Happy Knit Year?

Happy New Year!  The one look back I am comfortable doing is to look at my knitting from 2011.  I can’t even tally up the books read, because I never did settle on how to track what I read.  I was using something on Facebook, but it doesn’t make data sorts easy, so…  Maybe this year, I’ll join basically blogless Susan and use a spreadsheet?  I’m guessing I read about 20 books in ’11, but I truly don’t have a clue.

August 2011 002

So.  Knitting.  I completed 16 projects, in the following categories:

  • 3 hats
  • 4 scarves
  • 5 shawl(ette)s
  • 1 skirt
  • 1 headband
  • 1 capelet
  • 1 shrug

Started, but not completed:

  • Mohair cardi (new goal – complete by Valentines Day)
  • scarf – current project focus
  • a second double-knit headband

UFOs started before 2011 but not completed:

  • Argosy baby blanket – too close not to finish, but need a baby to finish it for and there’s just not one on the way right now
  • Pink cardi – needs to be frogged and yarn will either be repurposed or I’ll reknit seamlessly in a smaller size
  • Cotty socks – a pattern I really want to complete, and I have some yarn more suited to being Christmas socks.  I’ll repurpose that yarn for a shawlette or something.
  • Whisper – when I find the project (HEM), frog and reknit in a smaller size
  • Dash – definitely want to finish sooner rather than later!

Other loose ends:  I owe finished object reports on the shrug and the final scarf of the year.   There’s also yarn to be plied and fiber to finish spinning.  Both handspuns have projects waiting for them.

Plan.  Despite being a planner by nature, I do NOT seem to do well when I plan my hobbies.  It sucks the joy right out of them.  Knowing that, I still can’t help myself and I do have a very flexible agenda.

  1. Cast on for a sock KAL.  I’m not part of the SKA KAL, but it inspired the pattern I’m knitting with gMarie and another friend or two.  I love green, and I’m thinking these can be St. Patrick’s Day socks…
  2. Finish the scarf in progress.
  3. Finish the red mohair cardi.
  4. Finish Dash.
  5. Knit whatever inspires me, because the world won’t end if I don’t finish any of those projects by a certain date.

2012 is going to be a really, REALLY  busy year for me.  Still, I plan to read more, which might mean knitting less.  I’m pondering adding Audible.com to my book efforts.   I’m not sure how well an audio book while walking will work – think lots of “Leave it, Sis” and “Sissy I SAID NO!!” – but I’m going to give it a try.  I don’t spend enough time in the car to really do much with audio books there, so the only other option is playing them while I knit… which could work.

I’m not doing the resolutions or goals thing this year.   I do intend to keep making fitness & health a priority, but Sissy isn’t going to let me slack off there.  I still need to declutter my home, something that is always painfully evident this time of year when I have to find homes for those blessed gifts received.   I also WANT to start cooking again, and I think the Crock Pot will be my friend there, even though I’m not comfortable leaving it plugged in while we’re at work all day.  I’ll let you know how I work around that, and if you have suggestions, let me know.

Wishing you … ENOUGH.  That’s my focus for this year.  I am generally content by nature, and yet… I never feel I’ve done enough.  I saw this on Facebook, and am going to keep it in mind:

I need to check with my mom though…  I think the only reason I wasn’t born in tights and a poncho (I was born as the Sixties wrapped up!) is because it was SUMMER…

Is enough an issue for you?

17 comments on “Happy Knit Year?

  1. Kristyn says:

    I keep my book list in a word doc. Very low tech but it works for me.

  2. SusanB-knits says:

    Great finish to 2011 and a good start to 2012!
    I’ll have to ask my mom where my tights and cape are kept. I’m probably one of the few not born with them, lol. O well, I’ll keep my chin up (love that pic) and support you in keeping your chin up.
    Happy New Knitting Year!

    (p.s. I have a spreadsheet that I keep all my books read list)

  3. Nancy says:

    I use Shelfari to keep track of the books I read, but I know some fall through the cracks. Hobbies do not need to be planned – that is what makes them relaxing.

    Love the baby and quote — I must keep that in mind, too.

  4. gMarie says:

    Okay – seriously! That last line cracked me up! I do not keep track of what I read and the only way I know what actually got knit or sewn is Rav and the blog. 🙂 Happy New Year! g

  5. Katherine says:

    Hello, mother of six here! The Superwoman get-up was essential!! Now that they are mostly grown (I say mostly because they always need more attention) I could dispense with the cape but the tights are too comfortable to take off and the belt with the big buckle still fits so I’m keeping it. Enough–I’m getting used to it so I’ll have to get back to you on it!

    You brought up a good point about tracking the books I read. I think I’ll see if there is a way to date them in my Kindle archive. Never tried until now.

  6. Walden121 says:

    Enough is always a problem! 🙂

  7. Amy says:

    Ooo … this post is a total inspiration to me! I think that I may take your lead and post about what I accomplished in 2011.

    Love that photo at the end. So true!

  8. Sue says:

    I keep my book list in a document on my Mac, but I actually did better when I just kept a small notebook in my nitestand.

    Enough Is a problem for me. It sounds like “I’m hoping for an adequate year.” No, I’ve been exciting places and done exciting things and I have everything I could ever have dreamed of, but there’s more out there and settling for enough won’t do it. There’s more art and music and books and foods and interesting people and places. Never settle for enough.

  9. Nichole says:

    Great post! You accomplished far more than I did on the needles in 2011, but I do have a goal to do more in 2012. I have SEVERAL UFO’s … more than I care to count or admit to at this point.
    I’m with you – no resolutions and when I tend to set hobby goals, boy you’re right – it does suck the fun right out!
    I LOVE my slowcooker and have learned to let it do what it’s meant to — i.e. it’s OK to leave it going while at work. To help make you feel better about it, clear a nice spot on the counter and If you have a GFI outlet in the kitchen, use that.

  10. AlisonH says:

    I’m trying to let my stash be enough or mostly enough for a few months: I bought things because I like them, I need to enjoy them. Buying more is a pronouncement of more to look forward to and to gift, but I have enough right now to keep me and plenty of other people happy.

    Although, I only have limited chemo-cap-type skeins, might have to pick up another pearl/bamboo ball…

  11. […] to reflect on my crafty accomplishments for the year that has just passed.  Taking a cue from Chan, I really enjoyed her post and I thought that I would do one of my […]

  12. Marjie says:

    I write a few notes on a piece of paper to keep track of what I read….well, sort of. If you have to keep track, where’s the fun?

    Everything has to have an element of fun in it, or the world would be a dull place indeed. I plan what I’m going to do, and then rarely accomplish it. So, I laid out a white sweater knit to make a dress and cardi this weekend. It’s still on the table. I’ve been reading instead, and pretending to watch football with my dudes, and making silly comments so they can laugh at me. See? Fun.

    But really, I’m trying out the Kindle Fire so I can give you a full report on it. Happy to help a friend in need, and all that.

  13. I mainly use Shelfari for tracking my books, but I kept a page on the blog the last two years, too….Love Shelfari! Enough…I always HAVE enough, but never feel I DO enough….who ever does think that? No knitting goals for the year, some wellness goals, and some reading goals, but all very loose and easy. Mostly need to focus on the wellness issues….

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh my Lord…you could have been listening to the conversation between me and T last night. lol “Enough” is never good enough for me. I always feel like I should be “more” in just about every way. Funny you would bring that up after we had just talked about that very issue. Remind me of that now and then (except when it comes to exercising). 😉

    Your list got me to wondering what I’d accomplished knit-wise in 2011. I actually did more than I thought I had. Not too shabby in that department. I’m *this* close to finishing Mom’s cardigan and I can’t wait to cast on some socks. I miss knitting socks something fierce.

    Happy 2012 to you, the Knight, and the girls. ((hugs))

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I have a little thing on my wall that says, “Given a cape and a wand and I could change the world…”

  16. Kathy says:

    “Despite being a planner by nature, I do NOT seem to do well when I plan my hobbies. It sucks the joy right out of them.”

    Got to agree with you here! How can you plan and then stick to it? There’s always new things to knit, new books to read, new recipes to try, new adventures waiting to happen! If you plan everything in advance, it then seems like a chore to me and there’s no time for whatever new comes along.

    I keep track of my books read in my calendar, though I’m probably one of the few that keeps an old-fashioned, non-electronic datebook. I never have a goal (number of books) for reading. I just like looking back at what I’ve read.

  17. […] get around to reviewing the year in knits and books… eventually, but I did an okay job with my resolution to focus on […]

Leave a Reply

