Roses… hold the raindrops

October 2011 004

From the anniversary flowers

The most dedicated of readers are groaning or humming along.   I just love the musicals of my youth.  I haven’t had a new one click in YEARS… 

Anyhoo, I’ve had one of those mornings.   Couldn’t settle on my outfit, couldn’t find the lipstick I wanted once I was dressed, and then after I got to work, a small series of small blah blahs set me into crankdom.   (Vague references to the causes of said foul humor were just deleted.  You don’t want to hear it.)

November 2011 002How do you turn a day around?  My favorite way is to go home and greet those funny,  happy fur-girls.  Since that doesn’t happen mid-morning most days, I accidentally backed into a good mood by giving a friend an atta’ girl I didn’t realize she needed.  In return, she stopped my cranks by thanking me for sharing that thought at that very moment…

Then the Knight not only had lunch with me, but he even re-heated the leftover vegetable beef soup for me and brought it to my desk.  Trust me; it was far more impressive in the moment than it sounds.   Just like that, the train left the crankyville station.

DSCN2468

OBX Fall 2009

Doesn’t hurt at all that somewhere in the midst of those two happy encounters, I firmed up plans for a trip to the beach.  Look out OBX, here we come!!

(And really?!  I didn’t take a single photo when we were at the beach last fall?!)

Just a bit of randomness here.  I do need photos of the skirt I have on today (yes, Lanesplitter, the one I knit with my own hands), but while I enjoy looking at the daily outfits some fashion bloggers do, I cannot imagine for the life of me that y’all give a hoot what I’m wearing on any given day.  (Well… aside from gMarie.  We compare notes on what we’re wearing almost daily, and I’m guessing she’s going to vote early and often for photos….)

What do you come here to see? 

 

11 comments on “Roses… hold the raindrops

  1. Marjie says:

    I’d like to see the skirt you knit. I like seeing what others make. Sorry you had a cranky morning, but it was wonderful of your Knight to bring you soup and cheer you up. And hooray for beach plans! What could be happier?

  2. gMarie says:

    I come to ‘hear’ your voice. to know how life is treating you and have a coffee together. I love seeing your outfits and of course I want to see lanespitter as well as how you style your ruffles (which should be on your porch before the week is out).

    I love seeing – the fur-girls, photos of the sweet boys, The Knight, the yard and Boy’s Garden, knitting, yarn, wildlife – whatever you want to share. 🙂 g

  3. I come to see how you are doing and what is going on in your life, Have a wonderful beach trip!!!

  4. Glad you got out of crankville! 🙂 Hope you have a great day and that when you greet your pups they give you lots of smooches! 😉

  5. Sue says:

    Of course we’d like to see your skirt. We love seeing what everyone creates. We come for news of the girls and chat about life in general. We like to share the ups and gripe about the downs.

  6. Kathy says:

    Yes, another vote to see the skirt!

    Sorry your day started out rough, but it seems to be getting better.

  7. Kari says:

    I think we all visit crankville 🙂 My dogs are the ones to cheer me up sometimes too.
    I would love to see the skirt you knitted!

  8. Silly question…YOU, of course! What does that look like? Well…um…dogs and knits and all kinds of happenings…trips to Crankyville and all. We need to have tea and a chat. I feel like I’ve been missing you lately.

  9. Mary says:

    Come here to hear you: How you are doing (cranky or otherwise), what you are thinking, and what the furgirls and the knight are up to (not necessarily in that order, knight). Sorry about the crappy morning…some days are just like that. But V. happy that OBX is in your near future. Boy, do you need it! Enjoy.

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    I could never post about my daily outfits. It would get boring real quick to see “blue jeans + pink tshirt”, “blue jeans + grey tshirt”, etc, etc.. lol I’ve been in crankville for the last few weeks, so maybe the next time you’re there we can share a cup of tea. 😉

  11. gypsyknits says:

    Like Bubblesknits I could never post my daily outfit unless you wanna hear about sweatpants, jeans, and old t-shirt and sweater if cold.
    Crankville? Must be a widespread town ;).
    I come to your ‘place’ to relax. Sit a spell, drink a cup of tea and enjoy the read 😀

Leave a Reply

