.

  13. Amy says:

    I really love Google +. It is like Facebook but more polished, and without all the annoying apps. I have some tutorials that I’ll email you.

  14. SusanB-knits says:

    I just have a blog. It’s about all I can handle right now. Besides I can spend hours on Ravelry!, lol. So I guess I’m not much help either. 🙂

  15. Ruth says:

    I have a blog, but lately it would hard to say I actually BLOG! I am on Facebook…and though I went kicking and screaming, it is working out well as a place to connect with family and friends, many of whom live at a distance (or great distance) from me. I check it daily, or as often as I do, but NO GAMES! If I want to play games I have Scrabble and FreeCell to amuse myself with. Good luck to you…

  16. Louise says:

    Let’s see, I blog and I LOVE it! I twitter because I blog and it’s a great way to share blog posts and catch other cool posts about food and recipes.

    As you know, Channon, I’ve also started an online newspaper which I enjoy but, it isn’t for everyone as far as I can tell.

    I despise games online.

    I fear, there are those who must get their priorities in order because as far as I can see, something or someone is getting ignored. I don’t do FB, I tried it but…and I too have whatever Pinterest is in my mailbox. I’ll probably check that out because my daughter said so:)

  17. gypsyknits says:

    Dear heavens you know I can’t help ya. I’m so far behind reading/blogging/posting that it is beyond ridiculous.
    You also know I don’t have a plan….LOL
    I’m a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants gal so I’m of no help. I certainly don’t need to check into any other social media other than facebook, email and blogs. I tried twitter but it just doesn’t hold my interest and it’s certainly not an easy thing to navigate (well at least not to me). Besides I really NEED to get on some of my knitting 😉 and don’t forget Mr. B wants out….again.

  18. Nichole says:

    Having been to social media seminars in person and done webinars online, I feel I have – or HAD – a good hand on social media… and now there’s all of these new sites to throw in the mix. WHO has time for all of these facebook-like sites. My own personal social media time has decreased since my job change… but I do try to keep up (through lots of catch up)… Right now FB is my personal page, I never opted to start a fan page for Lapdog Creations, but I do run the man’s racing fan page on there… and then 2 blogs, Lapdog and his racing website/blog… Tweet when I can….. haven’t touched the Google thing yet…

  19. Bubblesknits says:

    I’ve been more on Twitter, Rav, and Facebook than my blog lately. Then I hesitate to post the same info on my blog, since most everyone saw it on one of the other places. So that’s the one that suffers the most. Pinterest is just eye candy (craft-wise) and about finding really cool ideas. I mostly get on there when I’m killing time. I finally cancelled my Google+ thingy. Too many of my friends are on Facebook and I just couldn’t keep up with another one. I don’t know what advice to give you though. Just pick the ones you like best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

