Leapin’ Ladies

March 2011 005I like to celebrate silliness.  Levity is a good thing.  Of course, living with two leaping, spinning, jumping, turning dogs makes me a little more aware of Leap Day than usual…  or maybe it’s the media?

Sissy is a nut.  Maybe if you’re new here, you don’t realize that bassets aren’t lazy, slow or … dumb, but Sissy is still the antedote for every basset stereotype.  She’s not even particularly stubborn.  Headstrong, yes… but they are a little different!

October 2010 003

Sissy isn’t the only leaper, not by far.  Gretchen’s just smaller and quicker, so it’s harder to capture her antics!

November 2010 001

Do you do anything fun or silly for Leap Day?

14 comments on “Leapin’ Ladies

  1. gMarie says:

    adorable pics of your girls. and yes – levity is a very good thing. Enjoy your leap day. g

  2. kathy b says:

    The antics of the pooches are great. No real leap year activities today…but some knitting with friends soon at the local bar…

  3. sue says:

    Leaping lizards! We have a sunny day near 70 so we’re going to bounce around the yard. Even Tsar feels like playing today.

  4. Katherine says:

    Sissy and Gretchen are so cute playing together!! I love the little half smiles they get on their faces when they are having fun!

    We pup-sat with our son’s two bassets (Carter and Cash) during the summer while he was moving. They were loads of fun and not the least stubborn. Maybe I should amend that by saying Cash only did what Carter told him to do. They were definitely leapers and spinners and confused the heck out of Macy because she never knew which way they were going.

  5. Nancy says:

    I LOVE these photos: they made me smile and laugh out loud and tug at my heart.

  6. StarSpry says:

    Those are great pictures! The girls look like they’re having so much fun 🙂 Happy Leap Day!!

  7. AlisonH says:

    I LOVE those pictures! Sheer joy! Thank you for those–I want to go play like a puppy and enjoy my day like that. (Maybe with yarn–I hope they don’t think that’s too cat-like.)

  8. Kathy says:

    What fun pictures! Happy leap day to everyone in your neck of the woods!

  9. Marjie says:

    Those are fun and silly pictures!

    If I took up leaping around, they’d throw a net over me and call the guys with those white jackets that have the sleeves in the back. I believe they call it “involuntary commitment.”

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    We were very boring here for Leap Day. I did go get my hair trimmed, though! Does that count? ; )

  11. Louise says:

    I know I should have popped in yesterday to remind you about Sadie Hawkins Day but boy oh boy am I glad I didn’t. I really, really needed to see the girls having such fun on this day. So far it has been a whirl wind! Delighted to take a breather and see such freedom!!!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon and please thank the girls for me too, lol…

  12. Nichole says:

    Love the leaping photos! 🙂 And hey, Maverick is leaping around the living room with one of those lions right now!

  13. gypsyknits says:

    Fun post :D. Love it!

    Unfortunately the 140 lb oaf did some of his own leaping today and sent ALL couch cushions flying :/

Leave a Reply

