Off and Running

Punching Bag 1

My former running partner, in his old age

Why no, I’m not a runner.  I used to be…  I ran both track and cross country in school, and then ran because it made Mugsy a better young doggy, but…

Never mind.  The point is, 2012 is off to a fast start.  We have one more holiday party this week, two different crafting things I’d like to do this weekend, then a family celebration, then…  Yeah.  It’s like that through mid-February.

Speaking of fur-kids, I have a question about PetHub up on the girls’ blog.

I’d like to thank you for your cosmetics advice.  Despite my analysis paralysis, I ran out of foundation over the holiday weekend (the most recent one, not to be confused with the other one a week before), so I had to carry myself to the mall and fix it.

It is worth noting that both MAC and Clarins are in the process of opening counters in the podunk Belk.  Didn’t do me a bit of good yesterday, but I know y’all care about my growing options.  Hem. 

Anyway, I won’t bore you with the details, but a series of nearly unfortunate events landed me in the chair at the Estee Lauder counter.  Now… no offense, but despite their slick ads in every single beauty or women’s magazine I’ve seen throughout my life, Estee makes me think of Nana.  I loved her dearly, she had great skin, but…  you know…

Well, turns out the freshest face in Belk cosmetics yesterday was behind the EL counter.  She had no trouble understanding what I wanted – anti-aging, moisture, redness, all with flawless results and minimal steps/effort – and she also didn’t scare me by putting my very ivory (but pink) complexion in a 2.5 beige…

I still think I might want to try Clinique’s redness line of skin care (why is something with red in its name packaged in yellow?).  I’m due to schedule my annual physical, so I guess I need to run the idea of rosacea past the good doc then…  (Wouldn’t it be cool if I’m NOT allergic to red wine and just have a skin condition instead?!  Hem.)

Gee, on that note, I think I’ve said enough.  How goes your New Year?

13 comments on “Off and Running

  1. gMarie says:

    Feeling a bit busy and hectic and I haven’t done anything! The house is settling in and I’m happy with the furniture arranging.

    Your skin care concerns are mine – to make time to do something about it. 🙂 g

  2. Katherine says:

    Heaven forbid that I should ever be allergic to red wine!! Anyway, I had to laugh at your initial assessment of Estee Lauder. My mom always wore Pleasures perfume so I suggested some EL cosmetics and skin treatments to the grand 87 year-old lady one day and she replied, “Just how old do you think I am?” So glad to hear you had a good experience with Estee!! I may have to take another look at it.

  3. Nancy says:

    I’ve done nothing but run today – exercise class, errands to store and post office, a meeting this afternoon, and knitting group tonight. I hope this isn’t the norm in 2012 – I don’t think I could keep up this pace.

  4. kathy b says:

    Pale is how we all look here in Chicago. I am trying Cliniques new spot special stuff. It has been 3 weeks and I still have the age spots….
    In the cosmetic dept, I’m thinking of going back to the laborious no chip manicures for winter. I hate sitting there, but they do grow and don’t chip….

  5. Jessica says:

    was at the clinique counter today, and was eyeing the redness stuff..that is as far as it got though. My friend uses their even better spot reducer stuff…she loves it.
    hmmm, not sure i would wish rosacea on you, over an allergy to tannins in red wine!

  6. Sue says:

    Red wine makes my face pink and feel warm. I still prefer red win, but it also can give me headaches and I try to avoid that, so for now it’s whites only.

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m glad you’ve made steps toward solving the skin/makeup problem. I feel like moisturizer is a great start, so I hope the cosmetics people are of help to you there, too!

  8. Amy says:

    I like Clinique. I’ve used it before, and it never made my oily skin break out, or make me feel clogged.

  9. That make two of us planning to ask about Rosacea soon. I can’t even cover up my red face these days, as that only makes things worse…sigh.

  10. Mary says:

    Diagnosed rosacea person here. And red wine cheeks come with the territory…my DS captured a lovely photo of me on his iphone post-glass of red wine I had in the Dulles bar and just before we boarded our flight to London. It is hilarious (not). I pretty much swear by the C redness solution line. I have been able to reduce the use of my rosacea prescription cream since using it.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Maybe you’re allergic to the sediment in the red wine. I did a bunch of winery articles at my old gig and they told me a lot of people had problems with some of the chemicals released in the final processing of red wine, which is also what gave people hangovers. If you get really clean, expensive wine, it’s not supposed to hurt you.

  12. For the first time in my life, I’m turning to foundation…well tinted moisturizer to be exact. I’ve always been leery of it, but I can’t ignore the redness anymore. Ugh. Bobbi Brown makes a great one!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh…being allergic to red wine would be such a shame. However, there are some amazing whites out there. 😉

    Speaking of MAC cosmetics, the one in our Belk is running and I am in *love*. Haven’t tried the foundation yet, but their concealer is amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

