Do you wear a uniform?

September 2010 004

9-11-10

I’m not talking THAT kind of uniform, although I confess that I loved the lack of stress involved in getting dressed when I was a firefighter.  The only option I had was whether to wear navy or black socks… 

I’m talking about the staples in your wardrobe, the things you reach for day after day and they never let you down.   For instance, Marjie loves the ease of a dress.  Pull it on, pick shoes, and voila!  You’re dressed.   gMarie loves a fun print skirt and a colorful tee for summer wear.  Jessi would be lost without her jeans and tees… you get the picture. 

Maybe it’s because I wore a very limited, no real options to speak of uniform for over a decade, but I don’t have a uniform.   I love the freedom of no real dress code in my life, but it makes getting ready in the mornings a hassle.  I love the ease of dress-wearing, but it isn’t always practical for my work in a construction industry office, the firehouse, etc. 

Anyway…  I’m curious to hear whether or not you have a go-to formula for dressing.

13 comments on “Do you wear a uniform?

  1. Nichole says:

    For 6 months, my weekday uniform consisted of black pants and a simple top… no patterns, no stripes. It got to be quite boring, but man was it easy to get dressed in the morning!
    Lately my uniform consists of jeans and all my favorite tees, hoodies and fleece that I haven’t had much time to wear lately.
    Like Jessi, I’d be lost without my jeans and tees, esp on weekends!

  2. Nancy says:

    Since I retired, my “uniform” is pretty casual – jeans and tees or sweats. The only time I wear my old “teacher uniform” is at church.

  3. Sue says:

    My uniform is mud resistant and drool resistant jeans and comfy tops.

  4. Marjie says:

    You know mine! Of course, skirts and tops are fun, and I’m hankering for a few new skirts right now. If you keep basic colored skirts or pants available, you can wear tops in any fun color you desire! But for girls built like you and me, I suggest avoiding button down the front. The gap just isn’t all that attractive.

  5. Walden121 says:

    Jeans, tank top, t-shirt and sneakers. I’ll admit, I sometimes wish it was something more complex, but it’s just not in my heart to do so. 🙂

  6. i am easy==elastic waist jeans, and a tunic style shirt, summer fall winter spring, just the sleeve length and fabric weight change!!!

  7. Katherine says:

    I resist anything uniform like after spending many years in retail operations. Managers were required to “dress” preferably in designer clothes and I can tell you for absolute certain that a woman can get really tired of designer clothes!! Now it is strictly pants/skirt, shirt and jacket/sweater, also jeans when I can get away with it. I try to stick to black, brown, navy pants or skirts with bright colors on top. That makes getting dressed in the morning much easier. I love a tank and a camp shirt over crop pants or jeans in the summer!

  8. gMarie says:

    I love a bright print skirt with a solid tee. This winter I’ve been wearing a lot of solid skirts – denim, twill, boring stuff – with bright solid sweaters. It does make getting dressed easy and I have an entire drawer full of white tee shirts – seriously. g

  9. Barbara says:

    Absolutely I do. (Is that age?) I used to snicker to myself when a good friend seemed to wear nearly the same thing every day…and now I find myself doing that too. I have a (mostly) basic outfit for going out for dinner and another for meetings and the most casual for errands. I don’t wear dresses at all, only own a couple,…mostly skirts or slacks.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Dresses in summer, jeans and boots in winter!

  11. Jessica says:

    i USED to wear a uniform, especially in the winter months, but in the past year i have finally started to build a WARDROBE, and i FREAKING love it!!! Sally at Already Pretty is totally my wardrobe inspiration. The fact that she has a similar body type as me is a huge help.
    I suppose that my long over lean/sweater over leggings or skinny jeans with boots is a tad bit of a uniform…but i seem to have enough variety now that it is moving into wardrobe territory.

  12. Amy says:

    Well, I have to wear a real uniform (scrubs) for work, so it isn’t very hard getting ready on the nights that I have to work my shift. The other days, I let it go by mood. Lately it hasn’t been anything amazing, because I’ve been so ‘blah’ with the morning sickness. But, I plan on wearing new pants (kelly green!) with a cute navy blouse and three inch heels to my birthday party this weekend.!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    You know me so well. LOL Jeans and tees on the weekends, scrubs during the week. 😉

Leave a Reply

