Toms Katia

No, that’s not some funky Chanism for Tom & Katie.  I’m not a big celebrity watcher.  However, after spending too much time in heels last week, flats are really speaking to me, even though I know they too hurt my feet and back with too much time standing…

Photo courtesy of Toms

And I’d be lying if I didn’t confess that I’m being sucked into the bright spring fashion hues and envisioning lots of skirts and dresses and flats.  So I clicked through an ad on a blog and eventually found myself on Tom’s website on the page for their new ballet flats, Katia.   The chambray really calls out to me, but I wouldn’t turn down the entire collection. 

Here’s where I need your help.  The website sends a mixed message; they saw these flats are sized to an industry standard, but then say for returning customers to size down.  Since I’m generally a 6.5 but not always, does that mean I order a 6 or a 6.5?!

What are you eyeing for spring?

This entry was posted in shoes.

12 comments on “Toms Katia

  1. gMarie says:

    I can’t help you with the Toms. Spring seems to find me in my bright cotton fuller skirts with white tees. I also need some new skorts this year – I think. Maybe something other than denim? I’m also wanting dresses this year – lots and lots of dresses, knits and cottons in fun, fun prints. I would love to find a pair of red sandals and maybe some cute ballet flats.

    g

  2. Katherine says:

    I fell in love with the Toms Native American design Lina and ordered them. I ordered a whole size smaller and wear them even though they are a bit snug. They probably will not last as long as I would like because of that. I would say a half size smaller!

    I’m looking forward to this summer because I think the fashion industry is going to give us some of the cutest outfits in smashing colors that we have seen in a while. At my age I’m hoping for shirts that hit around an inch above the knee, interesting flats like the Toms, and colorful shirts. Am I dreaming?

  3. Barbara says:

    What the heck does that mean??? Guess you better go down to a 6 and then you’ll probably have to send them back. 😦

  4. Nichole says:

    Oh those are cute! I’ve been eyeing some Toms lately, but have yet to find a flat that fits well and I love. Question – what do you wear with flats like that… no socks? Peds? Trouser socks? I love the look for flats and jeans, but haven’t figured out “how” to wear them yet.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Those are cute! Maybe trace your foot, measure, and ask?

  6. Sue says:

    WordPress ate my first comment, so I’ll try again.

    It seems that the ‘standard’ isn’t standard in women’s clothes including shoes. Unless you try them on you really don’t know. If they have a good return policy, go for it.

  7. kathy b says:

    Let me ask AL when she gets up. She loves those shoes

  8. Kathy says:

    Wow, lots of shoe posts lately. Does this mean we’ll soon be reading about your shoe purchases, both flats and athletic?

    Those Toms are very cute. I have no experience with them thus nothing to contribute about the size.

  9. Marjie says:

    I’d go for the 6.5. I figure you can always cut a piece of felt to fit inside the shoe, which will keep your feet from sweating into the shoe in the summer and tighten up the fit a wee bit (one of my favorite tricks), and if the 6.5 is on the biggish side, that will solve it. But if the shoe’s too small, you’re just sunk.

    And I do put felt in my shoes, and replace it often. Nothing like feeling that your shoes are fresh and new, and 9×12 pieces of felt are pretty cheap.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Dresses. Love dresses.

  11. Amy says:

    I want to find cute maternity clothes that won’t cost me an arm and a leg. Mainly dresses, because I’ll be hitting the ‘heavy’ months in the summer.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    I’ve been wanting to try a pair of those, too. You’ll have to let me know what you decide as far as size goes. We’ve been having lots of spring-like weather here, but I’d feel a little funny wearing any spring dresses in early February. (Not that I’m worried about what people would think…more my OCD, “it’s not *time*”, kinda thing.) 😉

Leave a Reply

