Infusing the holiday spirit

DSCN2266

Christmas '08

Some of you know I’m a fan of “fake it ’til you make it” when it comes to attitude.  I try to be cheerful or at least pleasant, no matter what’s going on in my life.  Unfortunately, that rule comes into play at holiday time too.  I’m not one of the people who loves Christmas – or Halloween, 4th of July, etc. – but I *DO* love Christmas music.

Amy asked about favorite holiday tunes a few days ago, so here is what’s on my Christmas playlist: 

  1. Sugarland’s Nuttin’ for Christmas – I joke that this is Sissy’s Christmas theme song, but y’all know she’s really a good enough girl, and even if she was rotten-hairy-awful, she’d still get plenty for Christmas.
  2. Glee’s We Need a Little Christmas – Like Sugarland’s Green & Gold, I love this whole album, but this version of this song is definitely my favorite.   
  3. O Holy Night – Hands down my favorite, by any artist.
  4. Gene Autry’s Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer – Why yes, I do have an inner six year old, thank you!
  5. Burl Ives’ Holly Jolly Christmas – Clearly, the artists of my childhood remain favorites.
  6. Bing Crosby’s White Christmas –  This is where I confess I’ve NEVER watched this movie, not in its entirety.  I plan to fix that this weekend.
  7. Sleigh Ride – Any instrumental, but I *LOVE* to hear a high school band play it.   Ah… memories!
  8. ALL of ’em!! 

Okay, there are exceptions.  I can’t stand Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer or anything sung in a fake child (or chipmunk) voice…

What are your holiday favorites?  When do you start listening to Christmas music?  When do you stop?

16 comments on “Infusing the holiday spirit

  1. gMarie says:

    I don’t start regularly listening until after Thanksgiving – but occassionally I’ll listen in July! My favorites, Um I pretty much love them all – with the exception of the ones you mentioned! Hate the chipmunks! And I hate Santa Baby! Don’t know why. g

  2. Mary says:

    I like the following Christmas albums by these artists because of the memories they evoke: Perry Como, Barbra Streisand, The Carpenters (I was young then.. but I still like this album), Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, etc, etc. Don’t listen to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving. Play it all day Christmas Eve & Day, but never a minute the day after. Probably have about 15 or more Christmas CDs (even in the original LPs format in some cases). What can I say? I’m old.

  3. Marjie says:

    I really love the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. Confessions being required, however, I rarely listen to any kind of music, Christmas or otherwise. I listen to the din of my household instead. It makes me happy.

  4. Amy says:

    I cringe at fake child voices in songs. But I do love ‘Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer’.

    I’m with you on ‘Holly Jolly Christmas’; one of my favs!

  5. Sue says:

    I probably prefer instrumentals especially when I’m on the computer. I find myself distracted by spoken words when I’m trying to think.

    I love Greensleeves, and Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas can make me cry.

    Strangely, this year I find myself singing Tsar’s version of Let It Snow from last winter. he’s my favorite singer.

  6. AlisonH says:

    I need to turn on the music. Somehow I’ve been so busy I’d forgotten–thank you…

  7. Kathy says:

    Christmas music should be played after Thanksgiving, never before! I have tons of favorites and own many Christmas CDs, though I’ve not bought anything new this year. Maybe I’ll get Carole King this weekend.

    Last night I was listening to Sirius 75 on the way home from a holiday event. It was kind of choral, kind of classical, more spiritual than Santa Claus. It was really relaxing.

  8. Kristyn says:

    Oh Holy Night is my absolute favorite as well. If I never hear I Want a Hippopotomus for Christmas again I will be happy.

  9. Jessica says:

    I have a few favorite Christmas albums…Andy Williams (my FAVE), Randy Travis, and Amy Grant.
    Jason loves O Holy Night, his absolute favorite.

  10. Nancy says:

    “Silver Bells” is by far my favorite Christmas song. I do, however, love anything by Mannheim Steamroller.

  11. Katherine says:

    My favorite is Carol of the Bells (which I was listening to a few minutes ago on Pandora). I feel the same about the chipmunks singing. Is that supposed to be funny??

  12. StarSpry says:

    I love Trans-Siberian Orchestra! Really I love most Christmas music, although I don’t like the songs by The Beach Boys. A local radio station plays only Christmas music from Thanksgiving to Christmas, so that’s what I listen to at work 🙂 Christmas day is usually the last day I’ll listen to Christmas music.

  13. O Holy Night always reminds me of Home Alone! Love them both!

  14. Carol says:

    I also love Christmas music. I start listening right after Thanksgiving and it continues until New Year.
    LOL you would not like my voice. It’s very squeaky and high pitched. On Star will not recognize it.
    When I was working, years ago, I used to go on rounds with one of the doctors. He would always say were on, and then after that’s show buz.
    That’s kind of how I am. I try to make the most of every day but if I know it’s going to be rough I say to myself… I’m on and that’s show buz.. I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year ♥

  15. Ruth says:

    Huge fan of Christmas music, which I don’t put on until after Thanksgiving. I have so many cd’s its sinful. Manheim Steamroller, Bing Crosby, JOhn Denver, Celtic Christmas, Kathy Mattea, Glen MIller (Christmas In The Mood!)…how can one choose a favorite? Possible favortie song…Still, Still, Still….insturmental is so beautiful.

  16. gypsyknits says:

    We Three Kings, White Christmas and TSO are my faves. I start listening in October and end in January.

    Haven’t watched White CHristmas? You really do need to fix that this weekend ;).

Leave a Reply

