Big Buddha?

 

photo from an eBay listing

Okay, so I tend to NOT be a trendsetter…  Saturday, I stumbled across a bright red Big Budda Kim.   I’d heard of Big Budda, but all I knew was that they did “vegan leather” bags.   Since I didn’t know anything else about the company or their products, I left the bag, and began regretting that decision before I got home.

I’ve lusted after a red, patent leather satchel since I notice a Louis Vuitton bag on a plane over a year ago.  I need a larger bag once in a while, but I am still quite happy with my green Tig for daily use, and I’m not about to spend a few mortgage payments on a handbag, even if my nephew’s great-granddaughter could inherit it one day.

Ariel, from the BB site

Anyway, while I’m sitting here nursing my failed to buy it remorse, do you know Big Buddha?   I’m enamoured with a few of their current styles/colors… 

One of the reasons I love “vegan leather” or pleather or vinyl or PVC or… not real leather is because I love a big bag but my back can no longer suffer the vainglory heft of a leather tote. 

It goes without saying that I like the idea of a bag that doesn’t need to be coddled.  I pushed the Knight’s buttons yesterday when during the snowstorm, I tossed my precious green Tig bag onto the console in the chiefmobile, hitting the switch and turning on the siren in the grocery store parking lot.   Hem.  One might suggest that given our lifestyle, I shouldn’t carry a bag that can’t sit in the floorboard with salt, grease, mud, etc.

How was your weekend?  Did anyone/thing push your buttons?

This entry was posted in Bags.

16 comments on “Big Buddha?

  1. gMarie says:

    Oh Ariel is very interesting! I have never heard of them. I like a bag I can throw around, will hold what I need right now and what I might need on a short day trip (add knitting and nook). There is a moth on the ceiling in my living room – I hope there are no more in my house. Sounds like you literally and figuratively pushed The Knights buttons. g

  2. Nancy says:

    I’ve never heard of the bag, but it sounds interesting.

    re: button pushing – I’ve missed out on ordering a Bountiful Basket for two weeks because it has sold out. The morale here might be: “don’t share a good thing” because it will become too popular. I’m going through BB withdrawal, and it’s not a pretty sight! :o(

  3. AlisonH says:

    Oh, that’s FUNNY! Well, next time, bright red would match the siren, right?

  4. Sue says:

    It was a pretty good weekend. We stayed home to keep an eye on Tsar and he’s doing well. Something in that brain is still working because he refuses to eat dogfood and wants only white meat turkey or chicken, and he wants his meat warm not right out of the fridge. Does it sound like he’s better? Today he’s walking almost normally and his eyes look good again. He only got me up once during the night to pee.

    Cafe Press, have you ever dealt with them? At Christmas they offered to transfer a photo onto a stretched canvas and I thought about doing it, but never got around to i. This weekend they offered it at half price, so Tsar is going to have his portrait on the wall soon. For some reason that makes me feel giddy.

  5. Nichole says:

    Oh, what a very pretty RED bag! Love! Of course, I’m destashing some of my bags over here so I have *zero* right to even think of looking at a new one…

    No buttons pushed this weekend… amazingly!

  6. kathy b says:

    THose bags are both amazingly cute…..I’ve been in love with my sierra trading post Ameribags, for purse/packs since august. I love to sling it over my shoulder and GO. I’m such a casual dresser!!!

    A FELLOW worker pushed my buttons last night. knit pickers drive me nuts and managers who are always negative in their interactions never get along with me…..BUT I managed to let it go and have a nice night with a fellow co worker.

  7. Marjie says:

    Turning on the siren in the Chiefmobile is a hoot! Betcha the little kids in the parking lot loved it, even if Mr. Chan didn’t.

    I always stand my purse on the hump next to the seat in the car, or toss it in the back seat of a 2 door car. Of course, if I’m the passenger, it hits the floor. Naturally, mine is vinyl, because I can’t fathom big bucks for real leather.

  8. Katherine says:

    I like Ariel!! I also like the green and white BB satchel and have been tempted to order it. Leather does take some upkeep and attention, as in sitting in a safe place, so I usually end up holding mine in my lap. When I get the bag and the dog in my lap together, I usually wish I had stayed home.

  9. SusanB-knits says:

    Love the bags! I’ve recently started collecting knitting bags!? I never would’a thought I’d be so into bags but here I am wanting more, lol.
    I’ll have to look into vegan bags. I like the idea of low maintenance bags.

  10. Mary says:

    LOL over the siren. Hilarious! Wish I could have seen the Knight’s face…actually NOT having trouble imagining the look you must have gotten (don’t let him see this or he won’t like me anymore).

    I have a large pleather bag I picked up in Bruges in December. No one seems to be able to tell that it isn’t leather. Came with regular handles and an adjustable, slim shoulder strap that I can actually throw over my head to carry the bag cross-bodily. Of course, I had so much stuff crammed in it when I came back from overseas that it sort of defeated the “lighter” part of the equation.

    Haven’t tried BB but have looked at them periodically. Eb*gs sells some of them, too, so good to check out when there are sales and free shipping.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I went to a writing conference.

    I took my pink bag. 🙂

  12. Susan, says:

    Guess I don’t see the high maintenace aspect of leather. My leather bag gets thrown everywhere my other bags do!!! Don’t condition them or anything, and they will out last me!!!!

    I specialize in buttons!!! 😉 (evil giggle)

  13. Carol says:

    Beautiful! I love the color red!

  14. km says:

    Love the siren! Would have liked to have been there! I’ve toted my seatbelt bag for so long. It’s heavy, but sturdy. I’ve got my go-go bag (wallet on a string with a pocket thrown in). So lightweight, but the microfiber is getting dirty. A gal at Brighton introduced me to a new bag but I can’t find it on their website. The straps make it convert from a purse to a backpack. It’s on my b-day wish list. $300 is a bit pricy, but the bag is perfect.

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    Loving the siren story. /snicker/ And I do love a bright red purse.

  16. […] the Big Buddha I fell for and then couldn’t find again?  Well, I did find it again, and it has come to live […]

Leave a Reply

