Longest Night

The winter solstice actually happens at 0530 tomorrow.   That’s good news, because dusk has been dictating when we end our doggy walkies of late.   Louise does the best posts, blending history and tradition and lore… 

October 2010 003

Still waiting to be plied...

Frau Holle would be angry at my home then.   The fiber on my wheel is almost two years old and has been spun on two different wheels.  Hem.   (Actually, I can’t even find a photo of the fiber I’m STILL spinning… oh well.)

While my heritage is exclusively English, Irish and Scottish, I enjoy learning about other traditions.  I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of Frau Holle before and find it amusing that I found her, not through spinning or knitting, but through a friend’s food blog.  Of course, Louise’s regular readers know it’s MUCH more than a food blog, and I happen to know that her housemate is an avid crocheter…

Several of my friends celebrate both Hanukkah and Christmas.  What do you celebrate this time of year?

13 comments on “Longest Night

  1. kari says:

    I have a friend that is part of a witch thing and she celebrates the solstice and its been interesting over the years to hear about it.

  2. gMarie says:

    I have a friend who celebrates all the solstices – I think it’s spring when she hangs slices of citrus in her windows – as they dry they become beautiful suncatchers as they dry out.

    Me – I’m about as bad at celebrating as they come. Seriously!

    Love that fiber – take your time. It will grow up when it’s ready. 🙂 g

  3. Nancy says:

    Your spinning looks great to me, too.

    I look forward to Winter solstice and the gradual increase in daylight.

  4. bubblesknits says:

    I’d heard of her, but only last year. She’d be most displeased with my house, too. 😉

  5. AlisonH says:

    The birds know the solstices. Their behavior changes enough to notice. I’m convinced the coming of this one prompted my more-shy female Cooper’s to announce her territory by coming in close to the birdfeeders, thus giving me a close view.

    Merry Christmas!

  6. Amy says:

    My dear friend, Tina, is Pagan and celebrates Yule every year.

    Me, I’m just boring. Give me Christmas. 🙂

  7. Sue says:

    I guess I’m more of a Solstice celebrator than anything else, though I’ll celebrate with anyone whatever they wish to celebrate.

    I tend to take the parts I like best of various celebrations and combine them into my own special holiday.

  8. Marjie says:

    We celebrate Christmas, birthdays, and whatever else happens to arrive. I’m just not a big celebrator, appearances to the contrary notwithstanding. I just like to make it fun for the others in my house! (And I assure you I’ll sleep like 16 hours on the 26th.

  9. Kathy says:

    Interesting, that Frau Holle. According to your Wikipedia link, she: is never cross unless she discovers disorder in household affairs. Oh no, I’m afraid I’m disordered usually.

    I celebrate Christmas and it’s also birthday season in my family (Mom, bro).

    Merry Christmas to you!

  10. kathy b says:

    I celebrate everything I can all year long…but truly Christmas is the DAY for me

  11. I had not hear of Frau Holle before, so thanks for the link. Most interesting. Right now, we get Advent and Channukah, with Christmas falling right in the middle of the eight days this year! As to celebrating…I’m celebrating life, with all its good and bad…and that is a purposeful decision. 🙂

  12. Mary says:

    Decided after reading comments not to look up Frau Holle. 🙂 As for the spinning, I was reading a Finnish blog poster this morning and she said according to Finnish lore that you mustn’t spin from now to Christmas anyway. So there, you are off the hook. Will celebrate Christmas…though I could/should do a much better job of it.

  13. […] I hope that it is a good one for you, full of friends, food, and good hopes for the upcoming year.  Chan has a little blurb on her blog post from yesterday. The Oak King of the Winter […]

Leave a Reply

