Warm Feet

It’s very simple… if my feet are comfortable, I am comfortable.  This time of year, that means keeping them warm.  I want to share two of my secrets with you so you and your feet can be cozy too!

I love boots, but what’s funny is that many aren’t lined.  For some reason, the Crocs Cobbler Ankle Boot caught my eye.   One afternoon right before Christmas, I was rather cranky about my cold feet, so I ordered a pair.  I’ve hardly taken them off since they arrived. 

Because it was barely into double digits (F) when I left the house this morning, I added another secret weapon… Legacy Legwear Fleecy Tights.   They are thicker than your average tights (think… leggings?), but you get a thin layer of fleece against your skin and normal enough looking tights on the outside.  They remind me more of the tights I wore as a school girl than the opaque hosiery I wear these days. 

I’ll tell you another secret.  I order boots & athletic shoes 1/2 size larger than my normal size so I can wear hand-knit socks (boots)or really thick, hiking socks (both). 

And yes, if you’re doing the math, that means I’m wearing a sweater dress today… with a cotton-wool shell underneath that!   Contrary to popular belief, sometimes wearing a dress IS the warm way to go.  Plus, I almost feel like I’m in my jammies, so what’s not to love on a Monday morning when the rest of the country is on holiday and I’m working?

What are your stay-warm secrets?

Oh – and pop over to the girls’ blog for an update on Sissy’s eye exam.

13 comments on “Warm Feet

  1. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – I don’t have a decent pair of snow boots – I have 2 pairs of rain boots but those are useless for keeping warm or keeping upright in snow and ice. I’ve been wearing handknit socks since September – even when walking the dogs. Will have to check your tights link. And yes I think sometimes a dress or skirt is the warmer choice over pants – think mittens over gloves. g

  2. Tom is working too!!!! and a dress and tights is almost always warmer then jeans, someday I may be skinny enough for the flannel lined jeans LLBEAN sells!!!

  3. SusanB-knits says:

    Love the boots! Too bad we don’t get enough snow and cold weather to warrant me having snow boots. I do have some little ankle boots but they are not made for snow. I do wear them with my hand knits socks! I like to wear sweaters when I’m cold (too bad I can’t get mine finished, lol!)

  4. Sue says:

    The tights sound nice and warm. Yesterday I was snuggled in a blanket much of the day. The temp was about 34 and the wind was unreal. Today we’re pushing 70 degrees. This is one crazy winter.

  5. Kathy says:

    I’m working today too. Doesn’t seem fair. But at least the traffic was light this morning!

  6. Nancy says:

    I agree that in order to be comfortable outside in the winter, my feet need to be warm. I don’t wear boots often, but I always wear warm wool socks with any footwear this time of year.

    The tights sound interesting. I’ve seen them advertised and wondered if they were comfortable.

  7. AlisonH says:

    To stay in California in the winter… (ducking!)

  8. Katherine says:

    Yep the feet have to be warm! Winter or summer, and sometimes my feet get really cold in the summer when the air conditioning is on. I wear socks in the office almost year-round. I also wear a sweater in the office year-round. Of course, people think I’m strange!

    I love the boots! Very classy and go with anything.

  9. Marjie says:

    I suffer cold feet, too. I put a piece of fleece in the bottom of my ballet flats to keep my feet warm. Your tights sound like a great solution to the cold leg problem. And, yes, I love wearing dresses when I’m feeling lazy (like today). No waistband equals no binding, and that’s always a comfort plus!

  10. kathy b says:

    Okay those boots are ADORABLE Great sizing tips Chan!
    I may have to buy some of those tights for Al that are lined …she would love them!! Im looking for a little Valentines something for her! Thanks.

    One of my tips: On monday mornings when the bedroom is cold and I am oh so tired from night shift, I microwave my neck warmer and bring it into bed with me for instant happiness.

  11. Ruth says:

    I’m staying warm with a fire in the stove today. 🙂 Your attire sounds both lovely and warm to me. LOL…I followed the Crocs link and almost submitted an order…I may do so before the day is out.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I guess I’ll have to resend the sussy.

  13. Nichole says:

    I wish I could recall all the comments I tried to post yesterday… but this one was worth a repost because I absolutely LOVE those boots! If I weren’t under the current circumstances, I’d be ordering right now!

Leave a Reply

