Think Small!!

Don’t forget that tomorrow is Small Business Saturday

To help you out, I’m going to share some of my favorites, all of which are almost sure to have a local counterpart in your area, but before I do that…

If you didn’t click over, all you need to know is that while black friday seems to be about the big box, national chains and their ridiculous deals to get you out of bed and in their stores at insane hours of the morning, Small Business Saturday is just a simple campaign to support small businesses.  All you have to do is wander into your local not-national chain coffee house and buy your favorite drink, or slip into your favorite local small business and make any purchase…

So.  My favorites!  All have an online presence, so even if you’re not from podunk, you can shop like a native… 

Rock Paper Scissors.   If you are so on the ball you already have all the holiday cards and such you need, you can still snag cute note cards or note pads from your own local spot for someone(s) on your list!  Or here’s an idea… return address stamps?

 

Towle 2010 Bell

Chimney Corner.  Every town has one… a cute gift shop!   Ornaments are always fun to give and receive.  One of my friends collects bells… 

The Pink Palm, which is of course, my locally owned Lilly Pulitzer store.  Yes, some department stores carry some Lilly P., but I like the personal service at my local boutique.  (Plus… podunk is short on department stores and selection.)

Naturally, no list would be complete with something for the fur-girls.  Sammy Snacks is our favorite (also available at some of your local pet shops or via Amazon)… so don’t forget to support your local pet shops too.

Of course, there’s always Etsy, your local yarn, fabric or other hobby shop…

What small business(es) are you supporting?

16 comments on “Think Small!!

  1. gMarie says:

    I managed to poke my head into a Lily P shop in Annapolis. If only I could remember which scarf colors I liked I totally would have bought one. I think we might do some yarn shopping today and sight seeing – need to run up the Rocky steps, tomorrow The Boy comes to town and we have to turn our car in.

    Hope you are having a grand time shopping locally 😉 g

  2. Mary says:

    Won’t be shopping tomorrow as I am “leaving on a jet plane.” Yippie!! But normally we do try to shop at small local store when possible. And if you think Podunk is short of shopping, you would be delighted to know that there are only two (small) national box stores in my entire county.

  3. kathy b says:

    LOved your picks…the Pank Palm is new to me. I am going to try to get to a local shop called LIZ art tomorrow before I sleep for my last night shift in a month ….I’m getting so excited for the break! let’s hope my tolerance level doens’t go down..
    sometimes before a break, I can’t tolerate any shinanigins at work whatsoever!

  4. AlisonH says:

    Cutting and pasting from an email from a shop in South San Francisco: We would like to thank you for shopping at Cottage Yarns and supporting our small
    business throughout the year.
    American Express has a special offer to its cardholders to celebrate Small Business
    Saturday on November 26th.
    Log on to facebook.com/shopsmall or the Amex website to pre-register your Card.
    Get a one-time $25 statement credit when you pre-register an eligible American Express
    OPEN Card and use that card for a purchase of $25 or more at a local small business
    like Cottage Yarns on November 26th.

    I hope this helps the LYSs! Though I don’t know how many take AmEx.

  5. Barbara says:

    Great reminder, Chan. There’s the most adorable card shop in nearly Delray Beach. I will make certain I visit tomorrow!

  6. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m wanting to try a new place in town called The Flying Pig. It’s supposedly a little gift shop that also sells home-brewing supplies and local-ish wines. 🙂

  7. Sue says:

    We’ll probably hit a local pet supply store, then home to shop at Etsy. I’m spoiled by shopping online and don’t like to shop in person anymore.

  8. Barbara S. says:

    Well, I’m hoping for a gift shop at the Bell Museum (http://www.bellmuseum.umn.edu/) since that is where we are planning on spending a fair portion of tomorrow. We are also going to dinner at a restaurant that is locally owned and specializes in using products from local (mostly organic) farmers. So I am guessing we have it covered for tomorrow.
    We just had a new LYS open and I got some yarn from them opening day to make a hat for our hat/mitten tree and may be back for more from them.

  9. Here’s one of my fav local businesses…
    http://www.thegiftedpenguin.com/ though I don’t expect to be shopping tomorrow…I will get there before Christmas. Wish we had local Lilly P.

  10. Dianne says:

    Small businesses are truly the backbone of our economy!

  11. Nichole says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a great little mix of hot spots there. Of course, I’m jealous you have Sammy Snacks so close!

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I’m done shopping! 🙂

  13. gypsyknits says:

    Nice picks. No shopping here this year but if I could, you can bet it would be small business :).

  14. Louise says:

    No shopping for me either but these sound like some GREAT choices! Hope you had a wonderful and tasty Thanksgiving!!! Happy Tuesday!!!

  15. Blond Duck says:

    Hope you got back safely!

Leave a Reply

