Bridgeport?

Photo from 6pm.com

I’m trying REALLY hard to make very mindful purchases when it comes to my wardrobe, which includes footwear.   Unfortunately, sometimes there’s a great deal and I compromise.  I’m still not sure if that’s the case with MIA’s Bridgeport

Yes, the zippers run up the “outside” side of each boot, but that’s really the only thing I don’t totally love about these boots.  They fit like custom-made, and that aged, natural leather is dreamy.    I can’t seem to will it to be cold enough to wear my brown and cream sweater dress with them though.  Sigh.

I’m also thinking they want denim.  I have a chambray dress (well, two… but don’t tell the Knight, and I mean the not Lilly P one) that also wants these boots.  I should have worn that today, because the long-sleeved tee and cardi, jeans and flats I have on aren’t working; upper body is warm, hips to mid-calf are comfy, and feet are chilly.  Hrmph.

How do you bridge the seasons?  It’s still technically winter here – and might be literally so, since they’re calling for snow this weekend – but my eyes want spring.  They want me to wear coral, that cream of the boots, bright navy, any greens…

I have absolutely no plans this weekend and am looking forward to finding my knitting mojo and maybe starting some baby knitting.  There’s a little boy due very soon, and I know his parents would appreciate a little hat or socks, or … whatever Mojo and I can manage.

12 comments on “Bridgeport?

  1. gMarie says:

    Those boots are lovely and I think you could wear them with many many things. Denim skirt – yes! Plaid pencil skirt – yes! Any of the Lily P knit dresses you have – yes!! The zippers on the outside are currently in style. Pull the trigger. g

  2. Mary says:

    Wow, those would be hip boots on my stubby legs. You go, girl.

    As for straddling the seasons…well, I don’t. I pretty much wear the same things year-round, just in different layers. All black, all the time. Limited palette, eh? Layers are required because my office is colder in the summer than winter. I keep least three large shawls/scarves in my office so that I can wrap up various body parts.

  3. AlisonH says:

    I’m not a huge boot person but I like those! My budget is safe, though; nobody makes boots in 6.5 EE. Which is probably why I’m not a huge boot person–it would be pointless to want to be.

    But I like those!

  4. Sue says:

    I love boots and used to wear them all the time. Those are very pretty. Back in New York I had a summer wardrobe and a winter one and some things that bridged. Here the seasons aren’t as distinct so it doesn’t really matter. Just adjust layers.

  5. Katherine says:

    Those are gorgeous boots and I love the zipper on the outside! I like things that are different, like the dresses we are seeing these days that have the zipper sewn on the outside. Kinda neat!

    There is not much in the way of seasonal change here in Texas but I do find myself wearing short sleeve tees and shirts under my sweater or jacket instead of the long sleeve, heavier weight shirts. Then as the weather heats up the layers begin to come off.

  6. Marjie says:

    I bridge the seasons with short sleeves under a jacket or sweater. Otherwise I’d be too cold or too warm, depending upon where I’d moved to. I’m not wild about the zipper on the outside of the boots, but if they’re comfortable, you will probably learn to love them anyway! I think they’d go great with a tan or brown dress, or even one in a wild floral!

  7. Kathy says:

    Cute! And apparently quite affordable according to the website you linked to. You’ve got clothes to wear them with. I say go for it!

  8. Nichole says:

    Cute boots… they totally look like they need some flowy dresses and skinny jeans!
    Happy Knitting this weekend… and don’t forget the Shootout is on Saturday night. Sounds like a perfect Saturday night in – racing, knitting…pups!

  9. kathy b says:

    Baby knitting is so so satisfying and quick!! ENJOY.

    THose boots are amazing. IM not help at all…GET THEM

  10. You queued one of my “go to” hats….the Fetching Inspired hat. I just made a little green one a week ago, and currently have a larger red one OTN. Quick, and oh so satisfying. You and those Grrls enjoy your quiet weekend…together.

  11. Barbara says:

    I’m no help. 🙂 Yes, there ARE seasons here, but often barely noticeable. I own boots, though. For when I visit in the north and I also have a pair of Wellies for heavy rain, which is something we DO get here.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Very cute boots. Although, I’d never be able to pull them off because I’d have them dirty within 5 minutes. Drama Llama gets her clumsy from me. 😉

Leave a Reply

