Monkey vines

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and almost long weekend for some of you in the USA.  Not that I’m jealous or anything… because I sure am.

photo.JPG

I finally got a very special thank you up on the girls’ blog.   Despite the other animal title, my post does kinda’ have something to do with the dogs, because it is Thorsday after all!

Growing up, I loved to find monkey vines in the woods, especially those shaped like a school-yard swing.   I can’t tell you want a relief it was that searching Wikipedia turned up a link to said vines, because I was sure it was some silly nonsense my mother had made up and it would take me hours of research to find a name the rest of you might know…

photo.JPG

That’s a great cluster of monkey vines.  All of the photos in this post were taken on our walk Sunday.  We’re blessed to have awesome neighbors who maintain a maze of paths back through the woods, up the little mountain, beside the river, and up back through the fields too.   Sunday, it was bitter cold and very windy, but for some reason, it seemed like a good day to let Sissy dictate our route, and we ended up fording a little stream. 

photo.JPG

Both girls got their feet wet.  I tried to stop Gg and pick her up, but my sometimes fearful girl will follow her big sister through the gates of hell.  Here, she’s playing Vanna and showing  you the glorious steps built into the banks on each side of the little stream.  I was able to leap across, but the girls just waded on through…

photo.JPG

I love my long walks with the girls, and I can’t thank my neighbors enough for allowing us to use their trails. 

photo.JPG

Do you have good neighbors?

14 comments on “Monkey vines

  1. Nancy says:

    What fun it would be to explore your neighbors’ trails. It is kind of them to allow you access.

    I have some really good neighbors and some not so good, but overall, I live in a nice and friendly neighborhood.

  2. gMarie says:

    Well I have some very good neighbors and some very, very bad ones. But nobody has trails. In fact, it is my husband who maintains the path through the woods that the kids use to get to school each day. They all appreciate it and usually bring us cookies.

    I’ve never seen monkey vines, but those look very interesting. I love wee GG playing Vanna – she’s good. g

  3. Mary says:

    I live in Kudzu-land…both in terms of people and the vegetation. Actually I spend very little time in my neighborhood since I tend to leave and return in the dark…literally and otherwise and am gone 12-13 hours a day. DH on the other hand works at home, walks the neighborhood (with our dogs) at least three times a day and is known locally as ‘the mayor” since he is the neighborhood watch guy. There isn’t much going on in the ‘hood’ he doesn’t know about. We call Jake (our Staffordshire Bull Terrier) ‘Deputy Mayor Dawg’ since he constantly watches out the window for anyone doing something he/she/it shouldn’t.

  4. Amy says:

    Living in a town house, I’m lucky that at least one of my neighbors is good. The one on the left is fantastic, while the one on the right …. not so much.

  5. Katherine says:

    We have seen the good, the bad and the ugly (in terms of annoyance). At this time we have wonderful neighbors on one side and on the other side one who, when we replaced the fence torn apart by high wind, said “I hope you don’t expect me to pay for half of that.” We didn’t! Then she said, “Now the fence will not match my back and other side fences. What do you plan to do about that?” Mmmmm–nothing? When her dog kept getting into the field behind us due to the collapsed fence I called her because I was afraid the little pup would be stepped on by one of the horses. She said to me, “Well just take her in the house and keep her until I get home.” You can see why we avoid her as much as possible!!

  6. Marjie says:

    I have a neighbor who bitches and moans because our leaves blow into her yard and she’s going broke paying to have them cleaned up. Never mind that she’s across a street from us, and directly backed up to a very large wooded area that we don’t own. Then she came over to try to order us to NOT plant the trees we bought last October, because she didn’t want more leaves in her yard. I pointed out to her that she wouldn’t have to rake leaves if she moved to a condo, say in downtown Scranton, where they don’t have evil green things about.

    She perfectly exemplifies why we have our 10 acres completely fenced, and usually have the gate closed.

  7. Sue says:

    We only know one of our neighbors, but they are the best. We’re very lucky to share our street with them.

  8. Nichole says:

    Lovely photos! I wish we had neighbors like you… and I long to someday move out further into the woods!

  9. kathy b says:

    MOstly yes, wonderful neighbors. currently one is kind of abusing a privilege…..
    her young son just knocked on our door and asked us to move our cars out of the driveway so he could play with our basketball hoop……..am i being crabby? They often knock on our doors completely ignoring that we work odd hours and sleep at different times….(the mom does not work outside the home at all)
    but mostly they are great

  10. kathy b says:

    Wow, Im usually not negative Chan,…but that felt soooo good.

  11. kathy says:

    How wonderful to have all those trails outside your door. I live in a typical suburbanish city neighborhood of single family homes so I don’t have that sort of thing. However, Rene often takes our pup FURTHER into the city to run in the woods. (It’s the wild part of a park, right in the center of Houston, but makes you feel far away.)

    I can’t complain about the neighbors. I have met many more of them since I got the pup and walk her. I have met all the dog owners and definitely the yellow Lab people. We are plentiful!

    As for the above commentator Kathy B: Yes, it is totally wrong for your neighbor to ask you to move your cars to use your basketball hoop. Key word is YOURS. Not HIS!

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I want trails in my backyard.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Looks like you have a beautiful walking area. We’re lucky to have a walking trail around the lake, but honestly I don’t take advantage of it as often as I should.

Leave a Reply

