Comments and Lincoln

Firstly, I apologize if I fail to answer a comment to any post.  I really do like reading and replying to comments and the conversations that evolve, but despite confirming – repeatedly – that my settings are set for email notification for all comments, WordPress isn’t emailing me squat.  Yes, there are ways around that, but they’re time-consuming and time isn’t something I have a lot of these days, so bear with me and hopefully, WordPress will get back to normal sooner rather than later.

Courtesy of Amazon.com

I’m now on book #5 of the Wine Country series.  Love ’em.  But I took a little break to read Killing Lincoln.  

It really does read like fiction.  I stayed up until 2am to finish it.  Why yes, I did announce in sixth grade that I was devoting my life to history, so I am rather familiar with the plot/facts, but it was still hard to put down.  

As with the setting for the Wine Country cozies, I know the area well.  DC is my college town.   Given gridlock and all the cars on the paved roads these days, I suspect even my notions of travel time were accurate enough, despite the more rustic roads traveled by horseback and/or carriage.

For some reason, despite knowing this was non-fiction, I was expecting more conspiracy theory stuff.  The authors did touch on all of that and mentioned the never implicated but gee isn’t that a coincidence connections more than once, so if you’re not well-versed in the first US presidential assassination, you might find this really insightful. 

Again, despite knowing the story well, I found this hard to put down.   I did get a better feel for Lincoln the man – he hated being called Abe, for instance – and it’s clear that balancing marriage, family and running a nation had worn him down.  I have to wonder though, if he had lived, would he have been able to heal the nation as he so desperately wanted to do?

Now I want to know more about the man who followed him, Andrew Johnson.   Reconstruction and healing definitely aren’t the same thing…

12 comments on “Comments and Lincoln

  1. Katherine says:

    DH and I finished Killing Lincoln a few weeks back and enjoyed it so much that I don’t know why I haven’t recommended it to more people. Two of our sons are reading it now. Very good book!! We are now reading Glenn Beck’s Being George Washington. People seem to have strong reactions to Glenn, but the book is fantastic and I now feel I know the first President in a personal way.

    Bill and I enjoy reading our own book choices and at the same reading one book together, such as the Lincoln and Washington books. Do you ever do that? It is a “together” time that we really enjoy!

    What an exciting advantage you have being so close to Washington and the real history of the subjects!! I would like to spend more time in that part of the country.

  2. AlisonH says:

    I’ve got a Lincoln book that’s been forgotten but in my mental queue for awhile; thank you for the nudge. You know my family’s Lincoln story. http://spindyeknit.com/2007/12/honest-abe/

  3. Sue says:

    Rob and I joined The Surratt Society when we lived in Maryland and I’m now a lifetime member. The house is a museum and has a vast Lincoln and assassination library. We took the twelve hour John Wilkes Boothe escape tour and we lived only a few miles from Tudor Hall, the boyhood home of JWB. We attended a dinner theater there. The Society send out a wonderful monthly newsletter filled with info not found in most books on the period.

    Our home library also has a whole section on the Civil War and Lincoln. It’s pretty fascinating.

  4. gMarie says:

    I don’t read anything with too much weight, but I do like learning about the presidents. Might be interesting. g

  5. Jessica says:

    Now you need to read Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter!!!
    hee hee!

    I have been hearing more and more about that book. Might need to pick up a copy.

  6. Marjie says:

    I’ve heard about this book. I’m still digesting a book on the Lincoln assassination which Mark read over the summer because it was assigned as required reading for the boy next door, who’s also in 7th grade. (That was completely inappropriate for 7th graders, because it was too in-depth, and, frankly kinda boring, and I told my neighbor so. She agreed.) I have free Kindle books on Lincoln and Washington that were written a very long time ago, and I’ll get to reading them one of these days.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I’m not usually a non-fiction girl, but this sounds interesting!

  8. The book sounds awesome…I must add it to my ever-growing list. Hubs and I both finished Up From The Projects, so now I’m starting O Jerusalem. I wonder if Killing Lincoln is available from Audible….

  9. Mr. Puffy says:

    Interesting. I love a nice historical read. Did you see the movie recently released (within the past couple of years) about his assassination? It was called Conspirator. It was well done as a historical piece.

  10. Susan, says:

    Wow , you blew through book 4 of the Wine Country!!!. I second the recommendation of Killing Lincoln. You think you are reading fiction, but if you are’t careful, you might learn something. I have Being Washington, but haven’t started it yet!!!

  11. gypsyknits says:

    Oh I so like a good nonfiction book so thank you for the review. Looks like this one will be added to my queue. Remind me to tell you my family’s Lincoln ‘connection’.

  12. Amy says:

    I have to say, I did love ‘Abraham Lincoln : Vampire Hunter’. I often pass on non-fiction because I hate the way it so often reads, and I always feel like I’m reading a text book. But I think that I may have to check this one out.

    I’m with you; when I was young, I wanted to devote myself to history as well. Which is a lot of the reason that I do CW re-enactment.

Leave a Reply

