Spring Break?

DSCN1942

OBX spring view...

It’s been a long, LONG time since I’ve had a spring break, and even back in the day, I never went on any of the usual trips.  I went home, hung out, played with the dog, did my laundry, etc.   So when The Blonde Duck asked what I was doing for spring break, I began to ponder…

In reality, there is no break.  More than likely, we won’t get back to the Outer Banks this spring.  This is a hectic time of year for the Chief – er, Knight – and for me.  The firehouse annual meeting is next week and officer – minus the Chief and his assistant – elections are the following week, and you really don’t want to hear the 47 reasons this is chaos in Leagueville. 

So instead, I’m wishing I could grab my iPod or iPhone and build an appropriate list on Pandora.  You know…

photo.JPG

Fur-girls headed home after a great walk in the woods

Where would I go?  Well, at the moment, Florida and spring training sounds good.  A delivery guy was sharing stories about his trips with his elderly father, a Detriot fan.  Love me some baseball… but I also love the ocean – OBX, baby – and I find my zen daily on those wooded trails I keep sharing with you. 

I guess my trip in late March to Scottsdale and Phoenix one year counts as a spring break, but that too was YEARS ago, and I didn’t take a single photo.  I’d never turn down a trip back to Sedona or Phoenix!

Really though, I’d like to rent an RV, grab the fur-girls and the Knight and visit our friends spread out all over.  (Sorry Kiwi relations…  maybe another year?)

Do you get a spring break?  If so, what are you doing?  If not, where would you go and/or what would you do if you did?

13 comments on “Spring Break?

  1. gMarie says:

    As a full time working adult – who’s not a teacher, I do not get a spring break. The hubby and I take a vacation every year in May – just a long weekend. We always go somewhere new to us and the break is usually a combo of go, go, go and relax, sit by a beach, take scenic walks, etc. I too Love baseball, but got very disinterested years ago thanks to politics.

    Someday I want to visit your beach. And I want to go back to Cape May, NJ when we have time to see and enjoy. g

  2. kathy b says:

    WEll you could call this weekend which is NOT a workend for me, my Spring Break. i am in the darndest best mood! I have no big plans and am delighted about that in and of itself. I will lay my head on the pillow each night this weekend! I don’t even care if one tiny little hour is shaved away….
    I may get to open a window on sunday if it warms up. Im knitting up a storm.

    Last year we were in Phoenix, the year before Sanibel. IM happy to not take that scary plane ride yet this year. CHICAGO it is.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Going to see our little grandson. Whoot!

  4. SusanB-knits says:

    I don’t get a spring break but my grandkids do! All three of them will be coming down next week for a visit. (and yes, their mommies will be coming too)
    It’ll be a busy week!

  5. no spring break here but I would love to have some ocean time, really really need that peace that the waves bring me!

  6. Nancy says:

    Even when I was teaching, the district did not have Spring Breaks. Now that I am retired, every day is a Spring Break if I want it to be, but just being able to exercise, knit, read, visit, and wake-up when I want is enough of a “break” for me.

  7. Sue says:

    We’d head for the ocean, except that I remember when I lived at the beach, we didn’t go outside when the spring breakers were in town. It was traffic jams and way too much noise. Maybe that’s why I prefer winter vacations to tropical places.

  8. Nichole says:

    Well, as you know I’m on somewhat of a break….. thought I’d love a real spring break! Love that you included so many Uncle Kracker tunes… they really are a “break” soundtrack, aren’t they?

  9. Ruth says:

    I have several weeks in the spring when my various students are on break…but as they don’t all happen at the same time, no real break for me. However….kid 4 is two hours from home now…soon to be here for HIS spring break!

  10. Barbara says:

    Love the photos in the previous post…I read it was Women’s Day yesterday….wonder why more bloggers didn’t pick up on this? I’m at fault too. Kudo’s for you AND for all women everywhere. WE ROCK.

    Re spring breaks: everyone must be here…the traffic is impossible.

  11. mrpuffy says:

    You made me smile with your Spring Break songs 🙂 I have no plans for a Spring break but if I was planning one I think I would head to Jamaica or somewhere else in the Caribbean (we haven’t been in YEARS) although Hawaii is so much closer now but not nearly as exotic to my mind. I’ll have to take a virtual trip instead!

  12. Mary says:

    No Spring break for me though I will be in Phoenix next week, but that is a business trip (…it is supposed to rain the first part of the week and its not even monsoon season!). Did the Ft Lauderdale thing in college (just aged myself)…drove a VW camper down with friends. Hilarious trip. But those days are past.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    You know where I’m going for our Spring Break. 😀 Wheeeeee!!!!

Leave a Reply

