Beach Babies

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and December 1. 

photo.JPG

We escaped to the beach for a little vacation.   That’s my favorite photo of the bunch.  The glare of the sun, the warmth of the sand, the foam on the shoreline… 

photo.JPGGretchen shared her thoughts on our beach time.   I’m pretty sure Sissy’s thoughts center around shrimp tails with every meal and DON’T LET THE WAVES TOUCH ME!   She loves to walk on the shore, but she tends to stick to the dune side while Gretchen likes to be right at the water’s edge in pursuit of the birds.   Sissy does enjoy sand crab hunting with the Knight, but he didn’t join us for beach walks this time.

photo.JPGWe’re very thankful to have a place to retreat, relax, recharge and restore our bodies and spirits.   I know some of you don’t understand why I don’t travel, but maybe there’s something to the zodiac stuff; I am a Cancer and I am a homebody.  We have a rather perfect little get-away spot that feels rather like home, so… that’s where we go to get away.

I’m also very thankful for the private, unexpected doggy lesson a nice lady gave us on the beach.   Gretchen’s anxiety breaks my heart, and clearly… we aren’t doing so well at managing it on our own.  The time spent with the nice lady and her gentle, patient pack was well-spent, and Gretchen wasn’t so yappy and insecure for the rest of our stay.  She’s even doing better on our walks at home when one of the neighborhood dogs with no sense of boundaries rushes at us. 

Today marks the start of the holiday party season for me.  I love a cookie swap, don’t you?  Maybe I’ll remember to take photos at home and can tell you what I baked another day…

What are you thankful for today?

17 comments on “Beach Babies

  1. gMarie says:

    Your beach looks relaxing and as much as I love exploring new parts of the country – there is nothing like being at a place “like home” without all the expectations of home. I get it and if I had a place….

    Oh – so glad you found some helpful advice about the wee one. Glad it seems to be helping.

    I’m thinking next year I might try and coordinate a cookie exchange party – I should be able to get 6 gals together and we all bake 7 dozen cookies – right? g

  2. Katherine says:

    The fur-girls look so peaceful in the sun and surf! Hard to believe that the JRT hyper-instincts come out in such a calming place, but I know that Macy would also react to other dogs and noises even on the beach. She likes for Daddy to hold her when the surf roars! Actually, Gretchen and Sissy appear to be enjoying it. So glad that you enjoyed your time away.

  3. britknitter says:

    LOVE that first picture of your girls enjoying some beach time!

  4. AlisonH says:

    Beautiful pictures… I do love me some good beach time too.

  5. Kristyn says:

    I am also a cancer and am a complete homebody as well. Your beach getaway is like our cabin the the woods in the Upper Penninsula of Michigan. It’s my home away from home.

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    How restful your time away looks and sounds!!! Also how nice if her advice can help Gretchen overcome her anxiety – dog walking will be so much more enjoyable for everyone 🙂 Outsiders often can have a better perspective than we do on what’s going on.

    A cookie swap!!!! Do share your fav recipes and take lots of pictures :))))

  7. kathy b says:

    wow. I love the beach images. HUCK loved the beach so very much. I like going to the same place for my vacations too. It is a comfort thing for me.
    DO show us cookies and share us some recipes…I’m a cookie flunkie but i LOVE to eat them

  8. StarSpry says:

    These are great pictures…your first one is just beautiful! It’s nice to have such an enjoyable place that you can go year after year on vacation.

    A cookie swap sounds yummy! I love all the fun decorations and kinds of cookies this time of year.

    I’m thankful to have Nathan and my kitties in my life 🙂

  9. Marjie says:

    Hooray for the kindness of a stranger with your little girl! A week of R&R before the start of the holiday circus is just what you needed. And your pictures are lovely. Welcome back; hope your desk isn’t too overloaded.

  10. Louise says:

    Just as I imagined, Chan, Glorious!

    I’ve seen a few cookie swaps online already. Tis time, I suppose. I’m thinking I may focus on cut out cookies this year. They’re such fun! Sunday is National Cookie Day so I’ll be dragging out the ol’ rolling pin, if I can find it.

    Thankful? Today I am thankful I was able to buy my grand-daughter her holiday dress! Yes, the same one we all liked:)

  11. gypsyknits says:

    So serene. Glad you and your family enjoyed the relaxing holiday :D..

  12. Sue says:

    It would be nice to have a quiet stroll on the beach with my dogs, but they go nuts about the water, chasing waves, chasing birds, digging for crabs and barking for someone to throw the disc into the water for them to retrieve. Living with water dogs can be a noisy, busy affair. Still I’d love to be walking on the beach.

  13. Amy says:

    Today, I’m thankful to have my life back now that November is over. NaNoWriMo is over, Christmas knitting is done. I can do nothing, should I so choose!

  14. Happiness is….a walk on the beach and a wonderful surprise “lesson” from a kind former stranger. Good for you all! I’m thankful that Daniel returns to us in only 10 more days!

  15. Jessica says:

    Love those beach photos!
    I used to be a homebody, but Jason really brings out the wanderlust in me. i still like to return to favorite places we have been, but he loves nothing more than exploring new places.
    If i had a place on the OBX, you can bet i would go there as much as i possibly could!!! Nothing better than a getaway vacation spot that is ALWAYS there, just waiting for you!

  16. Blond Duck says:

    I wanted to host a Christmas cookie party!

  17. Nichole says:

    I haven’t been to a cookie swap in ages… would love to do one! LOVE that first photo of the girls on the beach – absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

