Holiday Heritage Parade

Okay.  I’ll admit it.  Even with my intent to suffer through the parade with a smile, I had a blast!!   But before I wax poetic about my new parade love, pop over and read about Sissy’s vet visit Friday evening and about a cause we’re promoting. 

I’m giving the bassets part of the credit.  While waiting for the rest of my group to arrive, of course I was drawn to the BROOD bassets assembling in the grass…

photo.JPG

All of the floats in this little parade were golf carts.   I couldn’t get over the BROOD float, and I only wish I hadn’t had obligations of my own so I could have done nothing but take photos of the dogs!

photo.JPGThe bassets weren’t the only cute pooches on parade.  I don’t know the group’s name and this sad photo was snapped as we rolled through the parade route, but these resting Bernese Mountain Dogs were pulling the cart filled with stuffies!!  It was really cute… 

Maybe next year, I can talk the Knight or my brother inlaw or someone into going and doing nothing but taking photos of all the cute doggies?

AfwYMuxCAAAAh7k

We even had a canine elf in our group.  (S)he was so well-behaved and quiet (the bassets weren’t silent of course) I barely knew (s)he was there.  

Oh — and while not all of the photos were taken by me, all were taken on iPhones.  Evidently, Apple is missing a marketing campaign…  I’m sure not all of us have iPhones, but I know everyone I snagged photos from did.   While I’m issuing disclaimers, although I did help de-decorate the float, our wonderful volunteers/members did the wrapping and decorating of our float.  I just showed up, pulled on a Santa hat and smiled and waved and returned the assorted holiday greetings shouted out to us as we meandered down the parade route.

photo.JPG

In fact, do note the iPhone in Madam President’s hand… (and her hand-knit scarf… she’s a knitter too).

Don’t tell anyone, but I’m actually already looking forward to next year’s parade and pondering what I could do other than wearing red and a Santa hat. 

How was your weekend?

12 comments on “Holiday Heritage Parade

  1. gMarie says:

    Cute pics! I love them. my weekend seemed short and exhausting. Decided what to get JB for Christmas, now to do the research (procrastinate much?). Have counted the number of sewing days left, but have not made a list – I really should. It’s Monday and I’m struggling to hold my eyes open – how does that happen?

    g

  2. AlisonH says:

    I’m having sudden unexpected visions of glowing bows to my car to make peoples’ faces light up, because your pictures are so much fun.

  3. Nancy says:

    Nothing like a parade to brighten everyone’s day, especially when cute dogs are added to the line-up.

  4. Katherine says:

    Looks like a grand parade!! The bassets and kids are so cute I hope they all received a cuteness award!

  5. Sue says:

    That looked like a fun parade. The Basset-mobile was especially interesting. Other breeds should take note.

  6. Kathy says:

    Saturday I met a unique mix at the dog park: half basset, half pug. HIs name was Rolo and it fit the chunk very well. What a cutie!

    There was also a Sissy. She was a Spuds Mackenzie type of dog, not sure what that breed is called.

    Over Thanksgiving I went to the parade of lights in my hometown. I was surprised to see at least three groups of dogs (and their people) participating. Everyone was so well behaved.

  7. kathy b says:

    Awwww. a thoroughly enjoyable post. You look so cute! The images captured the light heartedness of it all.
    My WEEKEND without work was so nice. Baked for the holidays.
    Knitting at a nice relaxed pace

  8. Marjie says:

    Wear more red! Like Mrs. Claus, only younger and prettier!

    You know my stove woes. But I did get to try them out!

  9. Amy says:

    I love the photos! What a fun parade!!!

  10. gypsyknits says:

    Great pictures. I enjoy parades, they’re so much fun. Love love love the basset ‘float’ 🙂

  11. britknitter says:

    What fun! Love all the doggie participation!

  12. Nichole says:

    Oh what fun it is to ride… in a one-horse-open-kart!

Leave a Reply

