Spam, Fam, Shadows

December 2011 015Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and the day MJ gets to go home.  See,  my MIL had a knee replacement on Monday, and she’s going home shortly.  The new hospital is stunning – and odd, because you enter on the third floor, which is indeed at ground level – but there’s no place like home. 

So, about that title.  Spam.  I found all of your sweet comments in my spam folder, after gMarie so smartly advised that I look there.  Hem.  It never entered my mind that after years of comments coming to my inbox without incident that they’d suddenly ALL go to spam.  So, mea culpa WordPress, and a big ol’ raspberry to Gmail.   I like the IDEA of spam filters, but …

Shadows.  Of course Phil saw his shadow.  There were 4 billion kilowatts of stage lighting shining on him so that the media could get pretty photos and video.  Hem.  Anyway, I too feel winter isn’t done with us yet.  No, I don’t read almanacs or anything, it’s just a hunch.

December 2011 012

Sissy says there's nothing worse than squeezing into a dress that's too small - yes, that's the same dress Gretchen is wearing in the previous photo!

And it seems I spoke too soon on my dress situation for Saturday.  The dress fits, but awkwardly so.  I wear the same size I wore when last I wore it, but… it’s not the same body.  I’m having trouble reconciling my love for the frock versus my disdain for specialty underpinnings.  Good thing I have a back-up, but remember?  That spare dress needs shoes and I don’t have time to shop.  Le sigh.  What’s a girl to do?  (Other than try harder to TRULY be prepared…)

Since it is Thorsday aka: Dogs on Thursday, do pop over and read about the dog-help book on my radar.  Do you read self-help or advice books? 

And thankful thursday…  it’s a list kinda’ day.

  • I’m thankful MJ’s surgery went well.  
  • I’m thankful for family, the sort where we can have aunts and uncles from both sides of the Knight’s family at one table with lots of laughter and good company. 
  • I’m thankful that I have a cushy life where I can worry about whether to wear the dress that needs a special bra or the dress I don’t LOVE. 
  • I’m thankful for the best friends a gal could want, both locally and otherwise.
  • I’m thankful for a husband who doesn’t even roll his eyes while I babble about my attire woes.
  • I’m thankful for the sunshine!!

What are you thankful for today?

13 comments on “Spam, Fam, Shadows

  1. gMarie says:

    Yea – glad the comments are found! Love wee gg in her pretty frock – Sissy looks less than impressed. I hope you took it off quickly!

    I have lots to be thankful for. Not the least of which is 2 cars fitting in the garage.

    g

  2. Nancy says:

    While I know Winter is going to last longer, I am thankful that it has been mild. I do hope it will leave abundant snow in the mountains and allow Spring to bring lots of liquid moisture.

    I am thankful for a variety hobbies and adequate resources which allow me to be productive while helping others.

  3. Katherine says:

    So glad to hear that your MIL’s surgery went well and she gets to go home. I dislike hospitals, no matter how beautiful. There is no substitute for home!

    I saw a woman on TV wearing a black and white dress and electric blue shoes. It seems that anything goes in the shoe category these days–even high top sneakers. I kid you not, my granddaughter wore a gorgeous silver dress with high top Converse sneakers to her recent prom. She wasn’t the only one wearing them! I’m not suggesting you go THAT far but that maybe you could make an unusual pairing of dress and shoe. LOL

    I’m thankful furry hugs today. I needed them this morning!!

  4. AlisonH says:

    Glad she’s doing well! And glad for laughter and love and to be able to knit to help create a little more of that in the world.

  5. Sue says:

    I always wonder why no one mentions that they drag poor old Phil out of his den in the middle of the night with powerful lights shining in his sleepy eyes. Of course he sees his shadow. What silliness. Why don’t they let the poor guy sleep?

    WordPress won’t let me see your links, so I don’t know what the book is, but yes, I read self help books, but I often disagree with them.

  6. Marjie says:

    Go for the specialty underpinnings. You’ve been pining to wear THE dress, and you’ll be just a touch sad if you don’t. Or that’s my opinion.

    Glad to hear that MJ is doing well. Of course, we didn’t know about her surgery, but it’s nice to hear positive news after the fact.

    So, Happy Groundhog Day. I’m pretty sure Ol’ Man Winter is not done with us, especially since he really never even started!

  7. Nichole says:

    I’m thankful for finally taking a step to getting out from under a tremendous weight on my shoulders today……… ahhhhhhh….

    Glad MJ is doing well and headed home!

  8. Mr. Puffy says:

    You have so much to be thankful for :))) I think it’s important to feel comfortable so I would opt for the backup dress and I’m sure it will look perfect with shoes you already have!

  9. kathy b says:

    Gretchen in Tule is toooo cute. Im thankful for Bill Murray’s antics and Ground hog Day the movie. Im thankful for our local NOODLES offering 25% of your bill to our local animal shelter tonight.

  10. Dressed up Gretchie is adogable, as usual. Thankful for a quiet evening and hubs getting a 3 day weekend! Shh…don’t tell anyone so they can’t change their mind about that.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful God gave me a healthy body to run, dance and play!

  12. The girls look beautiful in their dresses and a backup dress is always good to have in ones closet glad to hear MJ is feeling better:)
    My hubby’s Birthday was ground hogs day we just had cake and I watched him laugh with our girls as they dismantled the cake gleefully eating the chocolate pieces off of it will have to post on my blog with hubby’s help tonight.
    I’m thankful that I live where I do
    I’m thankful for my husband who is there for me no matter what and we celebrate our 8 yr Anniversary on Valentines Day and his parents are going to be here it will be their first visit.
    I’m thankful for my friends who keep me going.

  13. britknitter says:

    I hope your MIL is doing well. Mom had three knees replaced (she fell and damaged one of her replacements, ugh) and it was a rough recovery every time. Healing thoughts going out to MJ!

Leave a Reply

