Black vs. Blue?

One of my blue LPs

I realized a few months ago that almost everything I’ve ever purchased from Lilly P is blue.  (And then turned around and scored another solid blue dress during their latest sale.)  I now own THREE blue Lilly P dresses, albeit made of some very different materials, in very different styles. 

I’ve said for years that brown is my black, but that’s not entirely true either.  I do wear a lot of brown, particularly in footwear, but I also wear black — just not alone, near my face.  However, my wardrobe is ridiculously blue.

I’m not just talking denim.  I own a lot of that too.  And grey.  I’ve knowingly and with intent added a lot of grey to my wardrobe this year.  I wanted to add a lot of camel, but I didn’t seem to get more than a pair of cord pants and a cardigan. 

I love color, but I don’t seem to pull the trigger and purchase much of it.  This cardigan is on sale at Talbots and I love it, but…  I haven’t purchased it yet. 

Do I need to worry that “everything” I buy from Lilly P is solid blue?  Are color ruts really ruts or is it just a matter of me knowing what I like and honoring what looks good? 

I’m hardly some slick cosmopolitan chick who always wears black – or even blue – and white.  In fact, I only own one little black dress that is actually too big, a black pencil skirt, a floor-length black skirt and black wool pants.  I own ONE white blouse and a few white summer shirts.  (But that sweater would look great with black and white, no?)

This Chanformation stuff is deep.  Thanks for “listening” as I muddle through recapturing myself.  And honestly, does ANYONE else out there do analysis paralysis to the degree I do?

11 comments on “Black vs. Blue?

  1. gMarie says:

    Honey – wearing the same colors is not a rut – it’s knowing what you look and feel good in. You aren’t just throwing on denim and a sloppy t-shirt.

    Do add some color. Pull the trigger and get that cute little cardi – it will work with everything! Blue, Black and Camel. Do it!! g

  2. Nancy says:

    I tend to wear the same colors a lot, too, which is why I add color with accessories rather than larger pieces.

  3. AlisonH says:

    The fashion world tends to present the same colors a lot, too. This said from the perspective of someone who finds colors for us deathly-pale types to tend to be sparse out there. Anyway–if the dress fits and looks fabulous, enjoy! Different styles go for different moods and sometimes one will do and the other just won’t.

  4. kathy b says:

    OH I analyze way too much, but never about clothes!! I wish I did. I am stuck on the meaning of life ….and deep stuff of a similar nature that is torturous actually.
    I am all about comfort clothes. I live in Jeans, which I should think about changing! IT is just that pet hair doesn’t’ stick to jeans and IM a casual dresser!

  5. Katherine says:

    Definitely buy the sweater! I think you will be amazed at the number of things (and colors) you can wear it with. I love light and bright colors but when I shop I tend to grab things that I can put on quickly and not worry too much about whether they go together because I know they do. Black is my mainstay but I throw in a lot of white and mostly bright colors for accessories. I’ve often said that my life has been a search for the perfect black skirt.

    Also, I love that dress!!

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    I love color but really don’t add to my wardrobe too much these days being a slave to my computer at home. Where I experience color rut is when I buy yarn and get home a realize I already have a similar color…. I try and make a conscious effort not to do that but find I do it anyway. BTW that blue dress is adorable.

  7. Marjie says:

    I have my closets arranged by style, then by color. Yep, that’s right, everything is sorted by color. Some weeks I’ll just feel like wearing nothing but blue or pink or whatever.

    As to the white, well, I have 9 long sleeved white tops, and I don’t know how many short sleeved ones, plus 4 white long sleeved dresses and some number of short sleeved or sleeveless white ones (I think at least a dozen). They work very well to accent color from a sweater or skirt or whatever. It’s all in the colors that make you happy.

  8. Sue says:

    When I was younger I wore a lot of black, then it seemed everything I had was brown, then gray, then rust. Now I’m really into bright clear color. I’m instantly attracted to purples and pinks, but also go for bright blue or orange. I can’t wear yellow or some shades of green, but I’m seldom attracted to them anyway.

    My color preferences changed over the years and my advice is go with what you like and feel good in. When you reach your limit, you’ll start veering toward other colors. And besides that what accessories are made for.

    Have you read MangoMinster today? It cracked me up.

  9. gypsyknits says:

    hmmm…I have a tendency to lean towards the same color in a given year. Can’t explain it. One year it could be blue and the next it could be orange….lol Either way, it’s what makes you feel good inside and out.

    I like the cardi. Nice colors.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    You know what you like and you like what you wear!

  11. Nichole says:

    Love that Talbots cardi!

Leave a Reply

