Pets and Presents

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday to you.  Gretchen has a silly little post for you over on the fur-girls’ blog…

Me?  I want to know if pets impact your present choices.  They do for me!  In our family, the pets give and receive Christmas presents, and when I wrapped up my hostess gift for last night’s fete, Gretchen insisted that I needed to take something for the canine host… so I did.  (Don’t tell her, but I’d planned it all along.) 

I should have thought to snap a photo of the debonaire Sarge for you… but I didn’t.  He’s a very handsome, friendly airedale.  He and Sissy both love the treats I found at Land’s End, but Gretchen isn’t sure about them just yet. 

Do you have any unexpected sources for dog or dog lover gifts?   Since I’m positive the Knight doesn’t read my blog, I’ll also share that I found a great line of dog-themed “-opoly” games.  (Disclaimer – I’ve never done business with the vendor I linked to… that’s just where I found an on-line representation of the selection of breeds.  I found the games at a local pet boutique…)

Thankful Thursday?  It’s a bullet list kind of day:

  • Hostess-friend who knows what I’ll want to drink without asking
  • Cute dog-host who opens his own gifts politely
  • Doggy personal trainers who don’t care if it’s raining or dark and don’t cut me any slack
  • My supportive husband
  • ALL of my girlfriends
  • Pretty wrapping paper
  • Ribbons
  • Friends & relations who don’t notice the dog hair in the tape on pretty packages

What are you thankful for today?

17 comments on “Pets and Presents

  1. gMarie says:

    sweet post! One of my favorite gifts is a large trashcan / hydrant shaped dog treat bucket. It came filled with cookies – for dogs! And it’s bright red.

    I actually did a thankful list today! so I’m not going to do it again here 😛

    g

  2. Mary says:

    What? Don’t people realize that dog hair in the tape IS part of the decoration? Today I am thankful for…YOU reminding me to be thankful. It is so easy not to keep that thought out front as one goes through the day…esp when doing the daily commute to/from DC. 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    Yes, friends pets get gifts from us. There are so many great places to find special pet themed gifts, but when all else fails, I can always find something on Cafe Press.

    You mean there is tape without hair?

  4. Jessica says:

    Definitely thankful for the little things today. henry nudging me with his nose, and then wagging his tail when i look down at him. He knows that it does not take much to make me happy these days, and those loving, big brown eyes, and wagging tail are just the thing.

  5. Anita says:

    I always try to include little gifts for pets when I send something, if I know what they like or can have. 🙂
    Tell Sissy I’d send her some nannas but I don’t think they will fare very well in the postal system. LOL

  6. Ruth says:

    Greatful that…1 son is home and another will be home in a week….and that a repeat diagnostic set of tests done today had good results and need not be repeated again for a whole year….and for the pellet stove now blowing warm air into my home while looking cheery at the same time!

  7. kathy b says:

    Oh that pet hair on the tape!! you make me laugh. I LOVE dog and cat presents. I must get more for the felines here…… a new kind of crazy cat tower of the SMALLEST size was just brought early from Santa Paws to the cats here……
    Bea thinks the tree is HIS new toy

  8. Mr. Puffy says:

    I think a spa treatment is nice for a pampered pet (Happy Tails Spa: http://www.happytailsspa.net/OurProductsindex.html). Or an over the top doggie bakery goodie is well received too (Three Dog Bakery ships). I’m thankful for….good health for myself and loved ones!

  9. Amy Darsie says:

    I purchased some local dog treats for the elderly woman that I am spoiling for Christmas. Local and the treats are gluten free.

    BTW – first comment from my phone. Squee!

  10. AlisonH says:

    My 24 hour old new grandniece. Beautiful, beautiful.

  11. Barbara says:

    I like your thankful list, Chan!
    (Christmas songs: aside from anything done by Mannheim Steamroller, I love Baby It’s Cold Outside, the Dolly Parton and Rod Stewart version)
    As much as I love animals, I am thankful NOT to be getting a visit from my daughter’s cat. 🙂

  12. Blond Duck says:

    The Babies have their own stockings!

  13. Katherine says:

    I had a good laugh over the fur in the tape! Macy’s hair goes with me where ever I go. Love me, love my dog fur!

    Macy sniffs out her gifts under the tree and leaves all the others alone. She also knows which stocking is hers. I think the dog treat smells are a dead giveaway!

  14. AlisonH says:

    By the way, my sister-in-law’s pets made me think twice, but I knit her a mink scarf anyway. Crossing my fingers and hoping the cats and dogs and I don’t think I have to worry about the turtles and I think there are birds and there used to be a ferret and and and.

    Right. Mink casa su casa.

  15. Carol says:

    I enjoyed reading your post. Right now I’m thankful Charli is feeling a little better. She sounded raspy this morning but now is curled up with my hubby and seems to be doing better.
    Yes, Sophie, Peeper, and Charli all spend Christmas Eve together at our house. They all get a gift too. Charli is not big on treats so she gets toys as does Peeper and Sophie. Our dogs are family. They bring us such joy and love as I know yours do as well.

  16. Blond Duck says:

    I’m Thankful for you and your friendship! 🙂

    Your sussy will be more of a New Year’s gift…

  17. Nichole says:

    Having sent lots of dog hair stuck in tape on the prettiest of packages for years, I absolutely LOVE that last one! 🙂
    And yes, the Lapdogs do give and receive gifts… in fact, they had more packages from the inlaws under the tree this year than I did!

Leave a Reply

