Have a Holly Jolly …

Lilly P does jolly!

… sweater.

So ladies, what’s the verdict on holiday sweaters?  (Shirts, etc… any specifically holiday attire)  I know the prudent thing is to opt for red, green, cream and black, and I have plenty of the first two in my wardrobe, but gosh o’ golly, there’s just something about fun and funky holiday attire that hits me where I live.

It seems nearly every day has me adding to my holiday social schedule.  For the dressier events, I will be appropriately attired, but in years past, I’ve worn holiday “stuff” nearly every day of December. 

How ’bout you?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

15 comments on “Have a Holly Jolly …

  1. gMarie says:

    I have one limish green cardigan with packages and bows on the front only that The Princess deemed appropriate to wear – only on Fridays to the office with jeans or a denim skirt and a turtleneck. *And* I’m only allowed to wear it twice between Thanksgiving and Christmas. So …..

  2. AlisonH says:

    I once admired a friend’s beautiful holiday sweater, a very elegant one, cream background with soft blues and greens, understated, not quite your usual Christmas bright red one, having no idea that she’d been wanting to find a way to thank me for knitting for her newly-widowed mother. Next thing I knew, she’d had it drycleaned and then gave it to me! Ohmygoodness! It’s beautiful, and I treasure it.

    Enjoy yours while you can, the season’s too short!

  3. Katherine says:

    I love Christmas sweaters and holiday clothes of all kinds–even those silly reindeer antlers! I hear how ridiculous that is all the time but I just say, “Get with the program people!!” I’m a Christmas freak!

  4. Nancy says:

    I, too, love to wear holiday sweaters, vests, and pins. When I was teaching, I started wearing them the first day following Thanksgiving break. The items categorized as “winter” (snowflakes, snowmen, etc.) were worn through January.

  5. Marjie says:

    If you like the funky sweaters, then wear them! I’ve seen your building, and it doesn’t look like a very formal dress code is in effect. You have to find a way to make yourself happy amidst the mad circus that is December.

  6. Sue says:

    I like seeing holiday wear on people and I have a few somewhat conservative pieces of my own. This year I’m longing for a flashy sequined top. I think I may just have to get one.

  7. Amy says:

    I think I’m gonna be the odd man out here and say that I really dislike Christmas themed clothes (except for scrubs, but does that make me a hypocrite?) I’d rather where red or green, than an actual Christmas shirt.

    I know, I know. Are there no prisons, are there no workhouses? 🙂

  8. I enjoy other folk’s holiday themed attire, but rarely have any of my own…not because I don’t like it, but because it is hard to find something I like, in my size AND in my price range. YOU go for it and have fun!

  9. LAst year while I was loosing weight I had one holiday sweater left that I could get away with, this year, still loosing I did purchase 2 new holiday tee shirts, with long sleeves, twill have to do!!! But at one time I had quite the collection, at least 2 full weeks worth, between denim shirts, sweaters, sweat shirts and tees—-I am quirkly like this!

  10. Kathy says:

    Holiday wear is not my thing, but it would be awfully boring world if I set the dress code for everyone. So wear what makes you happy and I bet that shirt (or something similar) will make those around you smile!

  11. SusanB-knits says:

    I love holiday sweaters! But I’m afraid it won’t be cold enough this year for me to wear very many sweaters.

  12. emmy says:

    Working as an Activity Director in a rehab center I feel it is my DUTY to wear Christmas attire to include jewelry and light up socks. I start the day after Thanksgiving and continue through January with the snowman/snowflake clothing. Our residents love it, it brightens their day and mine as well….

    For that matter I have Halloween attire, some Valentine and socks for ALL special holidays!

  13. Carol says:

    I too admire the holiday attire. When I was working, because I wore a uniform, I would opt for a holiday pin. These days I will most likely be found in a green or red sweater. I’m loving the holiday bracelets from Pier One Imports. I wear them and usually get a lot of compliments on them. I also like to give them as gifts.

  14. Mary says:

    The Grinch here…no holiday attire in my wardrobe. 😦

  15. Jessica says:

    I’m not a Christmas sweater person, but my mom LOVES them. she is a retired school district employee, so of course she does it all…sweaters, earrings, necklaces, pins! I can spot a teacher from a mile away around the holidays, and it makes me smile every time! I love it when people let their inner dork out!

Leave a Reply

