Triskaidekaphobia

Are you afraid of Friday the 13th?   If so, you have triskaidekaphobia.   I grew up in what I’d call a mildly superstitious household.  I don’t ever remember a big deal being made out of Friday the 13th though, until the movie came out. 

While I am intrigued by numbers and patterns (for instance, one hourly employee’s check, after taxes and deductions, came out to an even dollar amount today), I’m not superstitious about them.  I don’t really have a lucky number, although I started requesting jerseys with a number ending in a 4 fairly early in my athletics experience.  That happened for two reasons; my first two very randomly assigned numbers were 4 & 14, and someone pointed out that my nickname has 4 letters and asked if 4 was my lucky number.  Ummmm… it is now?

October 2010 016

No fear here!

I’d like to tell you that despite all the Irish & Scot blood in my family tree, I don’t buy into folk lore and superstitions, but that would be a stretch.  I still flash back to Nana’s panic when I mentioned I loved yellow roses, and while I have refused roses I was given at least once, it wasn’t because of the color.  (Hem.  No, you may NOT ask.) 

I’d also like to tell you that I don’t pick up my feet and touch glass when I cross a state line, but I do when I’m paying attention, even if I’m driving.  (That’s why they invented cruise control, right?!) 

I don’t walk under ladders, but that’s more a safety issue than a superstition.

I’ve owned a mostly black cat, so I don’t get that one. 

Do you consider yourself superstitious??

14 comments on “Triskaidekaphobia

  1. Louise says:

    Happy Friday the 13th, Channon. I wouldn’t call myself superstitious per se…I do however have a very strange sort of fear. They call it Arachibutyrophobia.

  2. little things maybe— no new shoes on the table, sing before breakfast cry before dinner,and a few others didn’t know the state line one, I would have gone crazy 2 weeks ago when for 4 days all I did was cross state lines!!!

  3. Katherine says:

    Better safe than sorry, but I am mostly not a superstitious person. I say mostly because there was that one time when an employee’s check was $666.00 and I paid him $670. I just couldn’t do it–not even two sixes in a row!

  4. AlisonH says:

    Nope. Better stay away from me: I was born on Saturday the 13th!

  5. Sue says:

    My Grandmother was superstitious and had all sorts of rhymes that she taught me, but I never believed in them. The only thing I still do is pick up pennies in the street. I keep a special jar where I put them and count them out once a year. They can really add up.

    I did break my foot on the 13th of the month but I have an actual person to blame for that, not the date.

  6. Kathy says:

    Nope, no superstitions here. I’m a scientist and I think that contributes to my lack of them.

    However, my friend told me he saw two black cats at his park & ride this morning. Hm, better check on him and make sure he’s still ok!

    You made me wonder: what is the deal with yellow roses? Is the whole state of Texas going to have bad luck? As you probably know, that’s a symbol of the state.

  7. gMarie says:

    I don’t know that I’m superstitutious at all. But I do have a story about the Friday the 13th movies. Went on a double date to one while in high school. The boys got up and excused themselves right before a very scary part. I was good friends with the girl (we were all friends) The boys came back, snuck into the row behind us and reached under the seats and grabbed our ankles at the exact same time it happened in the movies. I have never watched another scary movie in a theater – ever!!

    I don’t walk under ladders either – for safety. I don’t put my shoes on the table – for hygene reasons. I’ve never heard the one about singing before breakfast but since I sing to KAM most mornings before I’ve eaten and rarely cry before dinner (although we’ve had a few close days) – I think I’ll keep singing. 🙂 g

  8. kathy b says:

    Love the image of the girls!! Friday the 13th, nothing but good for me. Im only superstitious for Positive thoughts….

    Now a black cat owns me, so Im even luckier

  9. Marjie says:

    Today is my beloved’s birthday. And I know that his birthday fell on Friday 28 years ago, because that’s the day we brought our firstborn son home from the hospital. So, no we don’t do the triskadekaphobia thing. I do, however, love number patterns. I very much enjoyed 1/11/11, just for writing the date! And I delight when checks work out to lovely numbers, too. I only avoid walking under ladders so no one can drop things on my head. So I guess I don’t “do” superstition, either.

  10. Nancy says:

    No, I don’t practice any superstitions. Life’s too short to be looking over your shoulder.

  11. Katiebell says:

    Chan,

    I am a Triskaidekaphile personally. I do throw salt over my shoulder when I spill it. My grandmother used to keep a penny in her shoe and told me to never step on a crack.

  12. Barbara says:

    Good heavens, I didn’t even realize yesterday was the 13th. (I didn’t write any checks!) Wonder if that’s why I’m having so many computer problems. 🙂

  13. Louise says:

    Channon! I just had to drop by to tell you I just discovered that January 14th is Dress Up Your Pet Day!!! Just in case you didn’t know, mark your calendar for next year. I know I am!!!

    Hope you’re enjoying your weekend:)

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Very.

    IF it didn’t come, I’m pitching a fit.

Leave a Reply

