Fee Fi Fo Fey?

From theironfey.com

I’ve been lost in Nevernever for a few days.  It all started when a friend basically insisted I needed to read The Iron King… so I did. 

Firstly, who knew Harlequin, the tepid romance publisher I’ve all but scorned my entire life, had a teen line?  (I do like that they call it their teen line, rather than young adult.  The whole YA genre confuses me; legally, you’re an adult at either 18 or 21, but I do believe the target audience for most YA fiction is younger than that…)

Anyway, I was sucked in hard and fast.  Maybe it was because it St. Paddy’s Day Eve and all things Irish and enchanted were very near the surface of our own world, or maybe it’s because I’ve always been a little fascinated by the many takes on fairies, Faeries, etc.  Anyway… I don’t know when I’ve enjoyed a series more.

There are four books and two novellas in the series.  I didn’t find out about the e-book novellas until I was downloading book 4, so I’d recommend that you read them in this order:

Iron King

Winter’s Crossing

Iron Daughter

Iron Queen

Summer’s Passage

Iron Knight

That’s also the order listed on the Iron Fey website.   How ’bout that?!  I’m finishing up Summer’s Passage tonight, but I already have finished the last book of the series, so I feel comfortable  giving a series review anyway.

I don’t know how to do a review at all without spoilers.   While I clearly adore the series, I will say that the whole love-triangle thing is over-done in fiction, period.   Setting that bit of trite annoyance aside, I enjoyed every single word, every single character.

It is a great “girl power” series.  The main character – well, in the first three novels – is a teenage girl whom I found myself cheering for almost immediately.  Then, there are the Fey – er, Faerie, Fairy? – Queens who aren’t exactly endearing, but there’s no denying their power, in every sense of the word.  In fact, I can’t think of a single female character who is anything other than strong… except for a few human teens we see for just a few pages.

Grimalkin - the cat that annoyed Gretchen

Gretchen has asked that I note that the cat in the series is far too superior – to Fey, humans, witches, the Wolf… everyone – but since she doesn’t know any cats personally, I’ll simply leave that … at that.  There are horses and hounds in the cast of characters too, and I do adore that the author made all the animal characters based on “domesticated” creatures believable.  She also used … wild, magical creatures that will be familiar to most fantasy readers, and each of them fit well within what I would call accepted norms for what we all expect of say… dragons for example.

One of my favorite themes in literature was played out time and time again… choices.   The last book even features some great discussion questions about humanity, based on the series’ look at the three different realms of Fey and how their biases impact the world… because Nevernever and our own mortal world are linked quite closely, you see…

That’s a lot of rambling.  I should add that I read all the books on my trusty Nook.   Next up is the Hunger Games, although I think I might start something else light and quick while I wait to borrow that series electronically…

Do you enjoy fantasy?  Teen lit? 

Is there any room for the unexplained in your life?  Or… do you believe in magic, faeries, or … not?

12 comments on “Fee Fi Fo Fey?

  1. Katherine says:

    I don’t know about magic and/or faeries, but I can’t rule them out since I have personally encountered a ghost or two in my life as well as a person I believe was an angel.

    Thanks for a great review! I think I would like to read the series. I read a lot of teen fiction because DD and I take turns pre-reading and approving books for the fair Samantha (GD#3).

    Macy says she believes that she and Gretchen need to have a sit down and discuss cat superiority (or the lack thereof).

  2. gmariesews says:

    While I don’t watch it and I found True Blood farfetched – I did enjoy reading those books – so room for unexplained – yes. These books sound interesting. Mighthave to look into them.

    g

  3. Marjie says:

    You know that I’m a cold hard realist. But I’m all for letting everyone believe whatsoever their hearts desire. And I don’t read much Teen or YA lit. But Ryan read and enjoyed The Hunger Games series, as did some of his sisters (and all of the sisters, Ryan and Mark enjoyed the Harry Potter series).

  4. Sue says:

    I don’t read YA lit either. Actually, I never did. Even as a young girl I read a lot of Dickens and other things that were around the house.

  5. love the fantasy parts of books—relished Nora Robers for that for years, and Barbara Bretton’s knitting/fey series is fabulous. Thanks for the review going to check them out!!

  6. Nancy says:

    My reading time has suffered a lot in recent months – too many other things to do right now. I’ve got to make time to just settle in with my books and Kindle.

  7. AlisonH says:

    The Taran the Wanderer series was a big one for me back in those days. And the Anne of Green Gables one, which goes well beyond the original Anne book.

    These days, I’m into biographies. I like to see how other people see the world.

  8. kathy b says:

    Must point Al to these books> she loves all those kinds.
    Great reviews Chan, you underestimate yourself!

    Did you ever read, Feeling Sorry for Celia? AL and I loved it!

  9. Carol says:

    This sounds like it would be a great read. I will add it to my list. I hope you had a nice St Paddy’s Day. I love what you added on your post from your cat. They are such intectual little beings. Hugs to all of them from charli and me.

  10. I love well-written Teen lit. I DO NOT love distopian, or para-normal genres at all, which seems to be all the rage these days along with a more grotesque brand of fantasy than I can toloerate. Like Alison, I adore the Prydain series by Lloyd Alexander, and several other Teen books remain on my lifetime favs list. This series sounds interesting to me, in spite of the “romance” angle, rather than because of it.

  11. Oooh! I’ll need to download those for the car ride. I love the fantasy genre. Just downloaded the first Game of Thrones book. I’ve heard so much about them…kind of like all the hype about the Hunger Games.

  12. Walden121 says:

    Well, I didn’t know Harlequin had a teen line either, even though I do indulge in some Harlequin every now and again. I love fantasy, but it can easily be badly done, like anything it can become too cliche. I am also a teen/young adult fan. If you look, there are some really well written stuff, just as good to potentially better than some adult stuff that is out there easily. I think people are too quick to overlook this subsection because they think they stories or characters will often be too juvenile, but they can be quite thought provoking sometimes.

    I’ll have to give these a look.

Leave a Reply

