Philanthropy Day

Today is National Philanthropy Day

 

 

Yesterday, I had the privilege of attending our local celebration for the day.   We had quite an inspiring speaker, but one of the phrases that stuck with me is that philanthropy is about giving time, talent and/or treasure to change the world, your community… lives.

I’ve always liked the very word – philanthorpy – but I must admit I don’t consider myself a philanthropist, even though I’ve been giving my time, talent and treasure to one non-profit or another since I was a small child, but I thought that’s just what we do…  as kind, compassionate citizens.  I do consider myself a volunteer, but I confess I feel a bit like a little girl playing dress-up with this new mantle of “philanthropist” draped around me.

Likewise, I have accepted myself as a leader in the non-profit community, but I do not think of myself as a civic leader.  Splitting hairs?  Perhaps.  What say you?

Are their words that might define you that challenge you a bit?

5 comments on “Philanthropy Day

  1. Amy says:

    I think that, if you can’t give money, then you should give time and/or talent. Share what you can do with the world to make it a better place. That is a lot of the reasoning behind my knitting project/charity – ‘Warm Up Winchester’. Because I’m on a tight budget and can’t always donate cash. But I can do something. Everyone can.

  2. Jessica says:

    hmmmm. I volunteer because I am married to a soldier. It is kind of expected of us, but i also do truly enjoy it and i get a lot out of it.
    There is something satisfying about giving back to our military community, even though i do not do anything too huge. I guess for the most part i do what i do because i enjoy being around the other people who feel the same way i do.

  3. Sue says:

    I’m with you. I’ve always thought that being active in some way makes one a good citizen or just a better person. I don’t care for titles much unless they’re in dog events.

  4. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – I always think this doesn’t apply to me, but you know I’ve donated my time and talents to girl scouts for years. I help with knitting wherever I can. I don’t do organized volunteer events – but I do give time and talent where I can. Adopting and spoiling soldiers for example.

    Thanks for the reminder. g

  5. Been a big fan of the time, talents, treasures idea for a long time. Like you, though, I don’t much accept the titles out there. Philanthropist…a people lover….I think that describes you quite well…other than can-anthropist….dog lover!

Leave a Reply

