Keep on Walkin’…

October 2010 028

Last year

… the lights are off and there’s no candy to be had here.

If it was Christmas, you could call us Scrooges.  What do you call the folks who don’t do Halloween?   It’s not totally a lack of spirit…  we live in the woods, far enough off the road that we just don’t get costumed visitors.  (More of the why explained here.)  

October 2010 019

More 2010 looks

Do you dress up?  I know some workplaces even have contests and such, but I’ve never been one of those people wired to conceive awesome costume ideas, even if we assumed I had the talents to pull together whatever my mind could come up with.

We did have a low-keyed weekend.  No snow fell at our house, but all around us there were dustings and more.  I got lots of knitting accomplished, and I’m hoping to FINALLY get some finished object shots later this week!

How was your weekend?

15 comments on “Keep on Walkin’…

  1. Sue says:

    We don’t do Halloween either. I was never into it as a kid and now we usually have our anniversary dinner out on Halloween. It’s a great time to eat out because the restaurants are nearly empty and the service is great.

    If we stay home we turn off the lights and watch TV in the basement with the pooches. Constant people at the door causes lots of excited barking that gets old pretty fast. We only have a couple kids on the street and they belong to a nutso family that we don’t much care for. More chocolate for us.

  2. Kari says:

    Since we dont have little ones we turn off the lights.
    I dont dress up unless going to a halloween party.

    I hope we get some snow this year in Texas!

  3. km says:

    Saturday was a hectic day. I took 6 to Target while M cleaned the carpet in her room. We were all to go to 10’s fencing tournament, and then to a harvest festival but…little on had blisters all over her hands. I feared Hand Foot & Mouth…but that wasn’t it. Today there’s just a few blisters left. M took the boys and we had a girly costume tea party at home. Not how I would plan it, but it was nice. I’m still not sure what we’re doing tonight, but I don’t plan on opening the door.

  4. gMarie says:

    Friday was lovely Saturday there was a work crises – enough said. and Sunday was lovely again. I got some sewing done. Got most of the designed by me shawl finished up and baked banana bread and coconut pound cake – burnt the cake a wee bit – but it still tastes okay – I think, haven’t really ate any – but your girl Lucy tried to sample it. g

    ps – and this morning I *finally* mailed off those John Deere Pillowcases for a special soldier and a box for a friend 🙂

  5. AlisonH says:

    Had almost no knitting time, I’ll try to make up for it for the rest of the week.

  6. Amy says:

    I love Halloween, but my problem is, by the time I find a great costume, life gets in the way and I never get time to make it.

    But this year, I have to work, and I don’t want to wear a costume to work. It isn’t very professional for a night shift person to do so in my opinion. Also – I have some dementia patients and I don’t want to scare them as I check on the.

    And to tell you the truth, I’m more hyped for NaNoWriMo at midnight then Halloween!

  7. Katherine says:

    I don’t do Halloween. Macy and her daddy answer the door and woof and ooooh over the various costumes. Sometimes DH says, “You should see this costume!” If “bah humbug” applied to Halloween I would use it.

    Our weekend was magical. It turned cold in Texas–a real miracle!! We enjoyed just sitting around, reading, knitting and watching football. It was so special!

  8. Nancy says:

    Call me a Scrooge. The lights are always off on the street side of my house on Halloween.

    Don’t feel sorry for the children, as the downtown merchants stay open and host a Trick or Treat event which has eliminated a lot of children going house to house.

  9. kathy b says:

    I LOve Halloween …….even if we only get a few trick or treaters…our nieghborhood is full of great decorations. We enjoy walking around on Halloween night seeing all the kids dressed up,even if ours are too old to be at home and trick or treat ! I love me a black cat too.. a certain on this year

  10. Marjie says:

    We once had as many as 3 children who were not friends of our children. We are at the top of a hill with only 5 houses on it, and no one wants to hike. I turn on the lights anyway, because I don’t want to scrooge those 3 kids.

  11. Barbara says:

    We don’t get trick or treaters here either. But we did get rain. Lots of rain.

  12. Kathy says:

    Yesterday the boyfriend worked so I walked my pup during trick-or-treating time. She wore her Halloween bandana. I wish we could have gotten biscuits at dog-friendly houses. We could have used a spare poop bag to put them in. But I wasn’t sure if any neighbors had a big bowl of biscuits next to their bowls of candy. We had fun seeing so many kids in costume and lots of adults were sitting on chairs in the front yard giving candy. Of course lots of houses gave it the traditional way. It was a fun walk.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you had a good Halloween! Was it really 30 degrees?

  14. gypsyknits says:

    Not a Halloween fan. Our lights were off and candy stashed in the cupboard…hrmph! Yep! Hallowscrooge here.
    Snowy on Saturday and the DH and I did some much needed chores. Sunday was spent visiting family 🙂

  15. As is becoming normal with me…late to the party! We ‘don’t do’ Halloween either…host of reasons. This year’s reason: Farm-themed party at church which called for our help and prescence. I was shocked, however, that before I could get out of the house, mere minutes after 5 pm and still full daylight….my doorbell rang. So…not thinking…I answered it, only to find a costumed girl of about 9 or 10 with a candy pail. When I said, we don’t do Trick or Treat, she looked downrgiht shocked!!

Leave a Reply

