Turn the page

Whew!  I’ve been doing a lot of page turning… so to speak.  I finished a couple of soft-cover “short books” and two e-books last week.   We’re saving the review of What’s Wrong with Gibson for the girls’ blog, when they’ll host the book tour (this Thursday, maybe?), but I’ll run through the rest of the books here and now.

Photo from Amazon

There was one other dog book…  I ordered A Guide to Living with & Training a Fearful Dog before Christmas, and finally thumbed through it last week.  While I liked the book and saw a lot of Gretchen within, our fabulous vet had already suggested every single thing within.   I’m not a misery loves company gal, so knowing that what we’re trying to work through isn’t unique doesn’t comfort me… or Gretchen.   As a friend put it, “Dog books are a lot like diet books… there is no magic answer.”  (Or something like that.)  Point being, rarely is there ground-breaking news in these books…

From Amazon

My most favorite read (aside from Gibson of course!) was A Shot in the Bark.   I believe it is a Kindle-only offering, but the good news is you don’t have to have a Kindle to read Kindle books!   If you have an i-Something, there are apps, and you can also just download a read on my computer option.

At any rate, it’s a very good cozy-style mystery, the first of a series.  I’m already impatiently stalking the writer’s Facebook page in anticipation.

Oh!  About the book?  It’s set in a dog park.  I was so sure I’d figured it out quite early… but never mind.  I don’t want to say too much because I hope several of you will read it too!

Last but definitely not least was a Nook freebie a while back, White Seed.  It is also available in paperback.  It’s historical fiction. 

I’ve long been fascinated by the Lost Colony.  Never mind that I can’t seem to get to the outdoor drama in OBX…  I’m going to, one of these days. 

It was a nice spin of speculation, but parts DRAGGED.  I can’t take but so many details on life in a 16th century ship’s hold, for instance.  I obviously read it a bit here and there, swapping up for dog training and light reading.   Actually, this was light enough reading… when it wasn’t dragging. 

If you enjoy historical fiction, already know some of the players in the Lost Colony tale, or have a fascination with the vanishing of the first nearly permanent settlement in what was arguably Virginia, give it a look-see.

March 2012 002Next up is a book that could well be a subtitle to my own fire service autobiography, Just One of the Guys.   It’s a little more girl chasing boy than I generally desire, but look at that cover!!  How could I resist?  (Thanks gMarie!  I did squee when I saw the cover.  I might have to have the cover framed after I read it.  I’ve never harmed a book before, but in the name of art…)

What’s next on your reading list and what format is it in?

16 comments on “Turn the page

  1. gMarie says:

    I know you don’t generally read those books – I bought it based solely on the cover art! Seriously. Those books sound lovely and how did I miss a free Nook book that I might actually have enjoyed? hrmph

    g

  2. Blond Duck says:

    Something YA! 🙂

  3. Katherine says:

    A Shot in the Bark sounds like one I would really enjoy. I’ll try it! Right now I am reading Marcia Clark’s Guild By Association and enjoying it a lot!! I would recommend it to any mystery/police procedural lovers. If anyone knows how it all works it should be Marcia Clark.

    Love the picture of the Sissy pup on Just One Of The Guys!

  4. AlisonH says:

    My folks once listened to a Park Service ranger who mentioned evidence that the Lost Colony had simply assimilated with and left with the local Natives–among whom were found red-headed children, years later…

  5. Nichole says:

    Sounds like quite a few great reads! I’m currently reading Whoopi Goldberg’s book on the Nook and thumbing through a few knitting related books that I’ve been borrowing from the library.

  6. Sue says:

    When I finished Catherine The Great on Kindle, I read The Handmaid’s Tale on Kindle. It was absolutely terrifying in light of today’s political climate. Have you read it? Even if you have, you might want to reread it and compare it to some of the dangerous threats coming from the politicians.

    Then I found a book in the library used book shop that had four stories by Daphne DuMaurier. The first was Rebecca which I read years ago and loved. I’m now on the second called Jamaica Inn. It’s very dark and disturbing and I want to skip it, yet I’m fascinated and will probably finish it. Then I must read something light before I tackle the next one in the book.

    Because of Tsar’s illness, I need to read light things to keep my mood up, but it seems that I keep selecting heavy, dark reads instead. I really love the feel of a real book and the act of turning pages, but the Kindle sure is nice and light, especially for reading in bed.

  7. Kathy says:

    I see exactly why you read the book with the firefighter basset hound and I’m sure it had nothing to do with the subject matter. What does Sissy think of that cover?

    I just finished all three Hunger Games books. I read them in a week and did not knit a stitch during that time.

    I downloaded the new Anne Rice, The Wolf Gift, as my next book. I loved her vampires and I’m ready to try her werewolves.

    Lately I buy all my “reading” (as opposed to “reference”) books for my Kindle. I wasn’t sure I’d like a Kindle and resisted one when they first came out because I have always loved actual books. But when I started reading on the Kindle I realized the book is the words, ideas, and images formed in my head as I read, not the actual paper object.

    I saw a Hoarders episode recently where the people hoarded books. So many books! Made me glad I have the Kindle option these days.

  8. kathy b says:

    Great Reviews Channon!!

    Next is a paperback that my dear friend’s sister wrote on Grief. Not a downer at all , though really.
    I also want to read a book on tape soon while I knit……

  9. Walden121 says:

    Well, you have been reading. The White Seed looks interesting. I’ll have to look into it.

  10. Marjie says:

    There was a show on the History Channel which mentioned the theory that the Roanoke colonists assimilated with the Natives. There’s a tribe near Lumberton, NC, which is supposed to have had blue eyed and red haired members for a very long time….I love that whole mystery, too.

    I just finished a Kindle book called The Last Bookstore in America. It was really good. I’m in the middle of one called Becoming Quinn, and I have a real Alistair MacLain book on tap, plus one reviewed in the Wall Street Journal about the sugar barons in the US. WSJ is not good to me. At least 4 times a week I see a book I really want to buy, then I remember that I never get to reading them all!

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    LOL Yeah, I would say that book cover is pretty “you”.

    I love historical fiction/romance. Not bodice rippers…those kind of get on my nerves. I’d much rather it be heavy on adventure with a side of romance thrown in. 😉

  12. Terrie says:

    Sounds like some good reads! I’m looking forward to reading The Master of Heathcrest Hall. It’s the 3rd in the series and it comes out on the 27th. It will be a paperback, but I really like listening to books on CD. They’re great for the car…I drive almost 1 hour each day to/from work and they’re also great when I want to knit and “read” at the same time 🙂

  13. Mary says:

    Had a friend who was in the cast at “The Lost Colony” back in the early 70s, but I never got to see it. Reading a lot these days; nothing over the top. Have Barbara Tuchman’s “Final Salute” on my Nook, along with “Home Safe” by Elizabeth Berg. Really like her work. I seem to be going through a book a day, so need to load up for my cross country travel next week.

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Do you like YA romance, fantasy, mysteries…

  15. Louise says:

    I’m such a bad, bad, girl. I haven’t touched any book besides a cookbook in way too many months!

    Channon, I know this is a silly question however, do you know about vintage knitting needles. I found a pile of them in my bead box and was wondering if they are still useable. Some of them are huge!!!

  16. Amy says:

    I love stories about the Roanoke colony. Are there any other books that you would recommend on the subject?

Leave a Reply

