Christmas tunes, cookies and paper cuts

Just a quick post as I procrastinate a little longer before diving back into my Christmas Eve tradtion of baking and wrapping and piping Christmas music throughout the house…  The Knight and a friend are out doing their traditional Christmas Eve shopping, so his presents will be the first to get wrapped.  That same friend always has Chinese for dinner with his family and watches “It’s a Wonderful Life” on Chrismtas Eve…

DSC01550

My favorite Nativity... even if it doesn't have a basset

What traditions make the holidays special for you?  I count on the chocolate in my cuticles and the Christmas music to get me in the spirit… and yes, I always waited until the last minute to write my term papers too.

Merry Christmas!

PS – Gretchen has her own take on my Christmas Eve morning routine.

15 comments on “Christmas tunes, cookies and paper cuts

  1. Sue says:

    When I was younger and living with my Mom and brothers and sister, we always made cookies and popcorn balls on the day before Christmas.

    Today most everything is done. I need to fill the dog’s toybox and I plan to make some more cookies. We’ll probably watch our favorite Christmas movie, The Nightmare Before Christmas and sip hot chocolate.

  2. Mary says:

    Traditions seem to be going by the wayside as family becomes more and more scattered. Will be going to church with DS later. Dinner tonight will be what fell out of the freezer when I opened the door (turkey cutlets) – so not much tradition there. We will have a roast beast and roast chicken with roasted veggies tomorrow (see the theme?). And Christmas crackers – the kind you pull apart to get the lousy toy and freaky hat. Sign of the times? DH had to show is driver”s license to buy the crackers because of the “gunpowder” in the snap! Oiy Vey. Merry Christmas to Haddon Woods inhabitants.

  3. gMarie says:

    Merry Christmas Girls! My Christmas Eve traditions are running around like a fool! I’m always surprised it’s here so soon! Tonight we will watch It’s a Wonderful Life and go to bed too late, then I’ll fill stockings and get up too early.

    I do have to make more almonds today to take to the neighbors – batches and batches of almonds.

    Hope the next couple of days fill you with peace and love. g

  4. Amy says:

    Chinese food for dinner! That’s fantastic.

    I hope that you have a wonderful Eve, and an even better Christmas!

  5. Nancy says:

    I have oyster stew and go to a candle-light service on Christmas Eve. Nothing says Christmas like Silent Night sung by the congregation with only candle-light in the church. It’s awesome!

  6. Enjoy your Christmas Eve tradtions! Today I’m making spiced pecans, wrapping presents and finishing up a knitted gift. Talk about procrastination! Have a very Merry Christmas 🙂

  7. Marjie says:

    The girls are baking bazillions of cookies and making a terrible mess of my kitchen…..but that’s OK. My little guy and dearly beloved are watching football on TV. The other boys are watching some movie or other. Wrapping? Not finished. Shopping had better be done, because the time is over. Merry Christmas, Chan and family!

  8. Anita says:

    I actually did laundry today. LOL. We’ve got Levi home & we are watching football. We’ll be having steaks for dinner & then gifts. Tomorrow we will head to G’boro. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!!

  9. AlisonH says:

    A buche de Noel and a Kringle from a Danish-immigrant-owned bakery. And besides my own younger two kids being home, at church today many of the grown kids of my friends that mine had grown up with were there.

    I had a good laugh with Keith, the young man we randomly ran into a month ago in Texas, with all of us stunned and going what are YOU doing here! And now he’s visiting his folks for the holiday.

  10. Traditions around here include Christmas Eve service followed by a drive to see “the lights”. I do this a lot, so maybe it is a tradition, too…which is to always be late mailing gifts and cards…does that count?

  11. Katherine says:

    Family gatherings always make this a special time for me. Our SIL’s family include us in their celebration so we gather at our house then move to theirs. It is a blessed day!! DH loves to shop on Christmas Eve too. Is that a man thing?

  12. kathy b says:

    Love the Nativity set!!!! Our ritual includes watching THe Muppet Christmas carol with our kids. I enjoy riding by a neighborhood that has luminarias all along the walks for miles.

  13. Nichole says:

    I long for a relaxing Christmas eve at home, baking and wrapping… but for the past 16 years, Christmas eve is in CT with Matt’s Mom’s side of the family. This year was by far the most relaxing yet, with just 6 of us there in total (far less than years past), however we still didn’t get home until 2am… YAWN!

  14. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you had a magical Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

