Starting a second century of celebrating women!

180403_527163333918_62700009_31009420_563513_n

Girlfriends 2011

According to this article, today marks the 101st International Womens Day.   I’d be remiss if I didn’t thank Grace for reminding me of this auspicious day! 

For some reason, Willie Nelson’s My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys is playing on that jukebox in my mind.  Ironic perhaps, because the lyrics are actually introspective, speak of a rather casual disregard for women, etc.  Anyway.  Hem.  I don’t really seem to control that playlist!

As a member of AJLI – the international umbrella for Junior Leagues – I am painfully aware that while we are light years ahead of some countries/cultures, there is still so much work to be done for womanhood here in the USA.  Still, political and social issues aside, there’s much to celebrate! 

Let’s have a cyber party.  We’ll make it a nice, traditional tea, so that no matter what time zone you’re in or when you’re reading this, it will be timely enough.  Sure, those of you who love a fun hat and white gloves, dress up!  But if you’re more comfortable in jeans or don’t have time to change from work, that’s perfect too.  After all, that’s the joy of being a woman… we have options!

1984 Nova Scotia Trip

My Nannie - second from left - and two of her sisters and a sister inlaw in Nova Scotia, 1984

Be sure to bring a guest.   Since I’m the hostess, our guest of honor will be my own maternal grandmother.  (So don’t let things like death or celebrity crushes stop you!)  I can think of no one I admire more.  She was strong, intelligent, educated and just an incredible source of inspiration.  I’m also hoping all of my great aunts, my paternal grandmother and some of my favorite teachers will be there too.

We won’t be having a keynote speaker this year…  Just chat at your tables, and mingle!  I want to meet your guests too.  Who will be wearing the guest of honor crown at your table?

December 2011 015(Yes, Gretchen, of course you can come and wear your favorite frock.  No Sissy, you don’t have to wear clothes, and if you want to wear your tiara, that’ll be fine too, but you are NOT the guest of honor, okay?)

I’m putting this on my calendar, and maybe next year, I can plan ahead and have a very real cyber celebration for a noteworthy day of honor.

9 comments on “Starting a second century of celebrating women!

  1. gMarie says:

    hmmm – who would I invite? Well Lucy, but she might slobber on everyone and gobble all the treats. My Gran and all of my invisible bloggy friends. Yea, I think that would do. g

  2. Katherine says:

    Great idea! My guest of honor, my hero, would be my dear mother. She taught me to “Play it as it lays,” “Don’t let another person control your emotions,” “Give of yourself and never think about getting back.” She was a grand lady and tough as nails. I miss her every day of my life and know in my heart that I could do a lot worse than to be exactly like her.

    Gretchen is so pretty in her dress and Sissy should have a big, new tiara for the tea party!!

  3. Mary says:

    Let’s see…must have Eleanor Roosevelt, my mother-British-born in 1909 who railed against not being able to travel afar as a young woman (she made up for it in later years)…so many pioneer woman who lived lonely, tough lives on the prairie. Long list in my head.

    And while we party keep this sobering factoid from a recent book on human trafficking in mind: “The global statistics on the abuse of girls are numbing. It appears that more girls have been killed in the last fifty years, precisely because they were girls, than men were killed in all the battles of the twentieth century. More girls are killed in this routine ‘gendercide’ in any one decade than people were slaughtered in all the genocides of the twentieth century.”

    We may have come a long way, baby, but we’ve got a ways to go. Happy to be in your company for the journey.

  4. Marjie says:

    I’m wearing a white princess seamed dress and sipping Irish Breakfast Tea for your cyber party. I’m bringing my beautiful daughters, who are all headed for wonderful lives!

  5. Sue says:

    Great idea! I’ll invite my friend Sue and my Mom, Grandmother and a couple of long ago ancestors that I never met and only recently learned about. I think I’ll invite Rebecca Nurse, who was executed in Salem because the men of the time decided she was a witch. I’ll also invite Abigail Adams. Technically she and I aren’t related, I’m related to her husband and son, but I still think she’d be a wonderful person to converse with.

    I’m going to go make tea now. I think we should do this more often.

    • gMarie says:

      Oh Sue – had to hack into Chan’s comments. My grandmother traced our family tree back to Abigail Adams! I am related to her – so by default I’m related to you! 🙂 g

  6. Blond Duck says:

    If you had a party, I’d totally come!

  7. Nichole says:

    Great photos – Happy (belated) I W D!

  8. Bubblesknits says:

    I’d have to invite my Mom and my Nanny. I’d have to bring E, too. I so wish she could have met my grandmother.

Leave a Reply

