It’s not me, it’s you

No, really…  I loved the Estee Lauder gal who helped me at the start of the year, even though I went looking for other brands (albeit all from the same parent company — you do know there are precious few parent companies behind most of the cosmetic industry, right?).

photo.JPG

Watching Mama do the makeup thing

I know my eyes are ridiculously sensitive.  I gave up daily eye color and mascara years ago, but frankly… I need concealer now.  I’ve tried the new concealer and foundation separately, together, and I’ve gone makeupless (but only to the firehouse and around the house!) for days.  The verdict is in; I cannot wear this stuff.

And it’s not JUST me.  gMarie also tried some new makeup over the weekend and had the same problems I always do…  the lipstick comes right off and her eyes itched.   It shouldn’t be this hard to primp and preen.

Luckily, Clinique is in the same family of cosmetics and podunk has had a Clinique counter since the stone age.   Change is hard, and this time, it’s bordering on painful, but I did indeed need to leave Mary Kay after a very long, good run with them.

Here’s what I don’t get.  I have two good, very good, friends with allergies I consider far worse than mine.  They’re both professional women who wear makeup for work.  I’m sure my analysis paralysis is part of the problem, but really… it shouldn’t be so hard to find the cosmetics I need that don’t cause my eyes to feel as though they have sand in them, or make it look as though I’m wearing a cherry-red eyeliner…

How was your weekend?  We were iced over, so no walks happened.  The girls didn’t even mind!

18 comments on “It’s not me, it’s you

  1. Mary says:

    You so aren’t alone in finding makeup that doesn’t drive you wild. Of course, like you I basically don’t use much even though I work in a so-called professional environment, but then I am older than you and I don’t really care if I am spiffed up or not. Every once in a while I try to use mascara (replacing anything more than 6 mos old), but I usually end up with the itch or feel like I have grains of sand in my eyes. So, the cost per wearing can be a bit prohibitive. Plus, face it, I am lazy.

    It snowed several inches where we went on Saturday. Darn near fell on my tush multiple times due to icy/snowy conditions. It wasn’t pretty.

  2. gMarie says:

    Oh I wish I had words. I think you just have to change, try something new. And then my neighbor says give it a chance – my eyes don’t look red and puffy. They are just itchy. And it’s under my eyes. Now to figure out which product is causing it.

    Like you, I don’t want to look ‘made up’. But I don’t want to look 50 either. Waiting on word for the next round. g

  3. Katherine says:

    I have very sensitive eyes also. I can only use Almay around my eyes even though I use Josie Maran on the rest of my face. Also, I find that I have to buy new mascara once a month because it gets gloppy and starts burning my eyes.

    I love the picture of Gretchen watching you. I notice she has her toys in bed with her. Sissy seems to be saying, “Could you keep it down? I’m trying to sleep!” Do the girls sleep in their “clothes” (collar and harness)? Macy will stand in the middle of the bed and pat me with her paw until I take her harness off.

  4. AlisonH says:

    I grew up in the Natural Woman cultural phase, but I did use to use mascara–until the day I put it on and all my eyelashes fell out. Boom, gone, bald, right there.

    It was long before I’d ever heard of lupus or that it has hair loss as a sometimes side effect; I had developed small bald patches, too. But the weight of the makeup was just too much and there you go.

    That was the end of the last of my makeup.

  5. Sue says:

    I don’t use any makeup, partly because of my feminist past and partly due to allergies. I have blepharitis, which I had never heard of till my eye doctor diagnosed it. It’s a chronic infection in the eyelids and if not kept under control will go into the eyes. The main symptom is itchy eyes and I mean itchy to the point that I want to scratch them out.

    So now, makeup is out of the question. I wash my face and especially the eye area twice a day with baby shampoo, use an antibiotic ointment at night and steroidal eyedrops during the day. It’s a nuisance, but if I don’t do it, the pain and itching is awful. This seems to be another gift from the region we live in. I never had it before we moved here and the doctor says it’s more common here. What fun!

  6. You are so not alone! I never really got into wearing make-up on daily basis, but I’d like to be able to wear it when I want to do so…Currently, I have some cream-to-powder foundations from Avon/Mark that work well for me everywhere but where I really need it to work. Sigh. I really think a Dr visit re Rosacea is in order here. Love pup on the bed pics. So happy to be back home with mine.

  7. Marjie says:

    4″ of snow on Friday night is now melting in the 43 degree temps. The little boys will be mightily disappointed, I’m sure. I was quite happy that all of my weekend plans included staying home and warm.

  8. Amy says:

    I was lazy ALL weekend. Did nothing, not even knitting. 🙂

  9. Nancy says:

    I gave up makeup a long time ago, too, because of sensitivity. I have whole-heartedly embraced the au natural style.

    This weekend, I did some cleaning and quite a bit of sewing, but sadly, no knitting.

  10. StarSpry says:

    That’s a cute picture 🙂

    My skin is pretty sensitive, too. I don’t wear much makeup, but I’ve been using Alima Pure for the last year and have been really happy with it. Their products are 100% pure mineral pigment makeup without the toxins and irritants that a lot of makeup has in it. I also like Josie Maran’s GOGO Instant Natural Volume Argan mascara because it doesn’t irritate my eyes like a lot of mascaras do.

    I hope you’re able to find something that works for you! The trial and error part isn’t much fun 😦

  11. kathy b says:

    I Change mascara frequently. I buy it cheap and throw it out fast. Almay hypoallergenic doesn’t work for you I take it???? Im sorry you are unable to wear it if you want to. I betcha you are gorgeous anyhow!! Batt those lovely eyes

  12. Walden121 says:

    Not that this helps you out any, but ah . . . it just makes me more glad I don’t wear makeup! 🙂 Hope you find something that works for you.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    Have you tried Clinique?

    Guess what showed up in my mail yesterday, battered, torn, ripped with a big frayed sticker that said recipient not found?

  14. Barbara says:

    As I’ve gotten older, my eyes seem to have faded into the background so I HAVE to wear liner and mascara. And you KNOW I don’t wear a lot of makeup. My skin is very sensitive. I use Yves Saint Laurent eyeliner which goes on easily.

  15. Louise says:

    I rarely wear make-up and since having that eye problem I haven’t even thought about it. I must say to those who have eye allergies and don’t know what the culprit is; check the humidity in your homes!!! I can’t believe the eye and skin problems I was having, which are now on the way to recovery after getting the RIGHT humidifier!

    Snowy weekend in PA with deafening silence because of the “news.”

    Good Luck, Channon!!!

    P.S. Given the choice I too would go with Yves Saint Laurent. Love their products!!!

  16. Nichole says:

    For eye cream and concealer, I swear by Clinique!

  17. Anita says:

    Hey! Miss you!!!
    I have the same issues…. I’ve found that Physician’s Formula mascara, eye shadows & powder work well for me. And I never get the waterproof mascara, there isn’t one out there that doesn’t make my eyes swell up.
    Give the girls a smooch for me!!!

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    Well, you know I’m a recent MAC convert. Still loving that stuff. Physician’s Formula is a good one, too.

Leave a Reply

