Blocking Block

DSC01635

Fur-girls at work so they can have their annual check-ups this afternoon

Instead of writer’s block, I have a blocking block.  I have two items that need to be blocked already, and I just can’t seem to get myself motivated to block.  That means I have two “finished objects” that aren’t TRULY done, that cannot be used/gifted… even admitting that doesn’t motivate me.

I don’t like to iron either.  I don’t like seams (in knitting), so it seems I have a problem with finishing.  Hmmm…

How was your weekend?  Did you have any stumbling blocks in your way?

16 comments on “Blocking Block

  1. Nancy says:

    We share some of the same “blocks,” especially seaming, which is why I usually avoid patterns that require it. Right now, I have a baby sweater and a hat that need to be seamed and have needed seaming for months, but that hasn’t happened. Once I finish it, I wonder why I dreaded it so much.

  2. gMarie says:

    hmmm – well I seem to be my own stumbling block. I did managed to finish up the QOV blocks – now to do the embroidery, which I have to do by hand because the machine stitching is just tooooo small.

    I’m sure you’ll think this is very funny – but I don’t iron either. I press while I sew – but I hate to iron and will only when absolutely necessary.

    As for that wee hat – wrap it in some damp towels and then put it over a bowl or candle jar that is close to the size you want it. Add steam as necessary. 🙂 g

  3. Sue says:

    I’m with you. I only iron when absolutely necessary. I’m having a finishing block right now. I have a table full of things that need to be put together, or some just need to be boxed up for shipping. I can’t seem to do it for whatever reason. i think a good night’s sleep might help.

  4. Karen says:

    I don’t know a thing about blocking but the girls sure look cute. What a way to spend a day a work!

  5. Katherine says:

    I love the way the fur-girls work–just like Macy and Max. Watching them makes me feel like nodding off for a quick nap.

    I have the same problem with seaming but I force myself to soak and block a project as soon as I finish it. If I didn’t it would be put away in a drawer and never seen again!

  6. Barbara says:

    I used to be that way with needlepoint projects too. 🙂

  7. AlisonH says:

    Rinse it and lay it out and see if that’s enough. For some things, it is.

  8. Ruth says:

    I too, have no love of seaming, and so avoid it whenever possible. As for ironing…I don’t love it, but do frequently do it, as I love cotton shirts, skirts, and dresses. Weekend was good. Lots of time with the hubs and a hockey game too!

  9. Kathy says:

    I’ve got that blockage block too. I can think of at least two projects, including one from nearly a year ago, that have yet to be blocked.

  10. Amy says:

    I was back to work this weekend after two weeks off. I tell ya – I was a bit nervous, but it was actually really good to get back into a routine and get moving. I feel better than I have in weeks, and that is saying something.

    I hate to block almost as much as I hate to swatch. 🙂

  11. Susan, says:

    You have TWO items that need blocking!!! Let me get a box and send you my TWENTY that need blocking!!! 😉

    The girls are so cute snuggled up in their chair together.

    Did they get a good checkup?

  12. Tom seems to be having the same block, I have two shawls that I need for gifts but I can’t get him to do it, I may attempt it tomorrow on the bed since he is being so reluctant!!!

  13. kathy b says:

    Oh I hate to block….hence I knit lots of socks…

    Stumbling blocks: My back hurts…i jumped out of my chair all night long really, for a baby’s alarms. That’s not really a stumbling block….

  14. Mr. Puffy says:

    It must be something “going around” because I can’t finish anything either! I have a cardigan all done except for the seaming and it’s sat this way for months. If you figure out a cure, let me know :)))

  15. Blond Duck says:

    No stumbling blocks, just family blocks…

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Socks. Just sayin’. ; )

Leave a Reply

