No Vera Update

Vera's glimpse at the new colors

For the first time in … years?  I learned of the new Vera colors when the catalog came in the mail.  Really, Vera?  Honestly, I’d rather NOT be on mailing lists… I don’t need the clutter and would rather save the trees, the USPS, etc.

Anyhoo, I’m so underwhelmed that they’re not getting a review here.  I love coral and turquoise and had high hopes, but I guess I’ll wait and see if summer has a better offering.  Maybe it’s a sign of my contentment with my green bag?

Maybe it’s (yet again) a parting of the ways.  Vera and I were fast friends for a few years in the ’90s, then went our separate ways for well over a decade.  We’ll see…

Speaking of reducing paper stuffs…  I’m also underwhelmed by Nook’s magazine offerings, and by knitting magazines in all electronic formats.  Even the ones that are availabie in one e-format or another seem to penalize their e-subscribers either through not allowing printing, not offering special inserts, etc.  What’s up with that?  I’m hardly the greenest girl in the world, but hello?!  Shouldn’t they be encouraging e-subscriptions and rewarding those who are working towards saving the planet?

Along those lines, while I’m all reconnected with my newsprint Nook of a prior generation – evidently, B&N realized that asking me and the other millions of people with an account if we need to change our password on our B&N account and then requiring us to stand on our heads and stack bbs in our watch-pockets to allow our Nook to change its password too was ridiculous – I’m realizing that I want an e-reader that can do magazines, pdf files (specifically, knitting patterns) and more.

Yes, yes, plain Nook can do that, but not well.  I’m in no rush to upgrade, because… well, you WERE reading along, right?  The magazines I want aren’t available in a truly useful e-format!  Anyway, there’s also the whole B&N might sell Nook mess, my fascination with Kindle Fire just because of the name (I used to be a firefighter, am married to a fire chief… in case you’re new here), and last but definitely not least, my love of things i-smart.  iCloud is my new BFF…

December 2011 004

But nothing can trump my celebration of our one-eyed girl.  Tomorrow marks the one-year anniversary of the removal of her left eye.  I might do a special post tomorrow…  I might not.  It’s been a journey, and yes, our lives revolve  around that dog and her eye drop schedule, but it’s truly our pleasure to tend to her, and to Lady Gretchen Greer.  Their blog has a link to a fabulous, feel-good story about a totally blind dog named Golly. 

What are you celebrating today?

16 comments on “No Vera Update

  1. Susan, says:

    Yeah Sissy, keep showing them how little that whole one-eyed thing DOES NOT bother you!!! 😉

    Aunt Sus, Chelsea and Cory

  2. Nancy says:

    I am supposed to be on Vera’s mailing list (I signed up in May 2011) and still haven’t received anything via mail or email. I do check the website from time to time, but I would probably purchase something if they ever contacted me.

    The Kindle will allow you to convert your pdf to their format for a charge, but I think there is also a way to do it without a charge. I hope I can figure that out because I would like to have some knitting patterns on my Kindle, especially for travel.

  3. gMarie says:

    I don’t get Vera anything – not catelogs or emails. I see updates when you post them. I have a mixed feelings about being “greener”. I love having some catelogs in person so I can rip pages and put them up on my bullitin board. Harder to to with emails.

    I’ve side loaded knitting patterns to my Nook Tablet and I think the iPad is honestly going to be the best option for you. Because it will allow you to use any e-reader program you want (they are free you know) as well as add ‘marker apps’ for where you are in your pattern. I took the Nook and a new sock with a complicated pattern with me yesterday and it would time out before I could finish a row. Not helpful!

    g

  4. dogquilter says:

    Love the doggies 🙂

  5. AlisonH says:

    The Kindle Fire has gotten a lot of negative reviews from the tech industry out here; I’d recommend an Ipad instead.

  6. Katherine says:

    Sissy you are the IT girl!! You certainly have IT–grace, strength, refinement and a style that puts other Diva Doggies to shame! Congratulations on enduring the last year with all that grace and style.
    BTW, GretchenG is so cute with her little pink tongue out. Give her a big hug for me and Macy.

    I too am so over Vera Bradley, although I did give that bag in today’s email to a family member for Christmas because it was what she wanted. When they discontinued my favorite black and lime pattern I said, “Buh-bye.” And I too love QVC’s bag offerings. I bought my last two from them and the price was great.

    Kindle Fire, you will never be sorry!!

  7. Sue says:

    I love my Fire, but my first choice would be an Ipad, especially if you’re thinking about using it for patterns and might want to print them out.

    I usually see the Vera collection when you review them, though I have caught them on QVC occasionally.

    We’re celebrating that Morgan got to go into the back yard with the other dogs today. This is the first time since October. She just wandered around a little and I watched to make sure no one got rough with her or she didn’t try to run or jump. She’s made wonderful progress and has just a slight limp that gets a little worse toward night. Tsar is acting like himself again, too. Bailey is all healed and Samba is continuing to improve.

  8. Barbara S. says:

    G and Allison are right, the Fire (despite its name) isn’t really likely to be what you want. If you are already happy with iCloud (via your iPhone, right?), it makes more sense to go with something that will mesh with little or no learning curve.
    As for printing, I print a whole lot less since Hubband gifted me the iPad and there are a few ways to figure out printing if you really want to. As G said, you can get all the reader apps for the iPad, as well as Zino, a nice magazine service (it is available for computers as well, and you can preview issues). I just wish that there were combo offers for paper/email subscriptions of magazines. I will be doing a post soon about my new BFF, aka Dropbox.

  9. Jessica says:

    I like Vera for my small travel cosmetics bags. I have the makeup one, and the cinch sack one, and the jewelry one. I need to update the makeup one…it is falling apart, but of course, everything matches. I am kind of “over” Vera too, though,…so not sure what i will do. Was looking at some the other day, and was sort of underwhelmed.

    so glad you like the Golly story…it warmed my heart. seriously cannot believe it has been a whole year since Sissy’s surgery.

  10. Marjie says:

    Cute picture. It was nice of you to make a scarf that matched the girls. I’m pretty sure it was made just for them, right?

  11. kathy b says:

    Happy one year of health for your fur girl. She is a trooper. Animals are so darn inspiriing.
    Im celebrating another workend is OVer. I made it from my bed to the couch and it is only 330 in the afternoon.
    Im totally into my Sierra Trading Post ameribags…..
    but I don’t’ want to tempt you….

  12. kathy b says:

    By the way, I need to know if you want in or out of the swap! Either way is okay with me, whatever you wish!

  13. Still loving my plain, “old”, ordinary Kindle, which does indeed do PDF files, or at least, you can get knitting patterns onto it…I forget…A most happy anniversary to Sissy…no, I’m not happy you had your eye out; I AM happy you are still here with us and still have the other eye. I just got the Vera email, but haven’t looked at it yet. Cost will likely be a huge factor in how much I choose to “love” anything.

  14. Blond Duck says:

    I got a Kindle and I like it.

    I have another e-mail to send you later!

  15. Walden121 says:

    I have a regular, keyboard Kindle and like it, haven’t tried out the Fire though.

    I’m glad Sissy is still doing well. She still steals the show. 🙂

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Aw…now I’m afraid to go look. However, my current fave purse isn’t a Vera, so maybe I’m also taking a break from the good ole VB.

Leave a Reply

