Citizen Jane

Borrowed from Wikipedia

I don’t know why, but I alway feel more empowered, more aware of my collective history as a woman today. 

For those of you a little confused, it’s voting day here in the woods.  We’re in a new district – well, several new districts if you read along – and it’s the Knight’s first time voting, so I’m ridiculously excited.  I’m six all over again — or however old I was when I was first aware of being taken into the voting booth by one of my parents. 

Of course, neither the Knight nor our local voting officials – most of whom have known me since before I went knowingly in that first voting booth – would let me go vote with him.  Yes, I know how he voted, but…

Clearly, I am a voting dweeb, but at least I know Marjie understands.  She even has a special cake for the day.  I also attribute it to loving the little village of Occoquan and knowing too well that the suffragists suffered there for ME!!

What inspires you to vote or otherwise do your civic duty?

 

14 comments on “Citizen Jane

  1. Katherine says:

    I am inspired by service men and women who willingly offer themselves for my freedom on a daily basis. I am inspired by women, like you Chan, who are thrilled by the American process and by our hard won freedom. AND I am inspired by grandchildren who appreciate all we have done for them and for their future! Is this a great country or what!!

  2. Marjie says:

    Our new voting system is paper ballots that are read by optical scanners. I really like it, because I can see what I’m doing and think. they have “booths” similar to the carrels in a school library set up at standing height, and my beloved and I stand side by side to vote. Mark went along, of course, as part of school.

    Outrage or ire at someone’s policies is what inspires me to vote. So, let’s form the “Voting Dweeb” club. At least we know we tried.

  3. Kathy says:

    This morning I did my civic duty and voted for mayor and city council. There was a man there who wanted his wife to see how he voted or how one votes but the election people didn’t let her. I don’t know why she wasn’t registered herself.

    I remember as a kid going with my parents to my future middle school to vote. They had a sample ballot/voting booth set up to show first-timers how to do it. I liked playing with that and voting for First Lady (one of the sample questions). Hm, Martha Washington or Dolly Madison?

  4. Khyra's Mom says:

    Given I was born on the anniversary of the day we got the right to vote, I was meant to be involved from Day 1!

    🙂

  5. Blond Duck says:

    Ben is very patriotic, so not voting isn’t an option.
    And we mainly walked the 5K. He doesn’t run. 🙂

  6. Amy says:

    I was going to write a big post tonight about these exact reasons for voting! I may still do so, and link your blog as well.

  7. […] sat in jail, just so women could have the same right as men, to make their opinion known.  Chan has a post today all about her views, and she talks about the suffragette movement as […]

  8. kathy b says:

    My Uncle John always liked Jury Duty. He never shirked it or wanted out of it. I thought that was inspiring.

  9. Nichole says:

    I’ll admit, I did not vote today. I had not followed the local elections close enough to make an educated vote… sigh.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Have a great Wednesday!

  11. Jessica says:

    Proud to say i am a big ‘ol Voting Dweeb!
    Being married to a soldier, i am firmly aware of the fact that he has provided security in a foreign country so that people could vote. I consider it CRIMINAL that anyone in our own country that has the right to vote does NOT. No excuses people! VOTE!!!! other people are DYING for that right.
    wow….my blood gets pumping just writing this. yep….voting dweeb, and PROUD OF IT!!! :o)

  12. Louise says:

    Not only did I vote, I also wore red, white and blue, too!!!

  13. Sue says:

    We didn’t get to vote today. There was no one running for anything and no propositions to be voted on. We watched the results in other areas with great interest however.

    I also used to go with my mother when I was a little girl and learned the importance of casting a vote. My grandmother told of not being able to vote so it was special to her.

  14. gypsyknits says:

    So many fought for our freedom and the right to vote and that my friend is why I vote :D.

Leave a Reply

