Fa La La La Blah…

I’m trying to stay in the Christmas spirit, but it isn’t working so well.  I need to ship a couple of gifts and will have to make that happen later this week, somehow… 

Please hold Uncle’s wife and her family in your thoughts and prayers.  One of her cousins lost his brief battle with cancer last night.   He was an avid sportsman and while I hear he intimidated some, I am grateful for having known him.  I’ll remember his laughter and his kindness when I was a duck out of water…  and that’s how I came to know him, years before I married his cousin’s nephew by marriage.

Courtesy of Martha Stewart

I wish I had photos from my weekend festivities.  The tree Friday night was trimmed in part with clothespin ornaments the hostess’s mother had made.  They were delightful and it was fun to hear the stories behind what rembrance each one served to preserve.   Sadly, Keswick Hall doesn’t have up much in the way of holiday photos, but it was beautiful too. 

Ironically, I had to stop tippy-typing this post to help MJ hang large acrylic snowflakes in the windows by my desk.  Hem.   I hope the people who drive by appreciate her attempts to decorate, because the scrooges within sure don’t. 

December 2011 002

At home, there’s a wreath on the door only because the League sold them this year and I’m just allergic enough to the resin that the thing couldn’t live in my car a second longer than it took to get it home, so up it went.  Luckily, we have a nice, covered front porch because that was the night of the flooding.  (There was also a brisk wind, and thus… the bow’s “legs” are all over the place.)  The fur-girls assisted, which is to say, the project took four times longer for the “Sissy, no”s and the “Gretchen, leave it!”s.

Do you decorate for the holidays?  Inside and out?

 

15 comments on “Fa La La La Blah…

  1. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – I have a wreath on the front door and one box of lights outside. Inside I have more – I hung the tackiest wreath in the front window – it’s silver holographic something and I love it! I also added a little table of “stuff” this year – including a silver spiral tree with bells and a santa plate. My reindeer are out and the stockings are hung.

    Love those closepin ornaments and there is just something about men that makes them grinches – don’t know what it is though. Frustrating! g

  2. Sue says:

    We always had a wreath on the door, but we have n doors and I don’t want to hang anything on them. I usually put wreaths on the fence gates, but this year I just don’t have the spirit. Rob asked if I wanted to put trees up, but with so many injured dogs I don’t have the energy to keep reminding everyone to leave them alone and don’t run near the trees. See, I told you the Grinch was living here. Turns out it’s me.

  3. Nancy says:

    I used to decorate a LOT, but in recent years not so much. No tree this year, but some token decorations here and there in the house. Outside a Santa banner and some greenery. I’m calling it good this year.

  4. Bridget says:

    Um, our house is decorated to the hilt … we can’t help ourselves!

  5. Katherine says:

    We have a wreath on the door and a few decorations sprinkled around the house but no tree. The tree is sitting in the garage waiting but the last two weeks have been whirlwind–three family birthdays, Christmas shopping, wrapping and packing for mailing to Chicago, etc. I think the tree may stay in the garage this year!!

    It seems odd that with no tree in the house I feel more festive than I have in many years. When I play Christmas music Macy and Max sing for us. “Whooo, whoooo, whooo”. It doesn’t get any better!!

  6. Mary says:

    Thank goodness for DS who not only went out and bought us a new pre-lit tree which is so much less overwhelming than the old one, but he put it up and decorated it, too (with a very little help from me). He put on Christmas music via pandora and his iphone connected to our stereo system (gotta love the techies). Wreath on the front door, (fake) greens on the stairway, mantle decorated; that’s it. I still don’t have the spirit, but at least the house looks the part.

  7. AlisonH says:

    When we’re really good at it, we hang the sets of faux boughs across the family room and living room that have the Christmas bells playing music in them. But it’s a ton of work to find them, untangle them, hang them, and later put them away and it doesn’t happen all that often. Note that I’m putting myself deliberately on the spot here.

  8. Marjie says:

    Do we decorate? You remember the census of my house, right? I’m thinking of having Dan hang a wreath out my attic window (which requires actual tools – like a screw gun – to open). The boys will put wreaths on the gates. And, of course, the tree. That said, I am not ready. Very not ready.

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Hi there! Look at me, commenting and all that. 😉 Definitely keeping your family in my thoughts. I’m sorry to hear of the loss.

    We decorated a couple weekends ago. I never enjoy the process, but I do enjoy the results. The house always looks so much cozier and pretty with all the lights and bows.

  10. Barbara says:

    Good heavens! I remember making those clothespin people! Must have been interesting to say the least to see her collection.

    Sorry to hear about the loss in your family….

    As you know, we’re leaving town. But still, a wreath is up and lots of greens around the house to make up for no tree. 🙂

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry about your loss.

    Watch White Christmas. That’ll help. And twirl in your caplet!

  12. Kristyn says:

    We put up a tree, the nativity my grandmother made for me and a few snowmen figurines but that’s it.

  13. Ruth says:

    I decorate inside and out, but not to the nth degree. (unlike me neighbors) Garland and white lights on the stair-rail, tree in the living room, a few items in the dining room, and nativites in the entry hall. Back of the house? Devoid of all Christmas. Outside….white lights…only on the edge of the roof…I’ll try to show pics of the zoos that are my neighbors yards. 🙂

  14. gypsyknits says:

    Cancer 😦 Keeping everyone in prayer

  15. Nichole says:

    My decorations were VERY low key this year.. .in fact we didn’t even get our tiny little table top tree up until Sunday night before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

