Comfort & Cozies

The cover on what Susan passed on to me...

It seems that I’ve moved on from comfort food (only because I don’t live too near Panera’s and their mac n cheese) and into comfort reading. 

gMarie got me hooked on cozy mystery series a while back with the Melanie Travis mysteries.   From there, it’s been one series after another.  (See the book review tab in my categories to the right…)  Now, back to blogging Susan has me 6 ounces deep in the Wine Country series. 

I have to pause and chew on calling my home “town” wine country.  It’s horse country, thanks much.   While I get calling where I currently reside on up through the setting for this series Virginia’s wine country, it was called horse country first and still is.  Don’t get me wrong…  I’m a proud supporter of Virgina wines (especially Horton!)

Anyway, Ms. Crosby did a great job of honoring the geography and landmarks, complete with a disclaimer for the noteworthy liberties she did take (but I promise, unless you’re intimate with the area, you’d never know…)  I couldn’t put it down and read it in two evenings.  I’ve already started the next in the series.

I still love nonfiction and other genres, but when life is a bit hectic, I find great comfort in a cozy mystery.  They hook me quickly and hold my attention without demanding any great internal debate.

What are you reading these days?

15 comments on “Comfort & Cozies

  1. gMarie says:

    I do love reading that doesn’t make me think. Crazy isn’t it? I think alot at work and often with knitting and sewing. I just finished a cute book on my Nook and now I’m back to the paperback by my bed. I must say – I do not know how people read more than one book at a time – I can.not.do.it. It seriously confuses me.

    I wish we would have had the time to explore Virginia’s Horse / Wine country. Maybe in the next year or so. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m a sucker for a good murder mystery! I just finished James Patterson’s Private, #1 Suspect and am back to my favorite Michael Connelly–Lost Light, a Harry Bosch mystery. DH doesn’t know that Harry and I are having a relationship but I think I could call it that after reading seven Bosch mysteries in a row! I do have Bill O’Reilly’s book about the Lincoln assassination waiting in the wings.

  3. just lots and lots of Knitting Fiction—now I am working my way thru the Cedar keys Series!

  4. AlisonH says:

    Everybody knows it’s horse country! C’mon, people, go read Katherine Graham’s autobiography if you don’t know the area…!

    (Nope, can’t link to Wikipedia today. Graham would approve.)

  5. Ruth says:

    I’m reading The House of Seven Gables with the Frankensocks group on Rav, and just about finished with Up From The Projects, an autobigoraphy of Walter E Williams, and have O Jerusalem on the shelf just waiting to be grabbed and read as soon as I get home. Cosy mysteries are a happy place for me, too….but just at the moment I can’t DO a 4th book! 🙂 Also…last time I checked, Wine Country was right near ME…in Napa!

  6. Marjie says:

    I’ve read a few lightweight mysteries on the Kindle in the last week or 2. I still have issues with e-books vs. paper books (page memory, and so forth), but it’s a fun way to collect free books (and, yes, I only get free books for the Kindle)!

  7. Amy says:

    John and I want to try Hornton’s, mainly because they have vines from Dr. Frank’s in New York.

    I’m hooked on Kate Atkinson right now, author of Case Histories!

  8. Sue says:

    Rob downloaded Catherine The Great by Robert Massey on my Fire when he gave it to me, so I’ve been reading it. It’s a very long book, but I love the way he writes.

    Kindle also has a deal a day book. Each day they have a book for a dollar or two. I’ve downloaded several of them, so I have lots of good reads lined up.

    Tonight I’m going to try watching a movie on my Fire. That’ll be a new experience.

  9. kathy b says:

    Just read Making Rounds With Oscar. (the nursing home cat)
    REad Thunder Dog

    more knitting than reading!

  10. Kristyn says:

    I am all about the brain candy when irt comes to my reading material. Right now I am reading the second book in the Stars of Mithra trilogy by Nora Roberts.

  11. Susan, says:

    If you are this hooked on the Wine Country book, with book 1, wait until you get further into the series. I think they just get better!!!

    I have also read the Melanie Travis books. I think I have read 1-5 so far. There are about 15 of them. I will get back to them someday. I have always said that if I was going to have a big dog, it would be a standard poodle.

    Katherine: Killing Lincoln is very good. You will think it is fiction.

    gMarie: My trick for reading 2 books at a time, is one fiction and one non-fiction. That way you are less likely to get them confused.

  12. Mary says:

    Just finished rereading “Persuasion.” Started on “Fry Chronicles” I bought in UK and some books by Carol Drinkwater about her life in France (British actor from All Creatures Great and Small series). Also read David Lebovitz “Sweet Life in Paris.” Yum. Stack of 20+ books waiting bedside along with others on nook. And library just informed me ” Making Toast” awaits my pickup. Guess you can say I am mostly reading when not working and commuting (whoops, I also listened to “Northanger Abbey” on way to work last week:).

  13. Jessica says:

    well, Oregons Willamette Valley used to be Filbert (hazelnut)Country, but now all the nut farms have made way for wineries, and thankfully so because their Pinots are heavenly! grin!
    I am LOVING the cozy tea shop mysteries. have a few left, and then i was thinking i would move on to the wine ones. when i first heard of them, i thought for sure they would take place in Napa though!

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    I haven’t been reading much of anything lately other than patient histories. O.o I do love a good cozy, though.

Leave a Reply

