1756 Jacket Report

Because I can’t stand being a year (hem) behind on finished object reports, you’re getting horrible “on” photos and a report anyway.  For the record, I finished this up before the end of October. 

October 2011 003Project: 1756 Jacket, because that’s what Plymouth calls it.  I can’t believe the pattern isn’t in Ravelry’s database, but I also don’t claim to be a great Ravelry librarian, so maybe it’s in there somewhere else?

Pattern:   1756 Jacket by Plymouth.   Lawdy Plymouth, hire me to name your patterns and colorways.  Really?!  It’s a shrug or a vest, not a jacket.  There’s nothing wrong with the pattern, but I will note that more than one person who made this via the Dog House KAL (Ravelry link) wished they’d sized up.   I’m on the fence…  and I made a small.  It fits fine as a shrug, but I’m not much of a shrug in public girl.  I do wear it a lot around the house to take the chill off my shoulders.

October 2011 004Yarn:  Plymouth Baby Alpaca Grande in a pine-ish teal.  I love the color, but find the yarn far too scratchy to touch skin… my face and neck included.   I have more of this in a light blue, so I’m glad to know I don’t want to make a bulky scarf for myself out of it.  Oh — and I barely used the third skein, so I actually have 2 of the light blue and about 2/3rds of the teal…

photo.JPG

fabulous bathroom iPhone self-portrait...

Needles:  9 & 10.5, circs.  Love my Addi Clicks. 

Verdict:  I have worn it enough already to need a minor repair on one arm cuff, so that says it all, eh?   I’m still wanting to wear it with a chambray shirt dress I have.  It has sleeves and a collar, so I can protect my skin from the itchies.  Maybe when I do that, I can get better photos for you.  Maybe.  But don’t count on it.

I should note that both my neck and I survived a full work day when I wore it for this stellar photo.  I think part of the problem is my bottom cuff isn’t as tight as it could be.  Maybe I should have gone down another needle size.  Maybe I’ll frog the bottom ribbing and knit a few more inches and then try again…  What say you?

15 comments on “1756 Jacket Report

  1. AlisonH says:

    I once knit a Kaffe Fassett vest that had a goof in it: so many short pattern repeats (it was his flame one) on this side of the front, one short of that on the other–which I figured out after adding all the edgings on the thing.

    About two years later I ripped out all the edgings so I could take it apart so I could reknit that short side and make the thing work so I could wear it in public. And you know what? That was 15 years ago. It’s still sitting waiting for me to do that, and I never will. Many-stranded patterns *in cotton* (what was I THINKING!)… Nope.

    So I’ve very much regretted touching it when it had been a fine and very colorful around the house wearable.

  2. gMarie says:

    Oh – my heart breaks for Alison and her story. And yes sometimes done is good enough. My Grey Cardi is made from that same yarn, and it is a bit itchy. Which is funny – because it’s so darn soft to knit. I’m not a fan of short sleeved cardigans – mostly.

    But I do like that one. Love the color and it looks good. Wear in good health. g

  3. Mary says:

    It is weird when what feels like a soft yarn on knitting, actually wears like a brillo pad…itch, itch, itch. Pretty color, though.

  4. Sue says:

    It’s cute, but not a style I’d feel comfortable wearing. And itchy yarn, no way. I was too early on the Vogue mag. It doesn’t hit newsstands till later this week. Seems odd that a winter issue would come out so late, but good for me.

  5. Amy says:

    That is a vest, not a jacket. I’m with you – what was Plymouth thinking?

    But I love the color and it is a really cute pattern.

  6. Marjie says:

    Shrugs are really great with camis or tank tops. But if this yarn is too itchy, there goes that idea. I do like the color, and I think overall it’s a nice pattern. Try it again in non-itchy wool, and wear it over sleeveless tops in spring. I’ll bet that’ll solve your “I won’t wear it out of the house” problem.

  7. Jessica says:

    that looks super cute on you!! It would be really cute with a chambray dress, i think! well done!

  8. Katherine says:

    The bottom might be a little more snug but it is so darn cute the way it is that you don’t really need to change a thing!! I love it.

  9. Nancy says:

    Very cute!

    No, it is not a jacket by any definition – it is a cute shrug.

  10. Cute shrug, glad you can wear it over things, at least. I can’t wear alpaca either…too sad! Don’t rip it and remake it, I must agree with Alison here.

  11. Mr. Puffy says:

    It looks really cute on you! Love the Wintery tee underneath too 🙂

    Before you frog and reknit the cuff I would decide how much you really would like to wear this. If it’s a keeper then I would frog and reknit the cuff. If the itch factor is going to put you off then I would do a quick fix and maybe with a needle and thread tighten up the ribbing.

  12. Looks cute! If you’ve worn it enough then I’d say reknit…if not then don’t worry about it! I can’t handle when things aren’t right and I want to wear it.

  13. gypsyknits says:

    Oh, I am so fussy over itchy stuff on my neck. This yarn is so soft I’m really kind of surprised on the itch report although if they used the guard alpaca hair in the spinning process that would explain the itchy factor.
    Try some elastic thread through the ribbing and see if that tightens it up before you jump in the frog pond :).
    Love the color :).

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    My Shalom cardigan turned out kinda like that. The yarn was super soft to knit with, but turned out kinda itchy in the garment. Granted, I only wear it with long sleeve shirts, but I had originally intended it as a transition piece.

  15. Nichole says:

    It’s cute – but I’m with you, definitely not a jacket!

Leave a Reply

