Favorite of the Moment

So.  I’m still two FULL finished object reports behind, and with another item coming off the needles soon…  You’re going to get this one now because I have a few photos.  If you want more photos of the actual item, you’ll have to wait until I get around to taking said photos and doing a post for another blog…

December 2011 005

I present to you my Pewter Capelet

Pattern:  Cranberry Capelet.   Note to designers, since I’m blessed to know a few are regular readers…  I’m not sure naming an item after a specific color is ideal.  I love the original cranberry-colored capelet, but I’m late to the party on this one and I’ve seen beauties in every color. 

December 2011 002Maybe it wouldn’t bother me so much if I wasn’t a cranberry fan, and I happen to know the only way one gets grey cranberries is to let them mold.  Ewwwww…

Anyhow, the pattern itself is fabulous.  I did have two noteworthy alterations.  Because I am petite and cannot STAND anything too snug too high on my neck, I only knitted that first section (the ribbed neck) to 7 inches on a #8 needle.   I also ended the final chart on row #13 because again… I’m petite and I wanted the cape to hit my arms as the designer suggested.

Yarn:   Also a new favorite, Stonehenge Fiber Mill’s Shepherd’s Wool in pewter.  I can’t say enough about this yarn.  Soft, sproingy, and I felt it was a true worsted weight.   Of course, you can find it in many, MANY colors at Dog House Yarns.

December 2011 003Needles:  I used a #8 circular for the neck, and a #7 circular for the body.  You definitely want the longest circular in your set for this one.  I used a 60″ cable and had enough room to feel secure putting the knitting aside.

Verdict:  I’ve worn it twice and I adore it!!  If I make it again with the same yarn, I’ll probably do one needle size smaller for each section so I can block the item.  I didn’t block this one at all and I think the ribbing will “pop” more if blocked…

Sorry for the lack of variety in photos.  I snapped these with the self-timer last week before I headed out to work, so you get the morning sun shadows and a glimpse at Gretchen the ever-present.

Holiday parties abound.   What’s on your weekend agenda?

19 comments on “Favorite of the Moment

  1. gMarie says:

    hopefully a trip to the botanical gardens for the holiday lights, poker, and decorating. I happen to know that this particular designer names her patterns for drinks – does that help? g

    ps – love the cape. I do think I want to knit it again because I think mine is a wee bit short.

  2. Kathy says:

    LOVE the capelet! You did a fantastic job! Isn’t that the greatest pattern? I really like the color you picked. It’s very versatile. Another successful knitting project!

  3. Marjie says:

    Cute capelet! The first picture shows that you’ve lost weight thanks to the girls’ walking program for you, and I’m glad to see Gretchen helping you model in the second picture. Have fun at your parties this weekend.

    PS: I gave your stoneware pan a rave review along with my new stove review today. Maybe others will come and buy them.

  4. Jessica says:

    very cute! i love it, and the color is great!!!

  5. Sue says:

    That looks so cute. I’ve had my eye on a similar pattern for awhile and now I’ll definitely put it on my list.

    Quiet weekend at home infirmary. This morning Tsar presented with a painful leg. Wish I knew what was going on.

  6. Barbara says:

    You look adorable!!! And skinny! 🙂
    I love the capelet. It never ceases to amaze me what a talented knitter you are…wish I could do it!

  7. Nancy says:

    I am not a fan of capes, but this caplet is adorable. Your pattern enhancements are perfect.

  8. kathy b says:

    Oh so fun to see that wonderful capelet. WOW I love al the details. Have a fun party weekend. Im laying low and being LAZY and knitting…..its the workend OFF

  9. Lovely knit and model! I would like a caplet, but not a tutle neck…must go looking for patterns. Tonight, incredibly, a party! I’m not sure I can remember the last time we partied. Sunday…Daniel comes home! NOthing else really matters for a while after that one…:-)

  10. AlisonH says:

    Love it! And I love that Stonehenge yarn; with apologies to my niece that it wasn’t superwash, I knit her newborn twins hats out of it recently. It was soft enough to pass that kind of muster with me.

  11. Susan, says:

    FABULOUS!!!

  12. StarSpry says:

    Your capelet is beautiful!!

  13. Mr. Puffy says:

    I LOVE this!!!! What a cute and perfect caplet :))) I hear you on naming patterns based on color – so limiting and not a good idea IMHO either – LOL

  14. Blond Duck says:

    You must twirl in the capelet!

  15. Bonnie says:

    LOVE it! I adore capes and capelets and this one looks fantastic on you!

  16. Nichole says:

    I love it – and it looks FABulous on you!

  17. Love it!! it looks so great on you!

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    It looks gorgeous and very much suits you. 😀 Great job!

Leave a Reply

