Hummin’ along…

photo.JPG

Wish I was there... OBX Fall '11

Can someone go buy a new ceiling fan for my office?  This one is dying and has a very annoying hum.   And so goes my day.  I’ve been steady-busy, but I honestly don’t know what I have to show for it.

I am “buying” free books for Nook and Kindle left and right, but I still have two non-fiction books open.  I have countless works in progress that I’m not knitting.  However, I’m getting in long, fast, hard walks with the dogs every single day.  My beloved walking shoes are worn out, and the newish ones the New Balance fit expert sold me feel like combat boots.  I realize I should drag myself and both pairs of shoes to my local running shop for a proper recommendation and fit, but it’s in the University district and you just have NO idea how nearly impossible it is for me to get down there, much less find a place to park…

What has you hoppin’ – or better still, hopin’?  I’m filled with hope and anticipation as I begin to plan for the upcoming year with the League, so it’s not all annoying noises and sad shoes.

11 comments on “Hummin’ along…

  1. Hyouten says:

    I’m doing the same thing on my Kindle: grabbing free books faster than I can read them. It’s gonna take a while before I read all of those free books. Before this year ends, my goal is to read all those free books I downloaded.

  2. Nancy says:

    Hopefully, this week I can take a road trip and do some shopping. I need some new walking shoes (I like Nike) and some slacks. It will be fun to browse the mall.

    I have been on a free Kindle book “buying” spree, too. Now, I need to just sit down and READ.

  3. Amy says:

    That reminds me – I should buy a new pair of sneakers for work. I usually go to Kohl’s; I’ve never had bad luck with buying shoes there. I have flat feet, so for athletic type shoes, I really need something with almost no arch support, or I’m in pain all night long.

    I’d love to be some place warm and sunny right now!

  4. Marjie says:

    I’m hoping that our business picks up, lest the country falls back into recession, because my industry is the first to notice a downturn. I’m hoping for some snow for my boys, and that it’s all over by March 1. I’m hoping to figure out how all of my days are escaping from me without my noticing, and what is eating up all of my time (mostly year end tax crap, I think). And I’m hoping President’s Day weekend is quiet, so I can get 4 days of good sleep in a row!

  5. gMarie says:

    I wanna know where you are finding “free” books worth reading. I’ve bought a lot of relatively inexpensive books and I’m reading more with the Nook than I have in a long time. I didn’t think I’d like it as well as I do. Still don’t love it for laying in bed reading.

    I need new shoes too. Been having horrible shin splints when I walk the dogs and I think that’s my shoes – but since i have a race on Saturday – the last thing I want is blisters, so……

    g

  6. Katherine says:

    I am reading The Haunted Bookshop by Christopher Morley (it’s not free but only a few dollars) and it is a great read!! I recommend it to all.

    I bought a pair of those odd workout shoes with the rounded bottom and wore them exactly three times. I can’t keep my balance in them and have my doubts about how much they are adding to my workout. I wish the doubts had come before I bought them. Glad you are keeping those doggies going!!

  7. Sue says:

    I just ordered some lightweight walking shoes. I really hate heavy shoes.

    Do you have both a Nook and a Kindle? Are the books interchangeable? I have a lot of books waiting on the Kindle. I find I use it for reading and the Fire for internetting and games.

    I usually get about nothing done during the day. Maybe taking dogs out every two hours has something to do with that.

  8. Barbara S. says:

    Haven’t seen free Nook books (are they free for the app too?) but do keep getting free Kindle ones; like others, faster than I can read them, along with my paper books.
    Been slacking on exercise, too bad Miss O doesn’t like a leash or walks to get me out.

  9. Mary says:

    I’ve been downloading books from the library…up to four at a time for 7, 14 or 21 days (you can choose the length of time). I usually do 7 days and read most in one or two days (at night only – I am a fast reader). Not always a huge selection, but nooks can take two different versions of ebooks so I search both kinds when looking for books. Have bought some books and a couple of magazines (not a fan of emags).

    Sounds like you have a busy schedule ahead of you, but I bet you enjoy it.

  10. Nichole says:

    I should be out walking with the dogs during the day, but I think I’ve mentioned the lack of sidewalks in our neighborhood… and nevermind the cold, brisk wind we’ve had lately. I keep looking out the window and thinking we should be out there… Kudos to you for all the walking! Zeus wishes you lived nearby…

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    Being back at work has me hoppin’. Sometimes I don’t know how I find time to breathe, much less do laundry, homework, play with Micro, clean, etc.. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

