Basically Finished Report

Okay.  I give up.  We’ll likely have a frost the next night or two, so clearly it’s nearly past time to blog my “summer cotton shawl”.  I was waiting to block it, but I’m also already a couple of FO reports behind… 

For those of you who aren’t lace knitters, the fact that it’s cotton means there will be no drastic changes.  Cotton doesn’t lend itself to the wonders of blocking… honestly, I sometimes use a steam iron to “block” cotton projects.

Anyway, I present Quake-icane… thus named because it was a work in progress for an earthquake, lots of aftershocks and a hurricane!

August 2011 003

Pattern:  Miami Beach Shawl, from Cascade.  It was the first of Dog House Yarns’ KALs.  Most of the KAL-ers are part of their knit night, but I’m doing what I can “remotely”. 

It’s a nice, quick, easy pattern.   Per the pattern’s suggestion, I used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off.

Yarn:  Cascade’s Ultra Pima.  Wow.  Soft stuff.  Didn’t make my hands hurt, and hasn’t gotten fuzzy either…  not that it would get too fuzzy being moved from one spot to another on the back of the loveseat.  Hem.

Needles:  US #7 circulars, Addi Clicks.

Verdict:  Some of the ladies have made multiples of this shawl.  If I was a fan of weighty, cotton wraps, I could see that happening. 

Anything fun on your weekend agenda?   Celebration week begins for me tomorrow, with gMarie‘s birthday…  but I’ll share more about all the other celebrations later!

18 comments on “Basically Finished Report

  1. gMarie says:

    shhh – it’s a secret 😉

    Love that shawl. It’s beautiful and honestly – sometimes I use a steam iron to block wool! My cape – yep – steamed. How did you get a photo without the dogs? g

  2. Bonnie says:

    That is GORGEOUS! I adore the color!

  3. Katherine says:

    The shawl is beautiful! What does Gretchen see below the deck? She has something in her sights!!

  4. Sue says:

    Very pretty. It looks like Gretchen has something important in her sights.

  5. Nancy says:

    Beautiful color and pattern.

    Thanks for the information about a cotton yarn that doesn’t hurt to knit. I’m filing that information away.

  6. Marjie says:

    It’s a pretty pattern, and a pretty color. I’ll bet there are plenty of days when the ocean at OBX looks just like that!

  7. AlisonH says:

    Wow, that’s pretty.

    We had a quake yesterday, another today, 4.8 and 4, across the Bay. Didn’t feel a thing here; gotta love all those little fractures of faults that absorb the energy around here.

  8. gypsyknits says:

    Oh…G’s birthday!! Shouting from the rooftops :D.

    That shawl is very pretty.

  9. kathy b says:

    Thanks too for a good yarn review….wow I LOVE the knit up. IT is gorgeous. Happy weekend. to you!

    I had to float last weekend and was soooo unhappy. this weekend will be better…..
    tonight KNITTING and a visit from Al

  10. Kristyn says:

    The shawl is gorgeous!

  11. Barbara says:

    Lovely, Chan!
    And I hear you’re going to get very chilly! It was even cold here last night. What a pleasure! Wish it would last exactly like this all winter long.

  12. Amy says:

    I think that is one of the boldest, most appealing shades of blue that I have ever seen! It look beautiful!

  13. Nichole says:

    Love the shawl… and the name! 🙂 Impressed that the cotton doesn’t fuzz too!

  14. Ruth says:

    Very pretteh! And…for what it’s worth…you CAN knit this pattern in a non-cotton yarn…just sayin!

  15. Blond Duck says:

    Do you take Christmas orders? 🙂 You should!

  16. Kathy says:

    Very pretty! I love the color.

    You can just consider this a head start on summer 2012 knitting. Look at how far ahead you are!

  17. Mr. Puffy says:

    It’s a gorgeous wrap! Love the shape and lace border. It’s nice to hear that Roseanne’s shop is still doing well and is organizing KALs. I bet it is a wonderful place to visit with lots of friendships made 🙂

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    Beautiful pattern and I love the color you chose. What’s Miss G looking at in the woods?

Leave a Reply

