Irony defined

photo

One FO hint...

Remember when this was a knitting blog?  Me neither.  Hem.  I do have two sweet projects that I WILL block tonight and share soon, but in the meantime, my warped sense of humor is delighting in Ash Wednesday falling on Margarita Day, or vice versa.

To continue the irony, the drinkers among you will find it entertaining that the gal who only sips white wine loves a GOOD ‘rita on the rocks.  John Anderson’s Straight Tequila Night was an instant favorite the moment I heard it, even if the only parts that are true for me are the bits about sipping white wine most of the time and the generalization that she’s also a tequila girl.  I stopped doing shots of tequila long ago, but there’s still a place in my heart for a top-shelf margarita on the rocks, easy on the salt, extra lime.

DSCN2546

Not *MY* bare feet... I actually don't even go barefoot on the beach that much!

Does anyone else’s mind get carried away with the word association game, set to music?  Joe Nichols’  Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off is dancing through my head now, although that one’s not too true for me either.  Heck, I rarely kick out of my shoes unless I’m at home, the airport or the beach.  I love being barefoot, but I’m also a little uptight about what else might have been where I need to walk.  (No, you don’t really want to be in the TSA line with me.  Only a few girlfriends of old, the ones on my last trip to Chicago, have seen what happens when I don’t feel safe putting  my little piggies on the floor at Dulles…  I love them all for their buttoned lips.)

Back to the first dose of irony…  Anyone else like Miranda Lambert’s Heart Like Mine

Between yesterday’s beads and today’s booze, I feel I’m having some sort of flashback to my early 20s, which inspires me to channel Larry the Cable Guy and say, “Lord, I apologize…”  There are plenty of others I should apologize to as well…

What are you still apologizing for today?

15 comments on “Irony defined

  1. gMarie says:

    I love both of the Ta-Kill-Ya songs. I don’t drink it, can’t even stomach the smell, but the songs are fun. Who knew this was margarita day?

    Oh the things I should be apologizing for – my first marriage – but no, then I wouldn’t have those lovely daughters. hmmmm, I think it’ll all be okay. g

  2. kathy b says:

    You are toooooo funny .So glad it is Margarita Day!

    Apologizing for not wanting to go over to my mom’s this morning…..it is the same old thing every week….very boring…..hard to make conversation…..an obligation, but I should appreciate having my folks around still…..
    this sounds like Confession!

  3. Sue says:

    No apologies yet today, but I’ll probably rack up one or two before the day’s over.

    I never likes tequila till I was in Mexico, then I developed a fondness for it. Still, due to my migraines, I seldom drink anything alcoholic anymore. I will sip wine in the summer when my headaches don’t seem to be as bad.

    I’m just the opposite, I’m usually in bare feet summer, winter, indoors or out. I kick shoes off the minute I walk in the door.

  4. Getting my husband involved in his business and a job he hates, I have been apologizing for 40 years!

  5. Katherine says:

    I’m still apologizing for the New Year’s eve 20 years ago when I did one too many tequila shots! DH has never let me forget it and my kids, having heard the story many times, get in on the fun by whispering, “ta-qeeee-la” when my mouth is running and I need to stop talking.

  6. AlisonH says:

    For not yet having knitted for every single person my heart wants to (and they’re still hoping and I know it…!)

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    Reason #850 that you and I are friends….we like our ‘rita’s on the rocks. 😉 Mmm….I know what I might have tonight.

  8. Kathy says:

    Had I read the paper earlier, I too would have known of this holiday.

    http://www.29-95.com/photo/photo-5436?gid=784971

    Thank you for alerting me! Unfortunately it’s one of those middle-of-the-week holidays that won’t be celebrated by me due to my schedule. Though I would love a margarita just like you described!

    I apologized to Lucy for leaving her alone this morning. Her daddy is at work today, as am I. But the dog-sitter came in around noon for a midday walk. I’ll take her on another one this evening and all will be good.

  9. Marjie says:

    I don’t apologize. I just move on. I suppose I’m a hard person that way. But that’s the way it is. Would it be horribly conceited to say I don’t make many mistakes? Probably the curse of overthinking and doing nothing when in doubt.

  10. Nichole says:

    No apologies! lol I’m with you on the barefoot thing… I like going barefoot, but can’t stand to think about what was there before me.

  11. Nancy says:

    Yum, margaritas — when and where?

  12. Kristyn says:

    What about 10 Rounds with Jose Cuervo?

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I love “Straight Tequila Night!” It’s been one of my favorite songs since I was 8.

  14. Ruth says:

    I confess…didn’t even know there were a bunch of Tequila songs! I may celebrate tonight…after all, I don’t have to GO anywhere. Apologizing constantly, too many to mention here. Oh, except, this; sorry grrrls, too windy to walk today!

Leave a Reply

