Forward, March!

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday.  There’s a great new blog the girls are promoting in their post today, but since I know not everyone reads both blogs, here’s a link to Our Rainbow Friends.   Isn’t that a pretty badge/button/whatever?  Maybe if I ever move all of my stuff to one site, we’ll get a button/badge/whatever…

March 2011 025I love March.  Green is my favorite, favorite color, I’m part Irish, and usually, March brings spring.  As with colors, I love all the seasons, but after about the mid-point of each one, I start looking forward to the next, so I’m ready for spring!

This year, March seems to be its own season of change and planning.  Transitions loom.  I’m not a big fan of change, but I’m looking forward to the opportunities ahead.  A good (blogless) friend reminded me yesterday to just keep putting one foot in front of the other, take one day at a time, and it’ll be great.

That somehow reminded me of marching band.  Marching – like dancing – doesn’t come naturally to me.  Luckily, I was a good musician, because I really had to focus on left, right, left…

I’m so thankful for the sunshine, opportunities for personal growth, and the friends who are strong and focused when I’m not.

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Forward, March!

  1. gMarie says:

    pretty weather even if it’s unusual (snow in March?); healthy dogs; a good local friend; a good job with a boss who appreciates me (even when I hate it and she’s taking advantage); 2 sewing machines I’ve been drooling over literally being dropped in my lap; a doctor whos a friend and checks up on me; I can’t think of anything else.

    g

  2. Nancy says:

    I like a routine and don’t deal with change well, so I understand your anxiety about pending transitions. Your blogless friend has given you good advice.

    I am thankful for true friends – those who are honest when I need to hear the truth or need support. I treasure those ladies more than gold.

  3. Katherine says:

    Gretchen and Sissy are so beautiful in their Irish regalia! Big smooches to them!!

    Don’t feel alone–I dislike change with a passion. DH says it would be so much easier if I could just let it happen and I try. You are a strong woman Chan!! March to your own drum beat and give your self time to adjust. Be good to yourself!!

  4. AlisonH says:

    I just got to watch my one of my Cooper’s hawks in the neighbor’s tree, some of the view obscured by branches but the tail bobbing up and down hard the way they do when they’re eating breakfast. I’m hoping I’ll get to see a newly fledged young’un sitting in my amaryllis pots this year too.

  5. kathy b says:

    Im thankful for your posts! Little Friday freaks me out a bit each week, because it is nearly the workend. Fireman told me I sleep too much this morning and I ve nearly killed him……
    he ought to be thankful I didn’t!

  6. Louise says:

    Happy March to you and yours, dear Channon. March ahead and go with the flow. It seems these days that’s about all you can do:) Green is not my first choice in color however, I do love the month of March for it is in March that I feel the most in tune to nature.

    Today I am especially thankful for happy & healthy grand kids. I just got their dance pictures via email and their costumes are a hoot!!!

    Thanks for sharing…I’m off to visit the girls…

  7. Nichole says:

    Ironically, I’m thankful I didn’t have a job I had to go to today… but thank you for also reminding me to keep putitng one foot in front of the other because life is rather discouraging right now….

  8. sue says:

    Very strange and dangerous weather. We’re still waiting for winter to start.

  9. mrpuffy says:

    I have been under a rock lately, but saw shocking news reports of all the tornadoes. Hope they aren’t anywhere near you….

    I wouldn’t say green is a favorite color of mine but for some reason every other project I knit is green – go figure.

    Hope you have a nice transition to Spring as you march to your own beat 🙂

  10. Barbara says:

    March is always my favorite month in Florida. The weather is still mild, humidity low and truly enjoyable. Unfortunately, everyone else agrees with me, so there are also tons of tourists this month.
    The weather has been so frightening elsewhere this week, I hope you escape it, Chan.

  11. gypsyknits says:

    hmmmm….not a huge fan of change here either.

    Weather: We certainly missed winter and plants are already beginning to bloom here :/. Not a fan of spring.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    You know what’s funny? Even having been out of the band for 15 years (or more), T and I will still catch ourselves unknowingly adjusting so that we’re in step with each other. They definitely beat it into you! lol

  13. Sue says:

    Wow, that’s a different look!

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Ben’s birthday!

Leave a Reply

