Shootie

Hi.  My name is Chan and I have a shootie problem.  (Shoe + boot – a few letters + ie for cuteness = shootie.)

No, they aren’t the most versatile footwear ever.  There’s some debate on whether they can be worn with anything other than jeans/trousers, so weigh in.  Personally, just because I can’t justify owning but SO MANY shoes and boots, I’ll be trying to wear mine with black tights and skirts and/or leggings and tunics. 

There are styles of shooties that are more shoe or more boot, but I bought this pair because it most closely resembles a pair I literally wore to pieces last time shooties were all the rage.  That pair of old was a little more western, but I couldn’t find anything much closer…

I used to live a life where I wore lace-up work boots (steel toe and shank) to work, so I’m really very comfortable in boots.  Not comfortable enough to bare leg ’em with shorts or tightless summer skirts, but I love the cooler months and tights and boots!

Do you shootie?  If so, how?

And how was your weekend?  Mine was hectic, far more so than I anticipated.  I did try the Starbucks Salted Caramel Mocha.  I went with Bubblesknits advice and got it “skinny” as I usually do, but the bottom third or so was still too rich for me.  I’ll stick with my Pumpkin Spice Latte and just EAT my salted caramels…

Lilly Pulitzer 2010 Limited Edition Breast Cancer Awareness Murfee Scarf

Also, the Knight made a REALLY stupid remark Saturday night.  He flat-out said I didn’t need another scarf.  Gasp!!!  I love scarves, always have.  Silk squares, handknit wool triangles, long and lean… 

Given that I don’t like turtlenecks, they’re a great way to keep my neck warm, but many also can do double duty as a stole, a belt, etc.  They’re an easy way to add a dash of color or to tie together an otherwise slap-happy wad of colors.

If money was no object, I’d give every woman on my Christmas list a Murfee scarf.  Silk & cashmere meet fun, bright colors.  What’s not to love?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in shoes.

15 comments on “Shootie

  1. gMarie says:

    I’m rather loving the Drama Queen in your link. I guess I don’t really have a true “shootie” but I do like them. Sorry your weekend was hectic. 🙂 g

  2. AlisonH says:

    Boring feet, (ee width), boring shoes here. But comfy.

    That scarf matches the look of your favorite bags.

  3. Mary says:

    Tell the Knight that no one can ever have enough scarves (and I have drawers and hangers full to prove it). That is like saying a fireman can live with a few hoses (sorry, couldn’t help it).

    No shootie. Not even a bootie…though I have a pair of lace-up ankle boots, but they hurt my feet after too short a time. Simply cannot find a shoe and/or boot that doesn’t hurt. Drives me crazy.

  4. km says:

    I had a “shootie” that looked like the ones you’ve pictured, but in brown. They were by Guess?! Do people still buy/wear Guess?

    I think leg warmers are another way to extend the wear of shooties. I’ve seen that a few places lately.

    Since you don’t need more scarves, make sure the additions to your wardrobe are looped…if they’re a circle, then it’s a cowl not a scarf…but you can wear it mostly the same way. ;0)

  5. Marjie says:

    Did he have a headache? I can’t imagine him making such a stupid comment otherwise. Wait, I can. It’s like my dearly beloved telling me I cannot purchase any more books, and I cannot purchase another treadle sewing machine, because I have no place to put them. Gasp! These guys must be having a collective brain fart.

  6. Amy says:

    I have to tell you, I’ve never been a fan of short boots. I don’t know what it is. I prefer my boots to come up at least mid-calf. Maybe its the mistress in me. 🙂

  7. Nancy says:

    I don’t wear boots (tall or short) because they just aren’t “me.” No one will ever accuse me of being a fashionista, but I am okay with that.

  8. SusanB-knits says:

    I like shooties but can’t wear the ones with heels anymore. I have 3 pairs with 1/2 in heel (or is it an inch?) anyway it is a short heel. Love wearing them with jeans.

  9. The scarf is gorgeous but money is a factor, I can’t wear heels any more either, just bought a pair of Bass chuka style black suede boots and love them

  10. Jessica says:

    i shootie! I had a pair long ago, and i have a new pair now. The ones now are suede peep toes, and i love em! And i absolutely wear ’em with skirts! LOVE that look!
    Saw a CUTE pair today on the Today show, and the model was wearing them with a skirt, and it looked awesome!

  11. gypsyknits says:

    What was he thinking??? Oh nevermind. Men!
    I’ve never cared for short boots but if you like ’em then by all means wear ’em 😉

  12. Go for the shootie with some tights and dresses, I think you can pull it off! Gasping a bit over the scarf comment…but surely he wasn’t serious? You life is busy…it’s a fact. Hoping you find some quiet soon.

  13. Barbara says:

    Really liked the skirt, Chan….you look great! I’ve never been able to wear a knitted skirt! Too many rolls. 🙂
    And what does the Knight mean? No more scarves??!! Men just don’t have a clue.
    As far as the shooties are concerned, my opinion is: slacks only.

  14. Katherine says:

    My sweet little daughter-in-law wears her “shooties” with knee length skirts and tights, and she is about as chic as they come! You can do it Chan. Of course, you can also wear them with jeans.

  15. Nichole says:

    My name is Nichole and I too, shootie. (lol) Only with jeans however…
    And there is NO such thing as too many scarves… never! Silly, silly knight… what was he thinking?

Leave a Reply

