Wen-ebody?

Clearly, I’m going to carry 2 finished object reports into the New Year, along with a handful of UFOs – unfinished objects.  I was hoping to do one of those FO reports today, but I don’t like the photos and have already worn the item enough I need to make a minor repair, wash & block and try again… 

Anyway, our TV somehow decided that if I wasn’t going to watch Charmed re-runs yesterday evening, I should watch Phoebe – er, Alyssa Milano – on an infomercial.  It was for Wen hair care.  I’ve watched Wen on QVC and other infomercials before, and I’ve always been curious… but not convinced enough to pull the trigger. 

November 2011 003

A nice, frizzy example of my hair, ALMOST left to its own devices

Whom among you is a Wen girl?  I have fine hair, but a ton of it.  It is wavy at heart, but it’s long enough now it’s behaving… most days.  The problem is, my roots get greasy, and I’m not having any success with dry shampoos.  I’d like to not wash my hair every day, especially in the winter when my skin is desert-dry anyway.   Between color enhancement and heated styling, the ends are dry, so again…  I’d like to wash it less often.

December 2011 011

Good/healthy hair day

I also have a sulfates problem, not just because of the color I’d like to preserve.  I keep telling you, we live in podunk.  In this case, that means we have a well (three and three abandoned sites, but who’s counting?!) and a septic system.  The septic has had to be pumped once in my 16 years there (three days after the new heat pump was installed rather emergently, of course), and I’d like to get another 16 years out of it or more before we pump again.

Anyway, that’s my story and I’m hoping you have input.  While I adore Phoebe/Alyssa, I prefer fewer degrees of separation on recommendations.

This entry was posted in Beauty.

14 comments on “Wen-ebody?

  1. gMarie says:

    I have never heard of this at all and I love your hair in both pics. I don’t see a problem with either one. So sorry – I can’t fill in your separation gaps. g

  2. Mary says:

    I’m with gMarie…never heard of it so can’t help you on the product. Of course, I only wash my hair, maybe twice a week. My hair is as dry as my body. Prunella. That’s me.

  3. Jessica says:

    I have never used it, but my friend jen uses it, and it is AMAZING. I remember the first time i saw her after she started using it. She had tried so many different products on her hair. Seriously, silky smooth hair after she started using it. She had some big frizz issues prior to the WEN. I was blown away by how awesome it made her hair look!

  4. Sue says:

    No help here. HIghlites solved my problem of super fine hair and I usually shampoo every other day. Wells and septic systems, those I can relate to.

  5. Marjie says:

    I think you have great hair. I only shampoo every 3 to 4 days, because with my dry skin, I’d have dandruff if I washed more often. But my hair is stick straight, and I just found a wonderful product called CHI, It sprays in after you’ve towel dried, and makes my hair behave!

  6. AlisonH says:

    You look fabulous in both pictures. Your hair is gorgeous.

  7. Susan, says:

    I will be interested to read all of the reviews. BUT, my new homemade shampoo bar has made my hair way more manageable. I was given this bar. I am gathering the stuff to make my own. I will send you some!!!

  8. km says:

    I think it’s the lighting in the 2nd photo that makes it “seem” better. But you hair looks great in both. I’m sure it’s just what you’re feeling. I remember Wendy (of WendyKnits blog) mentioned being poo free a long time ago. I tried to google for the post, but I found this blog entry instead. http://fluffyknitterdeb.blogspot.com/2007/09/i-dont-poo-do-you.html Still a good review of the Wen. It can’t hurt to try it.

    Twice in one week we were without water. Christmas Eve a main in the street broke a few houses down…and we were without water while they repaired it. Then on the 27th our water heater went out. My scalp itches when I don’t get to wash everyday. I wish I had a good solution for those days. Keep us updated as you try new things.

  9. Katherine says:

    I learned of Wen from Wendy Bernard, knitting blogger and book author. She has hair that is ultra thick and in need of taming. My hair was thick and frizzy then so I tried it and liked it enough to use for many years before my hair began to thin. Now I use Nioxin to reduce hair loss but I would recommend Wen to anyone. It always made my hair smell good and my scalp feel good.

  10. Katherine says:

    P.S. Sorry Chan, I didn’t mean Wendy Bernard, I meant to say Wendy Johnson. (Two blogging, writing, knitting Wendy’s),

  11. No help here, as per usual. 🙂 However…I AM intrigued, and might have to try WEN myself…

  12. SusanB-knits says:

    Now I know we must be sisters! lol. Move to Texas, no humidity where we live. Great hair days!! (of course you have to put up with excessive heat in the summer)

  13. Nichole says:

    I’m of no help here… except to say, ONCE in 16 years? REALLY? Wow… we have ours done every 2 years and went 3 this time…

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    I used Wen for a while back when Wendy Knits first started singing it’s praises. My hair was longer then and it did seem to make it smoother. However, I have eczema on my scalp (especially during the winter) and it seemed to cause it to flair up more than usual. They do have fabulous customer service, though, because I didn’t have any issues when I called to cancel and ask for a refund. They normally have a trial period, so it couldn’t hurt to give it a shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

