Lanesplitter

November 2011 004Ravelry says I started Tealsplitter in August.  Seems longer ago than that.  I hope y’all enjoy the photos, because the more I look at them, the less I like them.  The Knight was kind enough to snap them, so don’t fuss about a lack of smiles, poses, etc. 

Pattern:  Lanesplitter.  Another great, free pattern from Knitty!  It’s a rectangle, knitted on a bias, seamed, then a cotton, interior waistband is knitted in the round, tacked down, elastic pulled through, hole sewn shut, and it’s a skirt. 

The actual knitting took no time at all.  It was the waistband that slowed me down.  Some people lined theirs or used a sewing machine for the waistband, but I lack anything beyond button attachment skills…   

November 2011 005

See the seam?

I didn’t love the skirt when finished.  It did a funky bell-thing with my “athletic” thighs.  But a vigorous blocking made it better, and these photos were taken after about 9 hours of wear.  I want to try it next with either a denim shirt or vest…  And I opted to wear the seam on the side, because I didn’t like the seam up the center back as most seem to wear it!

Yarn:  Plymouth Boku, color 10.  I really like this yarn!  It does have some vegetation issues (think grass seed, evidently processed with the fleece that became the wool?), but I tend to prefer their color combinations over Noro’s, and it’s available at Dog House Yarns, which is my almost exclusive resource.

I wore it with rather non-descript tights and there was no itching.  I did tend to tug at it – especially in the very front, to lengthen it back out after sitting down for a while.

I used Lion Brand Cotton in seaspray for the waistband because it kinda’ matched and I find it to be a decent “utility” cotton.

Needles:  US #7.   Sorry… I don’t recall more!

September 2011 002

Pre-finishing, seam view

Verdict:  It was a fun knit that proved to me I can knit a skirt I’ll wear.  Now I’m a little skirt and dress obsessed and have several patterns in the wings.

My weekend plans include writing another post about this for the Dog House blog, blocking another finished object or two and finishing the capelet.  Might be a bit ambitious…

What’s on your weekend agenda?

20 comments on “Lanesplitter

  1. gMarie says:

    Love it! I would open the seam up just a tiny bit at the bottom and turn it so it’s centered over the front of one leg or the other. Not because you need walking room, but just for a little interest. While you have a waist, I would wear it with a solid tank or tee (probably not tucked in) and then throw a cardi over the top and belt something – either the tank layer or the cardi layer – maybe the cardi if it wasn’t the same color as the tank.

    You look lovely in the photos – the Knight did a fantastic job. You loook incredible and are an inspiration to all to get on a health kick and take control of your life and your body again. 🙂 much love – g

  2. Sue says:

    I’d like to be knitting, but that isn’t going to happen so between icings of my hand, I’ll try to get acquainted with my sewing machine and do some reading.

    Your personal photographer did a good job. Be sure to praise him so that he’s ready for the next time.

  3. Bonnie says:

    That is so cute!! I had a similar thought as Gaylen – I would untuck the top and belt it to accentuate your waist. Adorable outfit.

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    I think it’s a fabulous picture of you! I’d love to knit that for myself when I have some more time. 🙂 Still have a sweater to finish and another baby cardigan to make.

    Our weekend is pretty full. Mock cheer competition tonight, 1st play off game for our 75# team tomorrow, Boy Scout Turkey Shoot for the boy & hubs also tomorrow, and then Sunday is also full with Boy Scout stuff. I’m tired just thinking about it. lol

  5. Marjie says:

    That’s an adorable skirt. I think you look really great in those pictures. I’ll bet the hubby was pleased with your look yesterday, too.

  6. It looks great!! Great job!

  7. Kathy says:

    Love the skirt! It looks great! I’m impressed!

    I like the way you are wearing it too. The seam in the side works better than down the butt, I think.

    While The Knight was taking the photos, did he say fashion-photographer things like, “Work it, baby”?

  8. Susan, Chelsea and Cory says:

    I would think seam on the side would be best, although is would give some support on the back where you are sitting.

    Looks great. Are you going to knit the second one? 😉

  9. Barbara S. says:

    Knitting, sewing, test-driving a new purse (!), celebrating the 50th anniversary of our congregation which means listening to Hubband play hand-bells(!), helping him figure out a photograph for a Visa application, cleaning up the deck and front porch from summer plants, general stuff like that. AKA enjoying myself and having him home for now.

  10. AlisonH says:

    (How on earth did I miss this earlier…) Chan, that’s fabulous! And you look fabulous in it–wow!!

  11. Amy says:

    That skirt looks so wonderful, and the color looks great on you! I’ve been a little leery of knitting a skirt, but yours may change my mind.

  12. Anita says:

    The skirt is totally adorable! And impressive that it looked that good & kept it’s shape after wearing it all day. 🙂 I still think the photos are great too. Squeee, I have some Boku in my stash… wonder if I have enough???

  13. Louise says:

    Well, look at you! I love that skirt!!! You are so creative, Channon. If I were a skirt type person, which of course you know I’m not, I would wear that skirt with colorful pride!!!

    Thanks for sharing…did the girls like it as well???

  14. Katherine says:

    I love it!! I’ve always wanted to knit a skirt but I don’t believe I could wear it. Yours looks wonderful on you and you look great–an inspiration to all of us. I would wear it with a tank and belt with denim shirt or wool jacket over it. Love the colors!

  15. Nichole says:

    Very cute… and your photographer did a great job too! 🙂

  16. Blond Duck says:

    You seriously knitted that?

  17. Mary says:

    Great job on the skirt. You look terrific. If I wore something like that it would look like a scene from a ski resort…too many moguls. Knight did a great job…esp like the one where you are walking down the steps.

  18. StarSpry says:

    Your skirt looks great! Really nice pictures 🙂

  19. gypsyknits says:

    Just amazing and it looks awesome on you :). The Knight did a great job as photographer.

  20. Krystle says:

    Love, Love, LOVE that skirt!

    It is an adorable pattern and is flattering on as well… I might just have to make it!

Leave a Reply

